We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copsewood House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayling Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Copsewood House
Ranked #3 of 16 Hayling Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carshalton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

I hadn't been to Hayling Island before so I had zero expectations; but boy was I greeted with a wonderful stay at Copsewood. Unfortunately it was the time of year and there were a few plumbing issues in the room we had booked but the owners lined up a different room for us. I've never been given so much and charged so little! It wasn't the perks that were given to us, that made the stay as wonderful as it was, in fact it was the little things you don't notice and take for granted without realizing. A beautiful back garden view from our balcony was my pick - I could have sat there for hours (well, more than I did). And the freedom we were given by the owners, it was perfect, and I detest using cliche's such as that one but it was. Jill was the person that we saw most and she was so lovely. We even had a lightbulb replaced in our room! The other highlight for me was the morning's breakfast. What Jill mustered up was quite superb (I'm running out of superlatives here). Almost a three-course meal. I am a man with great appreciation for food and this was, to put it mildly, the most flavored meal I'd ever had - I really wasn't expecting what I got. Juice to start with, followed by pre-breakfast cereal (nothing special but it was brought out to us which was nice). Then came the tea/coffee and there was no shortage which was a good job because it was so tasteful. The main course was delivered not long after. Exactly as you would wish. Everything was just as you would expect. It's a shame there wasn't anything left over. Toast was brought out shortly after, which was the most opportune time to make use of the vast variety of jam's and marmalade's which had been sitting in the middle of the table through the entire breakfast. What an amalgamation, stunning. Fabulous stay, and we didn't even have time to use our free round of golf which was offered to us. Lovely people.

Max

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are stunning, only two I believe but it has a perfect view and great to get fresh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Max H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlowerHayling, Owner at Copsewood House, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Thank you for staying at Copsewood House, we were delighted to read your review. Thank you very much for taking the time to write it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    15
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
68
8
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Needing somewhere to stay in Hayling Island for a weekend sailing event I chose Copsewood House because of the impressive reviews on trip advisor. That was a great decision.From the moment of arrival I was made to feel both welcome and very much at home . Furthermore , Jill not only kindly supplied lunch in a waterproof sealed bag but also offered some very useful local knowledge re sailing in the bay. All amazing and will definately stay next time I'm in the area.

Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlowerHayling, Owner at Copsewood House, responded to this review, 6 March 2012
I am very pleased you felt comfortable staying here and I very much thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to write a review. I was also delighted to hear that you felt the past reviews were helpful and of course that your sandwiches stayed dry. We look forward to seeing you again. Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Ideally located near to Havant and Portsmouth, Copsewood House is in the rural north part of Hayling Island. The property is in a quiet setting and with plenty of off-road parking.

The cooked breakfast is excellent and an extensive choice, freshly prepared and local produce is used where possible, the black pudding is the very best which Jill gets direct from Stornoway.

The bedrooms are comfortable, well decorated all have en-suites, they are well equipped and lots of excellent finishing touches both for men and the ladies, way above the normal hotel standard. The rooms have china cups and mugs for the varied assortments of teas, coffees etc and cut glasses for your complimentary bottle of wine in the room.

Jill and Ray are excellent hosts, there if you want a chat and in the back ground if you just want your space. After a tiring day at work, you are often offered a beer or wine. The sitting room is very comfortable with a big open fireplace and in the summer evenings you will find Jill in the gazebo with a glass of wine, TV and heater on while Ray is at the BBQ, all very relaxing.

Guests are given complimentary rounds to the Beachlands Par 3 9-hole Golf Course run by Ray, he is a PGA professional Grade 3 teacher and there are even practice nets in the garden.

In my profession I have to stay away a good majority of the time, Copsewood House is definitely the best experience I have had in every way..Nice people too!

Room Tip: If you are fed up with Hotels and the usual offerings - try this, it will be a revelation
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoyGoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlowerHayling, Owner at Copsewood House, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Copsewood House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East End of London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

this had more the feel of staying with relatives than in a b&b/guest house. Jill and Ray were the perfect hosts.
a large room [the blue one], comfortable bed, tea tray with a varied selection [inc soup] but for me, the breakfast was probably the best I've had away from home. If Carlesberg did breakfasts - it still would not be as good as Jill's

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chapter62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

What can I say apart from 5* treatment from the moment we book with Gill. We stayed here for 2 nights for our 2 year anniversary. Gill kindly booked us a table at the Olive Leaf Pub and she never let us down there or thought the stay.
We arrived at 2:00pm to be greeted by Gill. First impressions we great from the look of the house to our room (Rose Room and Balcony Room) Both rooms were great very very clean and the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in. On the first night after our meal we spent the evening outside with Gill. A few bottles and some very funny conversations the night was over but made extra special by Gills great hospitallity.
We come down the following morning to the biggest and most delicous breakfast ever.
We spent the day on the sea front and enjoyed a nice round of golf on the Beechlands Par 3 course complimenty of Gill and Ray (Husband) who runs the course.
The second evening we went for Chinese in the outdoor area. Food great and Gill happily supplied the plates and cutlery.
During the 2 days we went for a few rides around the island which you a perfectly postioned for staying here. Undercover, safe storage was available to keep the bikes in.

To sum up
From start to finish we felt welcome and wanted. The place is great and made perfect by Gill and Rays hospitallity.
Room very clean and high spec.
Breakfast Fresh and delicious.
Perfect setting and very quiet.
Will definatly be returning..

(Gill your a wonderful Lady and we will alway be greatful for everything you done for us. A BIG thank you).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dedman86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

As a regular guest, I can thoroughly recommend Copsewood House to any business people who need travel to the Hayling Island area. Located in a quiet setting and with ample off-road parking, you can be sure of a good night’s sleep in one of the comfortable and well equipped bedrooms.

Both Jill and Ray are excellent hosts and really make feel like you are part of their extended family. Jill is an excellent cook and there is a wide choice of (freshly prepared) home cooked food for breakfast. For those guests requiring food in the evening, then this can also be arranged on request.

Guests enjoy access to the indoor and outdoor reception areas. And for those who are interested in golf, guests get complimentary access to the 9-hole Golf Course run by Ray - who as a top-class PGA profession, can offer complimentary swing tune-ups, and full lessons can also be provided on request. And for those who want to practice their new swing technique - there is also a practice net in the garden at the back of the house..!

So like me, it’s no surprise why many of their guests return on a regular basis.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the house have the nicest views of the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

stayed here for two nights for the purpose of visiting family. We had the room with balcony. very comfortable bed. Extras we would normally expect in a 4star hotel. Toweling robe, excellent tea tray with good selection of teas and mini bottles of wine. The en suite although small had a very good shower. Jill welcomed us when we arrived and Sam and her husband did the breakfasts which were really good all set in a lovely dining room. We have really enjoyed our stay, wish it could have been longer.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
1.6 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.3 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Havant South (Langstone/A27)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 3 in Emsworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
5.0 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copsewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copsewood House

Property: Copsewood House
Address: Copsewood House Copse Lane, PO11 0QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copsewood House provides quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation in the quiet rural setting of North Hayling. We are happy to welcome children and pets and we have a very comfortable all-weather Smoking Area. We are rated 4* by the tourist board and are proud to have achieved Visit England's Silver accreditation standard. We are delighted to have achieved an award of "Excellence" by TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Copsewood House Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing