We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
Review of Copsewood House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayling Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Copsewood House
Ranked #3 of 15 Hayling Island B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed at Copsewood House over the New Year and it was fantastic. We were made so welcome by Jill and Ray and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in the Blue Room which was so comfortable, made all the nicer by complimentary wine, water and mince pies - little touches that made our stay even more special. The breakfasts were amazing and I just wish we could have stayed even longer than the 4 days we had booked. We will certainly be back!.....hopefully in the summer when we can experience Hayling Island in the sun! Thank you Jill and Ray for a truly wonderful stay and a lovely start to 2013. Happy New Year to you both! :) Carolyn and Phil

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlowerHayling, Owner at Copsewood House, responded to this review, 6 January 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to right your review on Copsewood House. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to Welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    17
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
71
9
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I had the same good level of service that I had when I last stayed here with Jill running the place. Room clean and tidy, good breakfast with a nice range of marmalades etc. Internet was responsive. Excellent for a business stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rumex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlowerHayling, Owner at Copsewood House, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
I am pleased to hear that you had a comfortable stay at Copsewood House and I thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUDBURY SUFFOLK UK
1 review
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The place is fab, great people ,yum breakfast with everthing you can wish for ,i would recormend to everyone ,have stayed twice poss again very soon lovely house 5+ would love to own it myself.close to the beach shops and pubs, stay in the blue room it is a large room with views over th contryside loved it.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HEATHER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlowerHayling, Owner at Copsewood House, responded to this review, 7 November 2012
It always good to have feedback from our Guests and we appreciate you taking the time to write your review, thank you. I am very pleased you had a pleasant stay and that you enjoyed being at our house and had a "Yum Breakfast". We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2012

The house is in a good location. We had the balcony room, which was not spacious but did have an excellent view over the garden. Must be great in warm weather. The bed was comfy and the room was warm.
We appreciated the wine, water and use of little toiletries/perfumes etc.
The decor was a bit tired and the bathroom mirror light didn't work.
In Jill's absence a few things had been overlooked. We didn't realise until the following morning that we should have been given a key to our bedroom. We asked for one then and promptly got it.
The breakfast table was adorned with an arrangement of two very dead flowers (gone by the second morning without our saying anything). The smoked salmon in my scrambled eggs was in big slabs rather than bite-sized pieces, which I would have preferred. My daughter spotted a greenish bit on the edge of my toast, which could have been mould, so I left it.On the second morning our other daughter's cooked breakfast had been fogotten altogether. The cook was apologetic and quickly cooked it, but it meant a wait for us all so as not to leave her eating alone.
The house was quiet and we had space to park, except that, when there are more than a couple of cars, it is necessary to park partly off the tarmac and on what was a puddly and muddy border.
From reading the other reviews, I reckon everything would have been spot on had Jill been there, so perhaps our experience wasn't typical, but I can only report how it was for us.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lel51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlowerHayling, Owner at Copsewood House, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Thank you for your honest review and for you time. When I took your booking I had a full time Housekeeper whom I had trained specifically for the purpose of me being able to have time off, unfortunately due to her dishonesty she had to leave. I thought I had covered my work load, but your stay proves that I really have to be on site to ensure my standards are maintained. I had already decided that in the future when I am unable to be present I will not take any bookings. I hope that if you are in our area in the future you will give me a chance to look after you to our normal 5 star standard. The Balcony room is lovely especially when the sun is out and is due for refurbishment this winter, also the extra car parking area is being tarmaced this winter and the exterior of the house is all being completely decorated. Thank you once again, Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent great britain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

we stayed at copsewood for one night in may last year , i believe it was.there was a very warm welcome from jill.also that day there was a wedding going on somewhere and the parking was a bit tight but we managed.the guests were quiet and we never heard them come home.the room was comfy and as it was the balcony room it seemed that bit larger.it was clean and comfy and the food was GREAT !!! we will definately be booking again.

Room Tip: balcony room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlowerHayling, Owner at Copsewood House, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it is much appreciated and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I booked Copsewood after reading the glowing reviews on TA, and taking a look at the web site. The house is situated in a very pleasantly quiet and peaceful part of Hayling Island.But......

We had the Blue Room, this was very large with lots of room, and the en suite was also generous in size. An especial plus point was the extra large bath sheet! We both like to wrap up fully in a bath sheet that completely envelopes you! The bed was very soft and comfortable, good if you like a very soft bed.........The sunken bath was surprisingly easy to get in and out. The hot tap on the basin runs at only a trickle - if you want hot water in the basin, run the bath tap until the water is hot then use the sink tap - you'll have a long wait otherwise.

We were also extremely well looked-after by the cook/housekeeper in the owner's absence, so why only four points. Well there were some things wrong, things that should have been picked up - and corrected - with proper housekeeping. The upholstered corner chair in the bedroom was in imminent danger of collapse, the arms were loose and quite literally came apart. The catch on the mini fridge was broken away and the door wouldn't secure. We took to keeping it closed by placing the bottle of water against it. The joints for the stool with the dressing table were also loose suggesting that the stool might collapse. We also noticed that used glasses in the bedroom weren't being cleaned when the room was checked over. The web site also mentions complimentary bottled water. I couldn't help but wonder why the seal was broken when we went to pour some out! Still, I guess it was bottled water......

Alright these are little niggles, but what came quite close to earning this place a one-star review was one evening when seemingly the daughter of one of the owners decided to have friends around for a very noisy drinking session in the garden. There were children running around shouting and screaming, and music was so loud the whole building was vibrating. I won't even mention the parking problems that evening! 0/10 for that!!

Room Tip: Top Tip: there's an excellent garden centre with peaceful tea room just a short distance along C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BroadlandWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlowerHayling, Owner at Copsewood House, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thank you for your valued review and I am sorry for the slight delay in responding, we only returned this morning. Although we did not meet our standards on this occasion, I am appreciative that you were able to commend the room, en-suite etc. and cook/housekeeper.

With regard to the other side and the “little niggles”, as you kindly put it, I will address and rectify these problems as soon as possible. The fridges we do constantly renew due to wear and tear and this will be done, that nor any of the furniture had problems when I left, however breakages do happen and I regret that these must have occurred just before your arrival. The bottled water is tap water, put there for the Guest’s convenience as it is a difficult angle to fill the kettle from the en-suite basin tap, this is pointed out during part of the greeting session, however we were called away on short notice and I should have covered this point more accurately with my great staff, in addition I have looked at our website and it does imply differently and I will have this altered. I hope you did enjoy your complimentary wine. The antique upholstered corner chair on inspection today does have a loose arm and this has been removed ready for collection and repair.

With regard to the inappropriate party held and associated parking problems, that was held our absence I can only apologise most profusely and sincerely to you and the other Guests and this will be addressed by my husband as to its severity and will be made very clear this is never to happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed over one night with my two children.
We were happily & genuinely greeted. & the goodwill continued for our short stay.
The house is very clean & well kept, & our room was ample, so the kids had space & we had a lovely short break.
There's no skimping on quality on the breakfast front. The produce served was equal to a posh North London Cafe, where a brekky of this nature will set you back just shy of a tenner!
Good kind people run this B&B.

Room Tip: we had the blue room which was a good size for me & two kids. plenty of room to move around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toby P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FlowerHayling, Owner at Copsewood House, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Toby it was a pleasure to meet you and the Children, they were lovely, polite and very well behaved a delight for you I am sure. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Copsewood House and for us it makes a difference to know that you enjoyed your stay. Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
1.3 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
1,652 reviews
1.6 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
269 reviews
2.5 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#4 of 4 in Havant
593 reviews
3.5 mi away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#34 of 38 in Portsmouth
406 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copsewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copsewood House

Property: Copsewood House
Address: Copsewood House Copse Lane, PO11 0QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copsewood House provides quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation in the quiet rural setting of North Hayling. We are happy to welcome children and pets and we have a very comfortable all-weather Smoking Area. We are rated 4* by the tourist board and are proud to have achieved Visit England's Silver accreditation standard. We are delighted to have achieved an award of "Excellence" by TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Copsewood House Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing