We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copsewood House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayling Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Copsewood House
Ranked #3 of 16 Hayling Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommended !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Spent two nights in this lovely B&B, tucked away in a beautiful area with large rooms and a huge bathroom. Spotlessly clean room with unexpected free extras such as chocolates and wine in our mini fridge. Fantastic breakfast with everything you can want and more, we could not finish it despite trying both mornings, delicious sausages too ! Very friendly host and housekeeper-do not miss this place if you are in the Portsmouth area-very easy to get to the Historic Dockyard and shopping areas.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clare2568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    15
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
68
8
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

This is an excellent B&B in the north of Hayling Island. Ideal if you do not mind not having sea views and not being next to the beach. Everything has already been said about the great breakfasts and Jill's helpful friendliness. We agree absolutely. This B&B exudes comfort. It has a large lounge with comfortable chairs if you have time to sit. The rooms are good with helpful touches like a shoe horn, hairdryer, and bathrobes as well as soap, shower gel etc in full size bottles. An iron and ironing board are available if needed. All in all it has features usually found in hotels. Can recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolyndaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

A very warm welcome, comfortable rooms and a fantastic breakfast! We stayed 5 days at this wonderful place and enjoyed it very much. Besides discovering the beautiful island, we made some sightseeing trips to Stonehenge, Salisbury, Brighton, Portsmouth, Arundel - all can be reached easily. In the evening we played dice-games in front of the impressing chimney in the living room.
Patricia & family (from Germany)

Room Tip: The blue room is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We were down for a Ruby Wedding Anniversary of friends of ours.

Luckily we only wanted Friday night because the Saturday was booked.

Had the balcony room upstairs and on arrival we had two small bottles of wine compliments of the owners.

Enjoyed these outside on the balcony while relaxing in the recliner chairs, looking out over garden and adjoining field.

Nice to see the stars again away from areas with street lights.

In the morning we had a very nice breakfast, would highly recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billyboysouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed at Copsewood for the Goodwood festival of speed and enjoyed a very comfortable stay. Nothing was too much trouble for Jill as she got up especially early to make sure that us along with other guests had a full English breakfast before attending the Festival. As other guests have mentioned the breakfast sets you up for the day with everything being well cooked and very tasty. We stayed in the Rose room which was very comfortable and had everything you required including little bottles of wine (great after a long day). Jan and Terry looked after us on our last morning and again we had a great full English breakfast. Many thanks again to you all and wouldn't hesitate to stay with you again

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, West Sussex UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

Karen and I arrived on Tuesday 9th and left on Friday 12th July 2013. Jill and Ray were wonderful hosts, also supported by Jan. We were fortunate to have the Balcony Room having an en-suite bathroom. There was a wide selection of complimentary toiletries/tea/coffee (and wine!!) during the stay. The garden to the front and rear is well maintained and has a variety of lush plants and trees. In the rear garden there is a BBQ area and we were delighted to be invited to a BBQ on Wednesday 10th July, which happened to be Karen's birthday.......That's how thoughtful Jill and Ray are!! However, the guest lounge and breakfast table are absolutely amazing. I have never tasted scrambled egg quite like that prepared by Jill...Try it with smoked salmon. you shall not regret it!! Wonderful place to stay with so many places to visit, Chichester, Old Portsmouth and Bosham (Bozzum!!), all within a short drive. What more can we say? Apart from a BIG THANK YOU!!

Room Tip: The Balcony Room is on the south side, beautifully cool in the morning and evening, can be hot, hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NPandKB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We found Copsewood House on the internet. The Website showed us that the place was just what we wanted. The next day, as we were in the area, we drove along that way to see what it was like and were surprised to see that it had a 'Vacancies' sign outside. We met Jill and Ray and got on famously from the start. Jill showed us the room and we checked in immediately. It was the best decision we ever made. The whole place was just so comfortable whether you were sitting in the lounge or outside on a sunbed. As for the bedroom, we just didn't want to get up for breakfast. It is just as well that we did as the Jill produced just an amazing, tasty and sumptuous feast. It was great to sit at one large table with the other guests who came from Australia, Belgium and Surrey. Checkout time came too soon. We didn't know that a group of complete strangers could have so much in common. We will be back soon, promise.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
1.6 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
1.3 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,556 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Havant South (Langstone/A27)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 3 in Emsworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
5.0 mi away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copsewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copsewood House

Property: Copsewood House
Address: Copsewood House Copse Lane, PO11 0QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copsewood House provides quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation in the quiet rural setting of North Hayling. We are happy to welcome children and pets and we have a very comfortable all-weather Smoking Area. We are rated 4* by the tourist board and are proud to have achieved Visit England's Silver accreditation standard. We are delighted to have achieved an award of "Excellence" by TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Copsewood House Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing