We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Family Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parkdean Hayling Island Holiday Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayling Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Parkdean Hayling Island Holiday Park
London UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Family Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was our first proper family holiday (myself, disabled son, husband and dog) since my husband's transplant a few years ago. We weren't looking for exciting white knuckle rides, or entertainment into the early hours of the morning, just a quiet break away from home. It was perfect. the caravan was clean, comfortable and warm (and dog friendly!) There was an excellent full sized cooker, a microwave, and a fridge with a decent sized ice box. We were positioned in a good place to get to the doggy walks field easily too.
I took my son to the swimming pool, and we had great fun in there. My son is autistic, and has other problems, but he was able to go up and down to the shop to buy the odd necessity, and all the Park staff were very good with him.
My husband's health restricts his activity quite a bit, but he thoroughly enjoyed going along to the bar for a drink in the evening. The park is well placed on the Island both for the beach, shopping areas, restaurants and the Wednesday Car Boot Sale.
We enjoyed the break so much that we have already booked up for two weeks next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    126
    44
    23
    25
See reviews for
196
46
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We enjoyed a very pleasant stay at the Parkdean Hayling Island last weekend.

All the staff we encountered couldn't have done more to help us. The bar was excellent; the staff were very personable and the drinks very reasonably priced. We didn't use the pool.

Our Caravan was modern and well equipped. There were heaters in every room, which was a big help.

The site is a great base for visiting nearby Portsmouth. The only negatives were that our Caravan smelt faintly of smoke and there was some damp in one corner of our bedroom. These are minor gripes and didn't detract too much from what was a lovely weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChipsnHam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Our second year at Parkdean Hayling Island, stayed for a week in a lovely caravan. Very clean, heated bedrooms, shower with heated towel rail. Fridge with icebox was ideal, microwave and gas cooker as well as freeview tv with dvd player. Great value for a family holiday especially with young children. The indoor ball pool and play area was loved by my 2 1/2 year old son. we enjoyed the pool, its heated and has a roped off area next to the main pool for toddlers. The wooden play area is great, even my 1 year old enjoyed playing especially with the woodchips. Its a family friendly site, If you have older children they run childrens clubs and have a disco every evening, Mine were always to tired for that after playing in the parks. Staff were friendly and helpful, the shop isnt overpriced and costs about the same as your local spar. i would recomend this place to anyone thinking of staying in hampshire or wanting Portsmouth specifically. Great beach nearby, lots of pebbles little sand with small fairground and arcade.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Parkdean at Hayling Island was really very good indeed - the caravan we stayed in (upgraded) was just brilliant, had everything you could wish for and was close to all the amenities - very cosy with heating and all the mod cons, everyone slept so well... plenty to do on site with indoor heated pools, park, indoor soft play, entertainment etc....and within walking distance of the beach and funfair and lots of nice pubs - couldn't of asked for more to keep the children and us entertained. We stayed in a Winchester caravan, would highly recommend. Staff very helpful too. Great value for money....booking our next mini break now...

Room Tip: Winchester caravan - 3 bed - central heating - so cosy...P7 I think...(lovely soft duvets and pillow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieS80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbernauld, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

My wife, son, Clyde the lab and I had a one week stay here. Checkin was quick, friendly and efficient. The caravan was supposed to sleep six, I think that would be a bit if a squeeze. The caravan was a touch small. The main bedroom has a small double with little room for anything else, the other room has two small singles which my six foot five son had a real problem with. He resorted to fding the beds up and sleeping on the mattress's diagonally and only just fit into the room. There is a fold away bed in the lounge area, this would mean no room at all as the van is small. It was basically kitted out but had everything you need. There was a smoker in before us so it wasn't very fresh but febreeze sorted that out. The heating was needed later in the week but wasn't really up to the job in the bedrooms. The bathroom was a decent size.

The bar allows dogs in the outside smokers area but not indoors, a shame but understandable as there are a lot of fur kid owners on site. The food in the bar was really good and well priced. Great presentation too. We really liked the pool and jacuzzi. Bit busy but to be expected. Staff at reception and throughout the site are friendly and efficient. We will be back but I think we will try and get a better appointed caravan next time.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mitcheldean, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here for a weekend, The holiday park site was maintained well and the caravan itself was fine - very clean and well equipped, staff were very friendly ,helpful & polite check-in was quick and efficient.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philthemitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KENT
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Lovely stay in hayling island, at first the campsite seemed very small... It is but the kids entertainment is much better than what we have seen at haven before.. Starting at 7 and over by 830!
Caravan was very basic with stinging nettles around the van that our 3year old fell in!
Any maintence issues were sorted instantly!
The only thing I would say is the site was obviously very quiet but we wasn't offered an upgrade, which would of really made our break away so much better!
Great base to see the sights in Portsmouth and southsea!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank KENTGEMMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
2.5 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Havant South (Langstone/A27)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
5.9 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mill Rythe Holiday Village
Mill Rythe Holiday Village
#1 of 16 in Hayling Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkdean Hayling Island Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkdean Hayling Island Holiday Park

Property: Parkdean Hayling Island Holiday Park
Address: Manor Road, PO11 0QS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Hayling Island
Hotel Class:4 star — Parkdean Hayling Island Holiday Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Perfect Island Escape...There are two Hayling Islands. The first is our fabulous holiday park where there's always plenty to do, from splashing around in the indoor and outdoor pools to enjoying the live entertainment. The second is the beautiful Hayling Island itself, set just off the Hampshire mainland with glorious Blue Flag beaches, great golf and spectacular views across to the Isle of Wight.* A quiet and relaxed country park * One mile from a traditional seafront with funfair * Glorious beaches for kite and wind surfing fun * Close to the beautiful Solent * Indoor & Outdoor heated pools. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parkdean Hayling Island Holiday Park Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing