We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for a quiet break!”
Review of Langstone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Langstone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Reviewed 27 July 2009

There's no question that the recent £2.5m. refurbishment has made the Langstone one of the most attractive modern hotels on the South Coast with almost every facility for your comfort and convenience built in. What is lacking is any sense of old-style hotel care for the individual client. Emphasis is on the bottom line and if that means catering for five weddings a week, with two occurring simultaneously on many Saturdays, all the better. If, as a consequence, ordinary guests get crowded out of the bar or other public spaces by increasingly noisy wedding celebrants, too bad. This emphasis on the herd as against the individual is reflected in the one sliver of soap provided in the bathrooms, the non-replacement of the sparse toiletries on offer and the fact that in the truly first-class (both as to food and to price) restaurant, bread is charged as an extra. If you have to be in the area on a weekday and are willing to chance your visit coinciding with a conference (great conference rooms and IT facilities), you might enjoy a brief stay. If you are looking for a peaceful weekend break, forget it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gdavidp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,740 - 1,746 of 1,797 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2009

My first trip to the area and the langstone harbour is beautiful, we had a table next to the window in the resturante with a perfect view of the surroundings. The food was fab with great service. Our room was very comfortable and it was good to get free internet. The staff were very helpful with directions, and we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iketan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

I booked one night at this hotel in July 09 for £90-0 excluding breakfast for a single person. Check in seemed chaotic despite having booked over the net several weeks earlier, had to carry my suitcase up stairs and then along 3 very long corridors to a room that over looked the roof of the indoor swimming pool and overgrown garden. The curtains were falling off the track, there was mould on the walls and the towels in the bathroom were thin and grey. I would have complained at this point but the reception staff were overwhelmed by the arrival of 2 large wedding parties.
Check out on the Sunday morning at 10am took half an hour again because the two receptionists could not cope the number of people checking out.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbhPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Lovely one night stay (Saturday) in a Executive Triple with my mum and my son. Huge double bed and single bed, VVVV clean hotel room, big widescreen TV with sports channels so that kept my son busy, kettle, waters, shortbread, fridge, and dressing gowns.
Swimming pool nice and big for a hotel, jacuzzi V powerful, and sauna in ladies changing rooms and more communally around the pool edge. All spotlessly clean.
All staff were friendly, and helpful and although there was a wedding there it was so quiet which is a BIG thing for me as am such a light sleeper.
Great location just wander back over the bridge and get a pint of delicious prawns at the Ship Inn, and or pick up the Billy Trail think just opposite the Texaco Garage.

We will definitely go there again, just to relax, float in the pool and unwind.

The 3 star on service was due to breakfast in the morning was cold (they'd put hot food on cold plates) but the food itself was really fresh and delicios - especially the sausages ;-)

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A1_ken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

The hotel is literally in the middle of nowhere but is a good base for visiting Haying Island. The restaurant is pretty good and reccomended

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TittiLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

I booked this hotel with a friend a few days before staying the weekend. We paid £150 for a double room for 2 nights via Lastminute.com (no twin rooms available apparently).

Our room was fine although somewhat small, however it had an empty fridge, safe, iron & tea/coffee making facilities, and it was clean.We had a poor choice of t.v. channels consisting of the terrestrial channels plus all three Sky Sports channels.

Swimming pool & sauna facilities were good, although they implement a 50p charge for the use of towels which seems to be a standard practice for these types of hotels nowadays.

We didnt dine at the hotel so cannot comment on the quality or service there but the area from outside did look really pleasant.

As far as the reception area is concerned, it is undergoing refurbishment, so it is all a bit makeshift. Our only gripe was with the kids who worked the evening shift who were lazy and couldn't bother to smile or make much of an effort throughout. They definetly need to be replaced!

So...would I recommend this hotel? Well, for people visiting Portsmouth I would recommend a central hotel, rather than a hotel like this one that is a drive away from Portsmouth.
The problem with this hotel is that it is in the middle of nowhere (seriously, what IS there to do on Havant Island???) and you need a car to access it. Also, whilst it is nice, it is nothing special either. I therefore advise you to stay away and book somewhere central to Portsmouth.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank filthiestfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

Arrived at the hotel hoping to get Sunday lunch but we were too late only serve up until 2.30pm which was a shame. The hotel is undergoing some refurb so reception is a little tricky to find. On arrival it was obvious that there was a wedding taking place and the wedding party pretty much took over the entire hotel bar for most of the day and evening. Some guests arriving after us looked quite annoyed as they could not get through to reception as there were so many people in the bar. The wedding party kind of looked at us other guests as though we were 'gatecrashing' their event. On a sunday afternoon it was all a little annoying seeing as I just wanted to sit and relax. In the end we went out to get some peace and returned later in the evening and the bar was still full of wedding guests, so we went to our room and watch tv. Checked out first thing the next day and will not be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrspeanut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
1.4 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
552 reviews
2.8 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
287 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn (Langstone/A27)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
1.9 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
5.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Langstone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langstone Hotel

Address: Northney Road | Portsmouth, PO11 0NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Price Range: £51 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Langstone Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether on Business or Pleasure, the Langstone hotel will look after all of your requirements. The hotel is ideally situated on Hayling Island on the south coast offering breath taking views of the estuary, with Portsmouth and Southampton only a few minutes by car. The hotel has just completed a 2.5 Million pound refurbishment and can cater for up to 170 banquets and state of the art conference & meeting facilities for up to 200 business guests. Our 2 AA rosette awarded Brasserie Restaurant which has views over the sea is ideal for entertaining friends and relatives or just enjoying a relaxing meal. Leisure guests will also enjoy the facilities of the hotel including a Lounge which serves all day light meals, coffee and cocktails. Our hidden court yard is ideal for enjoying lunch or dinner or just to unwind and relax while we take care of all of your needs. We offer a state of the art Health and fitness centre with a Indoor swimming pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi and beauty centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Langstone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Langstone
Langstone Hotel Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing