We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull views”
Review of Crossroads Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crossroads Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Halifax B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kinross Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Wonderfull views”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The location of this Inn, high up on the moors, provides great views over the surrounding countryside and is an ideal base for any walkers or anyone visiting Halifax who wants to "Get away from it all".
The room we stayed in, although very well decorated and furnished, was very small, I would describe it as a large single room with a double bed in it, two people cannot move around in it at the same time. This said, the room was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfortable.
Breakfast was excellent. Peter And Jayne were both very warm and helpful and made the effort to ensure our stay was a pleasant one.

Room Tip: Ask for their largest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    23
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
60
61
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

over the last few months we have used this country inn high above Halifax, it might appear remote, but it on a bus service. Bed and Breakfast, Rooms always spotless, breakfast the choice
is excellent as much as you can eat. Evening meals vary but the hotel trys hard to keep a good standard, when returning tird from work if you only want a light meal that is fine. Parking safe as cameras watch the open car park. two good ground floor rooms if you do not manage stairs well this is a cosy country pub hotel

Room Tip: steep staircase, but 2 good downstairs rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We had a lovely stay at The Crossroads Inn where the service was very good and we were made to feel very welcome. The room was spotless (very good selection of biscuits) and the food was excellent. Staying away with the dog for the first time we were worried we might have to leave her in the room but there was no need as the pub and restaurant are big enough for both dog lovers and non-dog lovers to sit and eat and relax. There is also a large beer garden so in summer it would be great to sink a beer in the sun with the dog.
The area around the pub has some great little walks which were suitable for a small dog and two unfit adults but it also looked like there were some more challenging walks for the more adventurous.
All in all we had such a relaxing stay that returning to home and work after the weekend was a bit of a shock. We hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Occasionaltrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Have stayed 5 times at the Crossroads Inn, will be back many more times. The welcome is very warm, beautiful real ales on tap, loyalty cards are now FULL, the menu caters for all; the "Mini Grill" came on a large platter, plenty of meat absolutely delicious, only wish I had taken a photo of it. The accommodation is the best ever, dreamy soft beds, immaculately presented, all the usual facilities plus free chocolates, biscuits, and REAL milk for the tea and coffee. The early morning breakfast service is also very much appreciated. Will return with my family end of this month. Looking forward to the stay again.

Room Tip: All 6 rooms are excellent!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesStride113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We (3 of us) have just had a meal, outside in the beer garden at the back of the Inn (making the most of the rare sunshine Bank Holiday). We were told to try it by my step-son and his wife who I might add are very particular about food and service as they run a restaurant themselves! We were really glad we did, the food was perfect and the staff really friendly and great service. The inside had lovely atmosphere too for when the weather isn't as good! We will be definitely going back as soon as possible. And we consider ourselves 'spoilt' for choice being from Haworth!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sequinn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Excellent stay. The staff were very attentive and friendly. Accommodation comfortable and very clean. We ate in the restaurant and found the food both reasonable and good quality. The crossroads inn is a great place to stay for walking, or for sight seeing> Haworth is a well worth a visit and only a few miles away.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful place, you really couldn't ask for more. I can honestly say I've not stayed in a more comfortable place. Peter and Jayne are great hosts too who more than aim to please. We have just stayed two nights. Both nights we stayed in and ate at the pub- there was no reason to go anywhere else. Excellent meals on both occasions. The breakfast makes you feel full all day - I have only experienced breakfast like that in a hotel once before in Sark. If you are leaving early as we did they arrange a tray for you too. Breathtaking views! Perfect for exploring Bronte country. The locals are very friendly and use the pub for meals as well as their local, always a good sign I think. Keep smiling Peter! :-)

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Blondie1558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
3.4 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
284 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
3.5 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
370 reviews
3.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
5.8 mi away
The Rock Hotel
The Rock Hotel
#10 of 10 in Halifax
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossroads Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossroads Inn

Property: Crossroads Inn
Address: West Hill Road, Mount Tabor Road | Wainstalls, Halifax HX2 7TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crossroads Inn has recently been totally refurbished throughout and now offers a comfortable dining environment and relaxed bar area. Set on the Pennine Moors between Halifax, Haworth and Hebden Bridge with breathtaking views of the Yorkshire valleys. The Crossroads Inn has what everyone looks for in a good quality establishment. We serve good home cooked food each day as well as a daily specials board where local produce and fresh food is top of our priorities, along with our Sunday lunches and children's menu. The Crossroads has six en suite bed & breakfast rooms with coffee making facilities, flat screen TVs and free WI-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Crossroads Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crossroads Inn Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing