We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, great views, well worth a detour!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crossroads Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crossroads Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Halifax B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great views, well worth a detour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We booked two rooms, as a family, because of previous good reviews and the Inn's location. It more than lived up to expectations! On arrival it was sunny enough to sit outside to enjoy good beer and glorious views. The owner and his friendly dogs captivated our granddaughter, which was a great start to our stay. It was lovely to have enough (fenced) space for small children to enjoy being outside. Check-in was easy, helpful and efficient and staff were very welcoming. We all ate very well! The adults enjoyed the well-kept Timothy Taylor Landlord. Beds were comfortable and rooms simply but well furnished. En suite bathrooms were clean and pleasant to use. The rooms seemed ideally suited to short stays as they are quite compact. On Sunday morning we found that the owner's adult children were in charge: their level of service and helpfulness was exemplary. So was the breakfast they served - including the best & sweetest cooked tomatoes we've eaten for ages! We had some problems with our car and the young staff on duty could not have been more helpful. Thanks to them, we made it to a key rendezvous and then home to Scotland. Highly recommended - we would return to enjoy the ambience and excellent, very friendly, service, as well as the views and walks.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank VFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    20
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
58
56
5
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lancs
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

I stayed here with my two daughters (10 & 12yrs) during a swimming competition at the local pool.
The family room was very comfortable and spotless.
The meals in the bar were delicious and plentiful. Even the meals on kids menu were large enough for my girls after swimming all day.
The staff are welcoming and friendly and we would definitely book here again.
The chocolate bars and fresh milk provided on arrival were a really nice touch.
We left early and received a generous breakfast to go.
Thanks for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allie-Bobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

This hotel is set out on its own and doesn't really appeal from the outside, but once inside it's a whole new story.
Immediately upon entering you are greeted by friendly helpful staff and nothing is too much trouble.
The rooms are very clean and the pub food beautifully cooked at reasonable prices.
You can also tell they take pride in their beer because it tastes so fresh.
By the end of our stay we felt very at home in this cosy English pub.
Well done.

Room Tip: We liked the ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annerob10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

We returned again today as we enjoyed it so much last time. Another wonderful staff member; friendly and helpful. Good beer, wonderfully innovative and tasty food made with quality ingredients. Great surroundings inside and out. Pleased to find this place.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank tabzmcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockerley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I was travelling on business with my partner and our two dogs, I booked directly with the Inn and when I explained that I had two dogs in tow, they very kindly offered to upgrade us to the family room for extra space at no extra charge :-).

On arrival we were shown to our room, which comprised of a king size and two single beds. It had all the amenities you would expect and beyond that they also supplied some dog treats for our canines! (well received by Tank & Teddy)

Jayne & Pete were the perfect hosts and always made time for conversation. The food is excellent and the portions are large (even for a 17 stoner like me!!)

Overall experience was extremely positive, good price, fantastic food, great atmosphere and a very friendly and efficient service.

Would definitely recommend (as I have to many colleagues)

Will definitely return

Mark & Caroline

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank markmitch1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester England
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

we recently attended a party in nearby Hebden Bridge and stayed one night at Crossroads. The staff were extremely helpful and welcoming; the room was lovely with water and even a bar of chocolate provided. Fresh milk was also available and the decor was modern, fresh, clean, comfortable and inviting.

The breakfast was superb- freshly cooked to order and excellent quality

I would definitely stay again and great value for money

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lambertruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Great food, great service. Manager real credit to the place. Knowledgeable, friendly and efficient as well as attentive. Ambiance lovely. Pork outdoor bred/reared and chicken and eggs free range. Glad we tried it.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tabzmcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne B, Owner at Crossroads Inn, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for your fabulous review. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
2.2 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
3.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Rock Hotel
The Rock Hotel
#10 of 10 in Halifax
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crossroads Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossroads Inn

Property: Crossroads Inn
Address: West Hill Road, Mount Tabor Road | Wainstalls, Halifax HX2 7TB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crossroads Inn has recently been totally refurbished throughout and now offers a comfortable dining environment and relaxed bar area. Set on the Pennine Moors between Halifax, Haworth and Hebden Bridge with breathtaking views of the Yorkshire valleys. The Crossroads Inn has what everyone looks for in a good quality establishment. We serve good home cooked food each day as well as a daily specials board where local produce and fresh food is top of our priorities, along with our Sunday lunches and children's menu. The Crossroads has six en suite bed & breakfast rooms with coffee making facilities, flat screen TVs and free WI-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Crossroads Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crossroads Inn Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing