We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodlands Guest House
Ranked #3 of 15 Halifax B&B and Inns
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Wonderfully secluded location, very peaceful. Barry and Sue are fantastic hosts and their property is very quaint. Bedroom was lovely and the gardens beautifully presented. Place was neat and clean with good facilities. Breakfast was lovely. Thank you Barry and Sue

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
7
14
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
co durham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from the woodlands guest house after a one night stay. Found the house easy enough. Barry and Sue very hospitable, couldn't do enough for you. The house and gardens have a lit of history that Barry is more than willing to share with you. Lovely breakfast. Room was good to had a good nights sleep. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank geordietrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Recently spent 4 nights in this most delightful guest house. It wasn't the first time and will not be the last time. A warm welcome, a spotlessly clean bathroom and bedroom, an exquisite a la carte breakfast and with a peaceful garden filled with exotic plants and birdsong to relax in after a long day working or sightseeing. Safe parking in a quiet lane but with easy access to frequent, direct bus routes into Halifax, Bradford or Leeds if you want a break from driving.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

This guest house is a perfect haven for exploring Halifax ,Bradford and other surrounding areas. It is situated in peaceful countryside nestled in breathtaking gardens. Only 10 minutes to the centre of busy Halifax with a pub serving food within walking distance. If you want to be assured of a undisturbed nights sleep in elegant surroundings then this is for you.
Sue and Barry are very friendly , kind and interesting to talk to.
Be sure to try Barry's marmalade

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Having stayed in lots of guest houses over the years, I have to say Woodlands Guest house in Halifax was probably the best. Why? I will explain. Firstly how many B&B's out there let you use their kitchen items such as their microwave, ironing board? Every evening they would leave a clean tray out for me with silver cutlery so that I can microwave my food, place on tray, take to my room for dinner. Otherwise I would have had to eat out every night. Biscuits would be provided in the room that were of the highest of quality. Not your ordinary UHT milk, but real fresh milk. The decor in the room was a mixture of artefacts brought back from Africa and a pleasant mood all round. Never had a bad nights sleep and I stayed there for 5 months straight. Extremely quite. Beautiful garden and a great view of it when sat for breakfast. During break fast you get treated with a well presented cooked dish of your choice and they'll put on some back ground music too to smoothen the atmosphere. The hospitality of Barry & Sue was amazing and I will return to stay there again if I end of working in Leeds again. Yes, I travelled every day from Leeds to Shel (36 miles round) because it was that good instead of staying nearer to Leeds.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salim41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I recently stayed at Woodlands Guest House for one night and was made very welcome, everything you need from a B&B and very clean. Would definitely stay again but next time in the summer to see the garden!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I have stayed here now for a number of years and always been very happy - excellent food, clean rooms, good shower-rooms, friendly conversations, a house full of character, a beautiful garden - and was pleased to find on my recent visit that the same high standards are being maintained (and even an improved, free, broadband facility). Its nice to know that somethings don't change.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
2.5 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
4.2 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
5.5 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
2.9 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
2.9 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guest House

Property: Woodlands Guest House
Address: 2 The Grove | Shelf, Halifax HX3 7PD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands Guest House is a charming period property set in an extensive one acre woodland garden. It is the family home of the owners and has been lovingly renovated, furnished with care and fully modernised so central heating, good hot showers, Freeview and Wi-Fi make your stay comfortable. Situated half-way between Bradford and Halifax, close to the M62, yet tucked away up a private drive, it is a quiet retreat for business travellers and a good base for exploring Pennine scenery and walks. We offer full English breakfasts using local farm eggs and other produce, or a simpler fruit and cereal based breakfast, even porridge if you ask us! There are good pubs serving evening meals just minutes away, or all the wonderful curry houses of Bradford a few miles up the road. If you stay with us, you stay as a guest in our home. Our service is friendly and we try to meet your personal needs if you let us know in advance. We are unable to accommodate pets or small children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Woodlands Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Guest House Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing