We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Superb!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2013

We recently celebrated our wedding with our Reception at Holdsworth House. The venue at Holdsworth House is beautiful, the food is excellent and all the staff were friendly, and went above and beyond to make the day perfect. We cannot thank them enough and would highly recommend Holdsworth House as restaurant, hotel and wedding venue!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SEMGwynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thank you SEMGynne for your review of Holdsworth House. We were very excited to be part of your special day. Every wedding here is so wonderful and unique it makes each day incredible for us too! Many congratulations and we look forward to seeing you again soon. From everyone here at Holdsworth House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    160
    70
    28
    11
See reviews for
143
352
19
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

A comfortable cosy hotel, with beautifully designed romantic rooms and suites. Communal areas with real fires, lots of nooks and crannies, with comfortable chairs at every turn. The Jacobean built manor is steeped in history. The grounds were lovingly tended and topiaried. Would be an excellent venue for wedding reception ~ only thing to be considered is the evening a la carte menu was limited, I ended up having a burger! Albeit a lovely quality lamb one! The breakfast more than made up for it though!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HayleyLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you HayleyLincoln for your review of Holdsworth House. We're delighted you loved the history and character of the place. We change our a la carte menu seasonally to reflect what's fresh and available, so we'll pass your feedback on to chef. If you have any suggestions on what you'd like to see on there please send them to us on email: info(at)holdsworthhouse.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2013

Arriving late one afternoon having come through the unexpected cold snowy weather, the arrival at Holdsworth House could not have been more welcoming. Walking into the paneled hallway with the burning wood fire was so atmospheric and warming.
Friendly staff show me to my room which had all you needed and deep duvets with cotton covers and sheets.
Dinner that evening - in front of the fire - was excellent. Attentive staff and excellent food.

Rooms all very clean and quiet and a bonus to have a tray of coffee or tea for early morning.

In all a very good stay and I will be coming back when this way next.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJW50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you PJW50 for your review of a snowy Holdsworth House. We're lucky that even in the snow Holdsworth House looks stunning! We shall ensure our reception team hear that their warm welcome was very well received. We do hope you'll return soon, perhaps then you can see the gardens in full bloom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

Me and my wife got married at Holdsworth house Feb 2012, I have only just got round to writing this review. So I apologise.

We had looked at other venues and they didnt seem to fit and when I mentioned Holdsworth house to my wife, we went for a look and fell in love with the place.

If they modernised the decoration it would lose the value of the hotel. We did the pain free package, and we had issues with the numbers etc. All in all the staff were lovely, friendly and a pleasure throughout.

The food was fantastic, our photographer took us for photos away from the venue and everyone was well looked after with canapes etc.

The evening was a roaring success only. Thank you so much for making our day as perfect as it could be.

If I was hyper critical, the bar in the middle room isnt quite big enough, so when you have 130 wanting a drink it is tough and also, the DJ wasn't the best, it would appear you use a company who sends a DJ out of a pool of 3 or 4. But, that doesnt and won't distract from a wonderful day.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Dear Alan S congratulations on your marriage and thank you for choosing Holdsworth House as your venue. We are delighted your day was as wonderful as expected. In recent months we have enlarged the Long Bar bar area as much as possible to offer more space for guests wanting extra drinks pre the wedding breakfast. Of course once wedding breakfasts have commenced guests have use of the large bar area in Stuart Room. We shall feed your comments on the DJ back to the company we use to ensure that we offer the best possible suppliers everywhere we can. Thank you very much for providing us with this feedback. Kind regards and congratulations once more, the team at Holdsworth House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013

We stayed a this hotel at the beginning of March due to a family wedding reception being held there.

Rooms were excellent - we booked the house doubles as we had read that the small doubles were very small.

A bonus with the hotel was that we could take our dog with us which meant no kennels were required. Much better all round for us and the dog!

Breakfast was excellent and we ate in the bar for our evening meals as again we could then take the dog in with us.

Choice of food was first class and we can wholeheartedly recommend the fish and chips - Yummy. Breakfasts also very good with plenty of choice.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaD186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you for your review of Holdsworth House, we are delighted that you loved the hotel. Please do pass on your recommendation to family and friends who haven't yet visited. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

I've stayed at Holdsworth House on business twice now and each time have been very impressed with it. All the staff are wonderful and provide excellent service, really going out of their way to help you. The rooms have always been of a very high standard and are always spotlessly clean. The food has also been excellent at both breakfast and dinner. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here personally or to recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear Martin D thank you for continuing to choose Holdsworth House for your business trips and long may they continue! It is our pleasure to accommodate you each time and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Warmest regards from the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

BUYER BEWARE! I booked to stay in a suite, and on booking.com, and on the hotel web-site, the bed was described as a 'luxurious double.' Therefore, I was expecting a large double bed. However, the beds in the suites are not even double beds, but 3/4 double beds, or 'Queen' size beds as they are officially known. Great if you were a member of The Borrowers...

I informed reception who were very helpful and moved us to a smaller room with a much larger bed, and charged me for the smaller room.

However I felt so disappointed, since what was a surprise for my wife was ruined, that we did not go to breakfast, we just got up and left the hotel and had breakfast elsewhere.

I am airline crew and spend many-a-night in hotels, and feel that this accommodation is overpriced. After-all, the main function of a hotel is to provide a good nights sleep, and providing a 3/4 size double for two people is a total fail.

Sadly when staying in the area, I will be finding alternative accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetstreamaviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 March 2013
Dear jetstreamaviator thank you for staying at Holdsworth House. We are very sorry you were disappointed with the size of mattress in your first room. We have investigated and the mattress is in fact a standard double. Our beds are selected to fit into the varying room layouts of this listed building and we are keen to describe our rooms accurately. Your booking was made through an online travel agent and we have revisited this to ensure each room type is correctly described. We'd recommend guests book direct with us for the best rates, cancellation policy and so we can input special requests straight into our system. We do hope you'll return and we can ensure your specific requirements are met first time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
2.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
3.2 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
#1 of 1 in Gildersome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
4.2 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Holdsworth, Halifax HX2 9TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax's only four-star hotel is now listed in the 2013 Michelin Guide along with the country's elite hotels & restaurants. Holdsworth House is a beautiful Jacobean manor built in 1633, which has been owned and run by the Pearson family for 50 years. The manor stands in stunning, secluded gardens and is just three miles north of Halifax. It feels a world apart from the bustle of everyday life and is a perfect choice for accommodation, weddings and conferences. In this beautiful old house you'll find open fires, cosy lounges, fine antiques and tapestries that create a sense of history and comfort. The 39 charming bedrooms are all ensuite and have all been individually furnished. Dinner is served by candlelight in the 17th Century, oak-paneled 2 AA Rosette-winning restaurant whilst the Long Bar has a simpler brasserie style menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holdsworth House Hotel And Restaurant
Holdsworth Hotel Halifax
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing