We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayling Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
White House
Ranked #2 of 16 Hayling Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Previous reviews are perfectly accurate.A very nice house where all guest amenities are at ground level.,including the TV lounge where the welcoming drink andcake are served . Good advice on local places to eat in addition to attention to detail from caring ,welcoming hosts sets a very high standard .The property also boasts a lovely landscaped garden .Breakfast had plenty of choice and poached eggs [always hard to do properly ] with smoked salmon can be certainly recommended.
The room was clean,comfortable bed and good selection of drinks , Facilities are important ,but its the welcome,care and service of owners that make this special and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cjmorpeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
17
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We enjoyed our stay, enormously at the White House. Nothing was too much trouble, clean, comfortable and very welcoming. An excellent cooked breakfast. Highly recommended, would love to visit again. Perfectly placed for a visit to Portsmouth, where there is something for all the family from naval history, to designer shopping and excellent restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan191278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

If you are looking for a perfect relaxing getaway then look no further than the White House B&B.
From the warm welcome to the little extras such as home made cake with coffee waiting for you in the evening make this one of the nicest places we have stayed for a short break.
The breakfast is very good with top quality produce. Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. All in all a great B&B with great hosts, Tony and Edra. Would recommend highly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

a trip to relive child hood memories to hayling island was made complete by choosing this b and b . from the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were looked after by the perfect hosts. room was well decorated and comfy and breakfast had everything you could need. would highly recommend

Room Tip: the blue room was exellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Three things that will make a trip to Hayling Island an absolute delight:

1. Walking the nature trail (made from the old railway) from top to bottom of the island's western edge.

2. Devouring fish and chips at the chippy in the fun fair.

3. Staying at the White House.

We chose the White House because the website felt comprehensive in terms of images and information, free wifi was included, and an annex was available. But we got so much more than a clean, spacious, comfortable room.

Tony and Edra are two of the loveliest people you could hope to meet, friendly and welcoming, without being intrusive. We both went for the full English each morning, which was a delicious start every day of our holiday. And the portions were just right: we never felt weighted down, but didn't get hungry for houuuurssssss, and we were being quite active each day (thanks in part to the gorgeous weather the last weekend in March).

Also have to say that the location was perfect. Quiet and neighbourhood-y, a great setting for proper relaxation. A short, brisk walk in either direction gets you to a pub to keep the good times rolling.

In all, can't say enough about how much we loved the White House and ended up adoring Hayling Island. Many thanks, Tony and Edra, for making our much-needed holiday one to remember!

Room Tip: If you, like we, are partial to a bit of privacy, you can't go wrong booking the annex. Gave us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We checked into The White House after being extremely let down at another b&b in the area which was filthy.
Tony & Edra were amazing, lovely couple and could not do enough for us, the rooms were well presented and the standard's were very high. There was 7 of us which included my 92 year old Gran who absolutely loved it.
Thank you for your kind hospitality we will certainly see you again.

Best breakfast we have ever had too :)
Steve & Family

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Treatwithrespect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Thank you to Tony and Edra for a very warm welcome. We stayed in the very pretty teal room. Lots of personal touches make this very clean, warm and tastefully decorated house a real gem . A make up towel in the room! How clever is that? Soft flannels, good towels. Really comfy beds. Breakfast..fresh fruit salad followed by .....smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, tomatoes, toast and warm croissant and pastry ! Jams, honeys, cereals, grapefruit, they have it all. Beautifully presented. Hubby had the full English, I had a bit of his sausage....quality all the way. Nice cosy snug area off the breakfast room with TV . Really nice touch. Also from 4pm, homemade cakes, tea or coffee a lovely treat!.... Excellent location too....for coastal walks, on the bus route into Hayling, Havant and Portsmouth. Will not hesitate to stay here, excellent value for excellent service.

Room Tip: We stayed in the teal twin room. Ground floor easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DeniseASurrey_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
0.7 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
2.0 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Havant South (Langstone/A27)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 3 in Emsworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel
4.2 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House

Property: White House
Address: 250 Havant Road | Corner of New Cut, Hayling Island, Portsmouth, PO11 0LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open all year round we offer you comfortable ground floor single, double, twin rooms and family suite, equipped with en suite shower/baths, colour TV/DVD, Hospitality tray, hair dryer, ironing facilities, off road parking and a wireless hotspot to keep you connected. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White House Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing