We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Looks like a 4* but feels like a 3*”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Langstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langstone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Looks like a 4* but feels like a 3*”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 5 nights from 14 Aug 14 having just stayed for a week in a 4* Omni hotel in the USA and moved straight to a 4* Mercure hotel in Salisbury. We booked 2 rooms and had to change after one night due to the sun heating the rooms on one side of the hotel - we therefore experienced 4 rooms in total.
In general, the hotel is an average 3* with the appearance of a 4*. The housekeeping is very slapdash. The rooms look nice on arrival but on closer inspection they miss large cobwebs (from all the spiders we found), the curtains were dirty and barely fitted the windows. Used mugs and wine glasses don't get removed on daily cleaning, two sets of towels were only replaced by one set each day (although the cleaner knew there were 2 of us). They have turned off the aircon in the rooms but it appears to be working in the corridors? Fans have been used to replace the aircon but rooms were still 80 degrees. The safes were both broken on arrival and the fridges barely worked in all 4 rooms. Dirty room service trays are left out overnight to greet you in the morning ( why not get someone to walk around at night and collect them?).
The choice of breakfast was good but the dining room looked dirty; the carpet needed hoovering, the draws the cutlery were kept in was full of what looked like crumbs.
I would agree with other posts in that they make money from weddings and parties of which there was one each night from fri to sun.
The only good aspects were the friendly staff and the location.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TankieJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

I was disappointed to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience. I'm sure we could have ironed out a number of your issues whilst you were on site.

I would like the opportunity to discuss this with you directly, if you would like please email me on dos@langstonehotel.co.uk.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,589 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    533
    400
    169
    84
See reviews for
274
714
28
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Strood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Really nice hotel, very professional staff and nice facilities. The room itself is not that large, but more than adequate for storage of clothes. The bed and the sheets were of a decent standard. Use of the spa was a lovely bonus considering this was included in the price of the room. You'll definitely need a car as the hotel is slightly remote frome everything. Good parking also.

Room Tip: Try to get a non ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chandan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving such a positive review on Tripadvisor from your recent stay here at the Langstone Hotel.

I was delighted to read that your stay was enjoyable.

I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel on the summer package deal that gave us full use of the leisure facilities during our stay. The leisure club was perfect for our needs and very relaxing. We visited the lounge bar area for some snacks before moving on to Portsmouth for the evening. The following morning we enjoyed a large breakfast that had something for everyone. We could not fault the view from the dining area either, it was outstanding! Check out was cheery for a sunday morning and all the staff were lovely in ensuring that we knew we were welcome back and that we will take them up on as our visit was faultless.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank hannah1232010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay here at the Langstone Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I was delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

As frequent visitors to the area to see family we decided that rather than stay at our usual premier inn we would treat ourselves to a stay in this, as advertised, "luxury Hotel". We were a party of 5 myself, husband, baby and parents in law staying on a Friday and Saturday night in two double rooms.
My initial dealings with the hotel by email were brilliant with Marie-Ange answering all my queries promptly and efficiently. Good start. Unfortunately the story goes down hill from there.
Having stayed in many hotels around the country I have to say I am stunned that this hotel retains it's 4 star status. My issues were as follows:
On arrival at almost midnight after a five hour drive we were greeted two members of reception staff who were less than welcoming and hardly spoke at all to us to make us feel welcome. We had several bags and the baby and we weren't offered any assistance in getting to our room which was the furthest one away.
The room although adequately sized was very outdated. No "luxury" element at all. Basic facilities and a very basic and old bathroom with bath and detachable shower head. There were several Cobwebs on the lighting in the bedroom.
Wifi was only available for an hour.
The room was extremely hot as was my in laws room. There was a fan in the room however this provided little relief. When my husband enquired why the installed air con wasn't working he was informed by a member of staff that "they had no budget for air con!!!"
The entire hotel looked like it needed a lick of paint and the carpets cleaning.
The self service Breakfast was disappointing in the selection and quality. At one point guests were queueing down the corridor to be seated. The breakfast restaurant seemed to be extremely understaffed.
We returned to the hotel during the afternoon on the Saturday and asked the brasserie maître'd if we could sit on the terrace and get a coffee. We sat outside in an area obviously used by smokers as there was cigarette buts everywhere on the floor and on tables that had obviously been there since the night before. After sitting for half an hour the waiter finally came out to ask us for our order. By this point we had decided to go back inside as it was chilly and we ordered a coffee at the bar. We were informed that the coffee had run out and he would have to try to find some. After 20 minutes he eventually returned with coffee.
The pool was advertised as luxury and relaxing too.
The pool was nice but far from luxurious. There were only two loungers which both times we went were full of bags of people in the pool in swimming lessons with their children. This wasn't an environment you would wish to stay for any length of time to relax and unwind.
My points may seem trivial to some people but when you book and pay for 4 star there are certain little details which make all the difference. The langstone lacks the personal touch and the luxury element is completely lacking.
To be completely honest it felt like a basic chain hotel that you would stay at in passing as opposed to making a choice to stay there for some indulgence. I have had equally good if not better stays at premier inn for £29.
On a good point the beds were extremely comfy so not all was a disappointment .
It just felt like we had looked forward to an extra special weekend away with family, which turned out to fall way short of the mark.


Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mrsmo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor.

I was disappointed to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience.

I would like the opportunity to discuss this with you direct especially as a number of your comments could have been addressed whilst you were on site. If you would like please email me on dos@langstonehotel.co.uk.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hayling Island hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely place, had a summer deal @ £70 for the night and they upgraded to a better room for free! well run and organised.
Plenty of parking, nice rooms, no aircon though.free wifi if you ask nicely
Breakfast exceptional !

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Langstone Hotel.

I was delighted to read that you had a pleasant stay with us. Unfortunately, like many of our competitors we don't have air conditioning in our bedrooms but we have provided large tower fans in each bedroom for guest comfort.

I do hope that you will consider a return visit.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We visisted here for dinner at the bar and sat outside in the courtyard.. The service was excellent and the food good. We came back a second time as it was so relaxing.
We have stayed here before and also eaten in the Brasserie which has exceptional food and would also recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flingy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay with us at the Langstone Hotel on Tripadvisor.

It was lovely to read that your stay was enjoyable. I have ensured that the team are aware of your comments also.

I hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

My mother is not a well woman following stroke and complications so getting out of the house is a mental bind. So for our family get together getaway we needed a comfortable hotel which offered mobility rooms. Having chosen the Langstone we had a fun few days including two excellent meals in the restaurant and some fine lunches on the islands restaurants and pubs. My room was perfectly comfortable for this hotel's rating and I slept well. Apart from their room being an awfully long way from reception Mum and Dad were comfortable and also slept very well. The dinners we had in the restaurant were very tasty especially the steak I enjoyed and I understand the breakfast was fine too. The hotel has a great location for walks and an interesting marina very close by to watch the boats. It was perfect for our needs, with a couple of really decent pubs just across the bridge. We all had a great time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScampyFry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelcareteam, Director of Sales at Langstone Hotel, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Langstone Hotel on Tripadvisor.

I was delighted to read that your party had an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us.

I do hope that you would consider a return visit in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Leanne Simpson
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
2.7 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Havant South (Langstone/A27)
1.4 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 3 in Emsworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#18 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
5.5 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#2 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Hotel

Property: Langstone Hotel
Address: Northney Road | Portsmouth, PO11 0NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Langstone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on Business or Pleasure, the Langstone hotel will look after all of your requirements. The hotel is ideally situated on Hayling Island on the south coast offering breath taking views of the estuary, with Portsmouth and Southampton only a few minutes by car. The hotel has just completed a 2.5 Million pound refurbishment and can cater for up to 170 banquets and state of the art conference & meeting facilities for up to 200 business guests. Our 2 AA rosette awarded Brasserie Restaurant which has views over the sea is ideal for entertaining friends and relatives or just enjoying a relaxing meal. Leisure guests will also enjoy the facilities of the hotel including a Lounge which serves all day light meals, coffee and cocktails. Our hidden court yard is ideal for enjoying lunch or dinner or just to unwind and relax while we take care of all of your needs. We offer a state of the art Health and fitness centre with a Indoor swimming pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi and beauty centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Langstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langstone
Langstone Hotel Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing