We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Copsewood House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hayling Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Copsewood House
Ranked #3 of 16 Hayling Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed 28 March 2010

Top class breakfast, with huge choice, tons of it and very tasty.
6 of us stayed here but only slept and ate breakfast.
Rooms are clean, and modern, but not overly large. The beds were comfortable but a bit short for the taller visitors..

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Altraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    15
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
69
8
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2010

My husband and I spent the night at Copsewood House. We were greeted with a warm welcome. Lovely room, house and grounds. Hospitality was superb. Great breakfast too!!!
Thank you Gill and Ray. We would definitely come again. :)

Briony and Coby

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coetsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

There is nothing like leaving a stressful day, driving over the bridge and leaving it all behind. Copsewood is 10 mins from Portsmouth Island yet feels in the Country. 5 mins walk to the Sea with a Pub and shop just beyond the end of the road. I backup the other reviews whole heartedly. Need to say no more. I used a number of B&Bs in the area and have stayed with Copsewood after discovering it. WiFi provides what I need, Beds and ensuite excellent, Breakfast is a work of art and sets me up for the day. Jill is quick if you want to get to work or relaxed if you're on holiday. Her regulars get looked after probably better than they should. Jill has been in the wider leisure business for many years and she uses this to bring a level of quality above what I would expect.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rumex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thames ditton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

I have stayed at Copsewood House numerous times and each stay has been an absolute delight. Jill and Ray are lovely hosts and could not do more to make the stay one to remember. Many thanks. Bill

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billyboats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 May 2008

This is an excellent four star guest house.

The house is spacious and clean throughout and very well appointed.

We stayed in the Bronze Room and it was spotless. Bed very comfortable, and complimentary wine was offered - a very welcoming touch !

Hosts Jill and Ray were very friendly and we enjoyed the beautiful garden.

Breakfast was first class and generous.

My wife and I have stayed in guest houses in the Lake District and the Yorkshire Dales - Copsewood House is amongst the very best.

Highly recommended.

From Colin & Mel, Basildon, Essex.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank Benbulbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2006

What can I say, it is one of the best if not best B & B's we have stayed in, excellent in every way, great rooms and a breakfast to die for. Rooms are clean and with little extras that make it a little bit special, at the price its great value for Money. Will definately be recommending it to friends and family and will be paying a return visit.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HappyCamper24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, Kent, England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2006

This charming house, owned and run by very friendly Jill, was fantastic. We had the balcony room which was very comfortable, and outstandingly clean. However, what made it so special was the extras that Jill laid on, two complimentary bottles of wine, kit-kats with the tea and coffee, a bathrobe, cosmetics, hair spray, good perfume. The english breakfast was huge (I could not eat it all) plus you had the feeling that any request you could make would be granted with a smile. Jill even made us a gift of a box of local eggs to take home.

We would certainly return if we were in the Portsmouth, Hayling Island area again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jane049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hayling Island
1.6 mi away
Newtown House Hotel
Newtown House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Hayling Island
261 reviews
1.3 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
1,586 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Havant South (Langstone/A27)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 3 in Emsworth
466 reviews
5.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copsewood House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copsewood House

Property: Copsewood House
Address: Copsewood House Copse Lane, PO11 0QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hayling Island
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Hayling Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copsewood House provides quality Bed & Breakfast accommodation in the quiet rural setting of North Hayling. We are happy to welcome children and pets and we have a very comfortable all-weather Smoking Area. We are rated 4* by the tourist board and are proud to have achieved Visit England's Silver accreditation standard. We are delighted to have achieved an award of "Excellence" by TripAdvisor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Copsewood House Hayling Island, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing