We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2013

We booked this hotel to enjoy a break/rest and overall we were not disappointed.

The hotel is in a fine old building with a lot of period features, a nice reception area and attractive dining facilities.

Add to that good food and an exceptionally friendly team of staff and our stay was enjoyable.

We had a slight problem with our bed that was resolved satisfactorily and apart from a shortage of a couple of drink alternatives and slightly expensive wine I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
Thank you Ollie39 for reviewing Holdsworth House in Halifax, we appreciate you taking the time to feed back and share your comments. We are delighted that our historic setting was to your liking and that our team made you feel welcome. We do hope you'll return soon, perhaps on a Bronte Break to visit the famous Parsonage Museum at Haworth? Kind regards, the team at Holdsworth House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    160
    70
    28
    11
See reviews for
143
352
19
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

I have stayed at Holdsworth house many times for business and always look forward to a visit. It is a place of great charm and character where the welcome is always warm. It's refuge at the end of a busy day where you feel at ease either eating supper in front of the fire or having a wondeful dinner in the restaurant. The menu is imaginative with a strong accent on local produce and the service is excellent. The rooms and beds are comfortable. I recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Thank you so much Jane A for your review of Holdsworth House. We're really pleased that you always return here and enjoy the experience each time. We'll pass your comments round the team, who will be delighted to hear them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

Holdsworth House has so much to offer - Excellent food, Comfortable beds, great ambiance, friendly staff and no nonsense quality. My first overnight trip to Copley and a colleague receommended Holdsworth. Absolutely the right choice. Wouldn't even attempt to go anywhere else.

Room Tip: Receommend the Larger Double Rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikram A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Dear Vikram A, thank you for your review of Holdsworth House. We are of course delighted you chose us for your overnight stay and really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience here. We hope you'll be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Joined with family and friends for a 70th birthday celebration meal. What an absolute treat! A range of dishes from across the menu were chosen and not one of us were disappointed. Without exception the food was flavourful, perfectly cooked and presented, and it was great to have an extra plentiful supply of vegetables and roast potatoes placed on the table for guests to help themselves to. Service was friendly and attentive yet discreet, and special requests (hot chocolate) were obligingly met. This charming hotel is to be thoroughly recommended - a place to return to.

Room Tip: Restaurant visit only
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear Mary K thank you for taking the time to share your experience of Hldlsworth House on Tripadvisor. We are thrilled you had such an enjoyable evening as the team work so hard to make sure everyone has the best experience possible. We'll pass your comments on to the kitchen team and Chef who will be thoroughly chuffed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

I stayed friday and saturday night as part of a large party attending our friends' wedding. I was expecting great things as the hotel's website had recently been restyled and the hotel had gained its first entry into the Michelin Guide. And the hotel didn't disappoint. We arrived after very heavy snowfall in the early afternoon on the friday. Although I booked a single room I had a double bed in it but was adequately spacious. The decor was neutral whites and beiges so calming and heightened the cleanliness of the room. The bathroom had plenty of towels and a decent power shower over a bath. Toiletries were provided shampoo, shower gel and hand soap (so if you like using body moisturiser or you like to use a shower cap you need to bring your own)
We ordered food from the bar and all chose different appetiser platters of vegetable, fish and meat. All very tasty but could have been provided with larger helpings of bread although when we asked the waiter for more he was obliging. There were big open fires throughout the hotel so despite the snow outside it was cosy and warm. Outside, garden areas were very pretty even if it was all covered in 6 inches of snow, beautiful backdrops for wedding photos. With parts of the hotel having been built in 16th century there were plenty of original and historical features still remaining.
Nine of us dined in the evening together and between us chose a good selection of dishes across the menu, the fish and chips was particularly popular and very tasty as was the Barnsley chops and all portions were very generous. Cooked breakfast in the morning was delicious and not a hint of grease anywhere and a well stocked buffet was also available. The wedding day proceedings ran like clockwork and the ceremony room was beautifully decorated. The wedding dinner was cooked to perfection and chef was given an additional challenge of providing one guest a vegetarian, gluten-free menu which I was advised was tasty. Unfortunately, in the early hours of the morning the fire alarm sounded and despite being advised that it was a false alarm when we all assembled in reception, the duty member of staff could not reset the alarm as the key was not available. We could not return to our rooms to sleep as the noise was unbearable and a full half an hour passed by before staff managed to silence the alarm. This was very disappointing when everything up till then had been perfect.
Despite this I would return and thoroughly recommend this hotel. The staff were incredibly helpful and obliging, when guests were stranded at the hotel after heavy snowfall during a wedding on the friday, they allowed some of the guests to 'bunk' down in the bar areas until the next day. Choose this character filled, authentic and period hotel for its location if you want to explore the Yorkshire Moors, Bronte country and Halifax.

Room Tip: If you have mobility difficulties ask for a groundfloor room as there are no lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParlezView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear ParlezView thank you for your kind words about Holdsworth House and for staying with us whilst attending your friends' wedding. We are pleased that your experience matched your high expectations. We truly appreciated your patience during the fire alarm and are sure you understand that we cannot silence it and allow people to return to their rooms until we are 100% sure that it is safe to do so. The state of the art wifi fire alarm system has now been checked for any glitches but none have been found. Whilst it is very rare for the smoke and fire sensors to be tripped by something and cause the alarm to ring we are very sorry it disturbed your happy evening. We do of course have rigorous fire training in place and test the alarm regularly when the hotel is quiet to ensure it is in full working order. We would really love to welcome you again to experience what is usually Halifax's most peaceful night's sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

Well here we have a secret venue - so secret your Sat Nav won't find it! When you do find it - it's a nice venue up a drive with a car park. Park your car and some, and I emphasise some, of the receptionists will look down their nose at you and grant you admittance! You may get a glass of wine to sweeten the experience. The rooms are small and cramped - please explain why I need cushions and pillows when I have nowhere to put them? The flat screen TV's are so small it is like looking at a postage stamp! Then the food! Oh dear, a caper fruit does not a meal make. The food is excessively priced and grossly overrated. Presentation does not disguise small portions and inferior quality. I have a rule - if there are spelling mistakes on the menu - the food will be equally faulty and the "Tornado" of venison sums it up! - I will leave you to find the rest !! Someone here has aspirations beyond their station, premiums on the breakfast menu for certain dishes are unnecessary. Service is poor. Food is disappointing and accommodation is below Premier Inn.
I have to go back for a week and a chain hotel is a more tempting option and much much cheaper. The final decision is down to how much he car park costs!! Two rosettes? I dont think so - 1 next time at best - but forget the star you have NO chance. Sort out the food - it's simply too pretentious!

Room Tip: Rooms are small and cramped and don't order Kippers for breakfast or you will need a mortgage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timthetrainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 January 2013
Dear Timethetrainer thank you for your review at which we are disappointed. As an independently owned hotel we take any feedback to heart and our receptionists especially, who usually receive high praise, have been upset at your description. The team works tirelessly to ensure everyone is made to feel at home; usually guests find the free parking, free drink on arrival and character of the property elements that make Holdsworth House stand apart as the area's top hotel. Being an historic property the sizes of the bedrooms are not uniform but we're careful to offer varied prices and accurate room descriptions to our guests when booking, perhaps a House Double/twin would have been more to your liking. With regards to the food we are upset to hear you found it pretentious - our prices reflect the fact that dishes are homemade, cooked to order and use fresh, locally sourced ingredients and so consequently we offer something much different to a budget hotel. The two restaurant Rosettes have been independently assessed and awarded by the rigorous AA inspectors for the past 14 consecutive years, who feel that Holdsworth House offers value for money and a solution for Halifax guests looking for something delicious and special. Thank you for highlighting any spelling error on our menu, we will review it (although venison is not something that we have recently served in our restaurant).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

When working in Halifax I always stay at Holdsworth House and encourage my colleagues to do likewise. Wonderful food and an extensive wine list complement the cosy, character filled surroundings. Each room is slightly different so you never quite know what you will get - but all are of a high standard. A culture of friendliness and warm efficiency is demonstrated by every member of staff, regardless of thie role. Always a pleasure.....

Room Tip: The little suites are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Dear Gill W, thank you for your wonderful review of Holdsworth House and for always choosing us and recommdending the hotel - we really do appreciate it. As 2013 is our 50th anniversary as a leading, independent hotel, please look out for our Golden Label special offers and packages throughout the year as we'd love to see you agian soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
2.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
3.2 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
#1 of 1 in Gildersome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
4.2 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Holdsworth, Halifax HX2 9TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax's only four-star hotel is now listed in the 2013 Michelin Guide along with the country's elite hotels & restaurants. Holdsworth House is a beautiful Jacobean manor built in 1633, which has been owned and run by the Pearson family for 50 years. The manor stands in stunning, secluded gardens and is just three miles north of Halifax. It feels a world apart from the bustle of everyday life and is a perfect choice for accommodation, weddings and conferences. In this beautiful old house you'll find open fires, cosy lounges, fine antiques and tapestries that create a sense of history and comfort. The 39 charming bedrooms are all ensuite and have all been individually furnished. Dinner is served by candlelight in the 17th Century, oak-paneled 2 AA Rosette-winning restaurant whilst the Long Bar has a simpler brasserie style menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holdsworth House Hotel And Restaurant
Holdsworth Hotel Halifax
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing