We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“D & K”
Review of Crossroads Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crossroads Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Halifax B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, United Kingdom
1 review
“D & K”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Excellent overnight stay, great room tastefully furnished with beautiful view. Very impressed with the food and the welcome, nothing was too much trouble. We needed a relaxing break and this was just the place, so much so we have booked to go back

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    144
    23
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
60
61
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

After a beautiful walk through the surrounding area of Halifax my friend and I called for lunch.
I love good beer and was not disappointed.
What a treat it is to see well kept cask ale being pulled. A first class pint from the landlady set us up for a tasty light lunch served retro style in the basket. Very reasonably priced, friendly staff in a wonderful location.
I can only think if you were stopping a couple of nights you would have a great time.

Room Tip: Please note we did not stay the night and are reviewing the pub only. But on the basis of the quali...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hywel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed here very much as a last minute choice. My wife's work takes her all over the country north of the Humber to John'O Groats - so it was with great relief we arrived to fi9nd out what a really good place this is. It was warm and hazy and the view from the Crossroads in any direction was wonderful - you would not know Halifax and Bradford were minutes away. Step into the bar and you are welcomed in a friendly and engaging way - it's not put on, it's genuine. You are shown up to your room which is spotless and very well appointed; generously sized ensuite bathrooms with bath and separate shower. Settle in with some real ale and cherck the menu and special's board. The Crossroads offers a wide selection of honest-to-goodness tasty pub fare, amazing mid-week offers, in pleasant surroundings and you are looked after by friendly staff. If you stay the night - do because the beds are very comfortable, the breakfast is excellent and offered at a time to suit you - v. civilised. We left knowing we would go back - we booked another night.

Room Tip: Ask to see what's available and take your pick - they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackwesty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pee,l Isle of Man
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

I visited the Crossroads Inn on 21st June 2013, and found a nice clean Inn and very friendly staff.it was hard to find as it is way out of the way, but great views. the rooms had every thing you needed, the meals are fantastic and quite well priced, the only moan I had was the Malt Whiskey was a little over priced, I would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

we had a small double with shower,more than enough space to store clothes .Spotless clean.
we ate there at night in a group of 12.fantastic food very tasty .breakfast was included in the room price ,it was very good ,cereals ,toast ,yoghurt.jams ect .toast . full english ,fruit .what more could you ask for ,it was lovelly. The bar staff and all the other staff were lovelly .The hotel and dinning area has been done to a high standard ,the beds and pillows are lovelly .

Room Tip: request if you want a bath or shower or both ,they will happily supply if they have that room free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillynick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed for two nights whilst visiting family in the area. The refurbished accommodation has been done very tastefully and our room was quite spacious and spotless and had the benefit of a bath and a shower in the en-suite. The beds had the most comfortable pillows ever!
The owners and all the staff are extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We ate in the restaurant section of the bar and the food was very good. My husband is very finicky with his food but the chef went out of his way to accommodate him .
We will definitely stay again when we next visit.

Room Tip: We had room two on the ground floor which is a twin. A little noisy during the day but quiet at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We stayed again for a 2nd time as we were showing at the Halifax food festival. The room and comfort is just superb, the staff in the bar of this family run hotel/pub are very pleasant and lovely people. We got back to the hotel around 6pm and had a fantastic meal of a Tuna special with salad and a homemade meat pie and chips etc. We had no room for pudding as the portions are HUGE!!

We wil be staying again next year 100% and I would not recommend this place highly enough, despite its early teething issues when these people took over it really is a 1st class place to stay and quite reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
3.4 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
284 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
3.5 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
370 reviews
3.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
5.8 mi away
The Rock Hotel
The Rock Hotel
#10 of 10 in Halifax
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossroads Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossroads Inn

Property: Crossroads Inn
Address: West Hill Road, Mount Tabor Road | Wainstalls, Halifax HX2 7TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crossroads Inn has recently been totally refurbished throughout and now offers a comfortable dining environment and relaxed bar area. Set on the Pennine Moors between Halifax, Haworth and Hebden Bridge with breathtaking views of the Yorkshire valleys. The Crossroads Inn has what everyone looks for in a good quality establishment. We serve good home cooked food each day as well as a daily specials board where local produce and fresh food is top of our priorities, along with our Sunday lunches and children's menu. The Crossroads has six en suite bed & breakfast rooms with coffee making facilities, flat screen TVs and free WI-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Crossroads Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crossroads Inn Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing