We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where to start?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Warner Lakeside Coastal Village
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Where to start?”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Lets start with the chalet....Clean,cosy,warm & tidy, wasn't expecting a 3 bedroom bungalow so the chalet served it's purpose! Now the staff....friendly, helpful & generally good natured and all working as a great team, even the head gardener was given an opportunity to speak about his work. How about the food ? well cooked , good choice of menu especially impressed with the presentation of desserts! And now for the icing on the cake.......The Entertainments team....How do i describe this band of artistes,,,,,well Mr Simon Cowell if you want to see talent ,then forget your X Factor & BGT get booked in at Lakeside & see the REAL THING ! All in all a good week me thinks!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ady-ze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestLiaisonLakeside, Guest Liaison at Warner Lakeside Coastal Village, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
What an amazing review. Thank you so much.

I am so happy to see that you had a great holiday. We are very proud of our Team and all the hard work they put in.

We look forward to seeing you for another great break in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    328
    160
    73
    50
See reviews for
121
526
17
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

First time at warners lakeside, only two nights stay. Chalet was ok, warm, cosy. Evening meal we found a bit rushed, starter was with us in seconds as was rest of food, didn't have time to relax after each course. Didn't stay for entertainment as rushed food didn't help with other halves digestion. Breakfast next morning was fine. Dinner was not so rushed on second evening had to keep trying to catch eye of waitress. Stayed for entertainment which was very good, team were brilliant. Warners team are all very friendly and are ready to help if needed. After a not too good start break ended well, would consider it again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestLiaisonLakeside, Guest Liaison at Warner Lakeside Coastal Village, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Thank you so much for a great review. I am glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us.

I hope we can welcome you back to Lakeside soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We have stayed at Lakeside several times and found it to be very friendly and comfortable. The entertainment team are very good and there's plenty to do on and off of the holiday village. The food is good too and all in a relaxing atmosphere..

Room Tip: Only used standard plus and found it comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestLiaisonLakeside, Guest Liaison at Warner Lakeside Coastal Village, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your positive comments.

It is great to know that the hard work put in by all our Team is being recognised by our Guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Lakeside soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We were offered an upgrade to our room as they were refurbishing the block. We had booked a standard room and were told we would have a standard plus! We were very disappointed could hardly swing a cat, Bed up against the bathroom door, no small table to have your drinks (Coffee etc).Bathroom needed a complete overall, when we asked at reception the difference between standard room and standard plus we were told they did not have standard rooms all their rooms were standard plus! we felt we had been fobbed off.
We had been to Gunton Hall before and the entertainment, accommodation etc was second to none.

Room Tip: I don't know if they had any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bjcorfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestLiaisonLakeside, Guest Liaison at Warner Lakeside Coastal Village, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry to hear that your complimentary upgrade did not meet your expectations.

As you will know we are just at the start of an extensive refurbishment here at Lakeside.

We would hope that you will consider booking with us in the future once the works have been completed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

After reading some remarks of people moaning about there holiday i just had to say a holiday is wot you make it. We met some lovely people the food was good the entertainment was good, so was the archery and shooting, and yes we liked the karaoke shame its only on once a week yes the rooms do need up dating but we had a good time thanks

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jag464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestLiaisonLakeside, Guest Liaison at Warner Lakeside Coastal Village, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
watford
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Cutlery not good could not cut the orange rind. ( I tried to use a knife) Food was better than I expected. Entertainment fine but as I said in the title unless you are really British Caucasian only saw one non white face in the huge rectory dining room come nightclub - good job a load of the chalets were being refurbished- where would they house all the diners?

We did enjoy the Essex Elvis and firebirds were very good. lead has a great voice.

I dislike one arm bandits why do they lower the tone?

Room Tip: pool is a bit small if you go hope there are no more than 4 other swimmers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magicnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

It really is quite disappointing to say how awful Lakeside is. Mrs M and I are long time guests of Warners. We have been to many Warner resorts. Lakeside might possibly be the straw that broke the camel's back.

Warners pride themselves on catering for adults only. Sadly the vast bulk of the entertainment at Lakeside perhaps doesn't reach the adult standard I have come to expect. Every evening began with bingo. Fair enough if you think you can beat the odds - you won't because little over 50% of the takings was returned as prize money. Tax will account for some of the difference but there is huge amount that seems to disappear into a black hole. It's not just the concept of the game that irritates but the near cathedral like silence that is requested so that the players can "enjoy" their misfortune. How to kill an atmosphere in one quite dreadful (but daily repeated) episode.

And then there is karaoke. Who on earth thought that could possibly be entertaining? But worse still, acceptable? Conducted late in the evening, when audience and performers are perhaps more "relaxed" than earlier, quality is very thin on the ground. Think elderly uncles at a family wedding singing "If You Knew Suzy" and you get the picture.

Inane audience participation game shows pandering to the lowest common denominator, setting people against people for dubiously awarded points is apparently now "entertainment". Forgive me if I appear old fashioned but as a paying customer I expect to be entertained by a professional company, rather than be the entertainment myself. If I wanted to do that I would stay at home and get the family singing around the piano.

Years ago the M family intermittently holidayed at Butlins. The younger family members seemed to enjoy it, and to be fair it was a welcome break from daily life. The fairly low key presentation of the holiday and low expectations of us all would have contributed to a not unreasonable level of enjoyment.

But now in my later years - older but not yet drawing the winter fuel allowance - Butlins should, as I might have thought, passed me by. Taking a break at Lakeside was taking a rather unwelcome step back into the past. Lakeside isn't really a Warners, it just happens to be a Butlins without children.

On the positives for Lakeside. All of the staff are hard working, very helpful, kind and caring. The accommodation is more or less acceptable, given that you are getting seaside chalets and not hotel rooms. Perhaps they are best summed up as "it's not as bad as you think".

The Saturday evening professional band, The Firebirds, was excellent and an absolute joy. They had the audience on the dance floor from the beginning of their set until their well deserved encore. True professionalism at its best.

The entertainment team do work wonderfully well and they produced a good show based on the musicals on our final evening. In this respect Warners are to be congratulated. The team shows based around a theme, and which are centrally produced and choreographed to be staged by each Warner venue are infinitely superior to the rather lack lustre shows of the past.

Warners IS investing in Lakeside. Larger cabaret diner. More higher quality accommodation. Apparently some rooms are to be built over the lake! Think Maldives without the sun and sophistication but with close proximity to and a decent view of a caravan site instead. Whatever they do, it must be time for Warners to think about moving on. If they want sophisticated guests looking for relaxing breaks, as they seem to want to do, then sadly Lakeside in its' present format just doesn't fit the bill. Building new rooms may go someway to paper over the cracks, but until the infantile entertainment programme is addressed sophistication is a word that is unlikely to ever cross the Lakeside threshold.

Warners really need to look radically at their business model. The country house hotels more or less deliver the image the TV ads are peddling, although you would go a long way to find a table cloth on your dining table - a long standing complaint of mine. The coastal villages simply do not. They will never be on a par with the hotels. It might be kindest to kill them off and rebrand them somewhere else in the Bourne Leisure stable

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Millstoneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestLiaisonLakeside, Guest Liaison at Warner Lakeside Coastal Village, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

I am sorry our evening entertainment programme did not meet your expectations. Many of our guests thoroughly enjoy what is on offer and we receive many positive comments. However, we do understand that this is down to personal preference.

I will ensure our Entertainment Manager is made aware of your comments.

If you wish to discuss any of these issues further, please do not hesitate to contact us on 02392463976.

I hope this will not deter you from booking a Warner break in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
3.3 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
1,652 reviews
1.5 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
269 reviews
5.4 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
6.9 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
829 reviews
4.4 mi away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#34 of 38 in Portsmouth
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Warner Lakeside Coastal Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Lakeside Coastal Village

Property: Warner Lakeside Coastal Village
Address: Fishery Lane, PO11 9NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hayling Island
Hotel Class:4 star — Warner Lakeside Coastal Village 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Resort. You'll love the lake that gives this Classic Resort its name but Lakeside is about the seaside too. Sea air and great views are all part of the magic here. There's plenty to keep you busy at traditional Lakeside, including an indoor bowls complex. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Warner Lakeside Coastal Village Hotel Hayling Island
Warner Lakeside Classic Hotel
Warner Lakeside Coastal Village Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing