We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful weekend”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

my son got married last weekend,could not wish for a better place for the event,the staff could not do enough for you, the food was excellent,the grounds were pristine,rooms were very clean,if not a bit on the small side,but a very comfy bed,will be returning just to enjoy the brill food.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
Thank you Notynot for your review of Holdsworth House and for choosing our historic hotel for your son's wedding. We're already looking forward to you returning - try our Yorkshire on a Fork events for more fabulous food!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    162
    70
    28
    11
See reviews for
148
357
19
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Was a very relaxing night away, with quiet and comfortable room, lovely four poster bed, terrific a la carte meal in the restaurant ( though the vegetarian options are limited and the veggie portions not very substantial) ... Overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Room 30 was nice ad quiet with a four poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Hello Graham W and thank you for reviewing Holdsworth House on Tripadvisor. We appreciate you choosing our historic hotel for your accommodation and we will certainly pass your comments to chef regarding the vegetarian options in time for the new menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We are regular, but not particularly frequent guests at the Holdsworth and, once again, our stay was faultless. As always, the room was fantastic, the staff were brilliant from the moment we arrived up to the minute we reluctantly dragged ourselves away and our evening meal in the restaurant was outstanding.

I'm looking forward to our next visit already!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SGP1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear SGP1105 what better recommendation can there be than from someone who chooses our hotel and then returns time and time again. We truly appreciate your business and hope that we can continue to provide top class accommodation for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2013

Stayed for one night whilst travelling on business - I spend a lot of time in hotels and this was by far the best hotel I have stayed in while on business. The staff were extremely helpful and polite. The food was exceptional quality and well worth the price.

If I have to be in Halifax in the future I'll be staying at Holdsworth House Hotel for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DawnT752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you DawnT752 for taking the time to share your positive experience of Holdsworth House here. We really appreciate you choosing our historic hotel for your business trip to Halifax and of course we'd be delighted if you continue to use the hotel for future business accommodation. All the best from everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

You could not find a better venue for your wedding. My son's wedding was perfect. The food was amazing, the hotel, the rooms and grounds are beautiful and the staff cannot do enough for you.They work hard to ensure that everything runs smoothly and efficiently while being friendly and polite.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MayWYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Dear MayWYork we are thrilled that everyone in your party enjoyed your son's wedding. We want every single wedding and event at Holdsworth House to feel extra special for the people who are celebrating - that is why you choose us after all. So we are thoroughly satisfied that our aims continue to be met. Warm regards from the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at the Holdsworth house hotel for one night in early March. We had booked one of the suites so that our daughter could share with us. Unfortunate there was a small problem with the hot water in the room but the hotel staff handled the situation very well. They offered my daughter her own room (which was beautiful), fixed the problem with ours and gave us complementary drinks. Problems do occur in hotels but the staff here were excellent. The breakfast as usual was very good and we will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somerset4660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you Somerset4660 for sharing your positive experience of Holdsworth House and for your patience whilst we fixed the issue with the water - we are pleased this did not spoil your stay in any way. We are already looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards from the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

After 12 years together, me and my Kieron decided to book our wedding (22nd March 2013). With Holdsworth House being a place really close to our hearts there wasn't any question where we would have our day & evening reception. Both Kieron's Mum and late Grandma being employees of the Hotel being the main reason. Kierons Mum (Rose) has been part of the hotel for many years and has always spoke highly of the place...The place is beautiful, from the beams as you walk in to the four poster bed in the bridal suite-we couldn't have asked for a better day. Claire (The wedding coordinator) was a huge help from start to finish and just knew the solutions to the areas where I wasn't sure-I tried not to pester her to much but she was always there when I needed her and always responded quickly. Tracy (The toastmaster) was amazing-being a friend of the family, I was excited for her to do her magic on the day! She was brilliant and we were really lucky to have there both as a Toasmaster & a guest-she's a credit to Holdsworth house. The whole day from start to finish was miles better than I could ever have imagined-the snow fell down really heavy but it didn't cause any problems at all-we actually ended up in 7 national newspapers and our local newspaper (Evening courier) because of it!
Kieron often uses Holdsworth House for his european business clients and they're always happy with the service they receive.
We look forward to coming again-possibly Christmas day with the family and most definitely our 1st Year wedding anniversary. Once again, thank you to all the staff-Claire, Tracy, the chef and kitchen staff, the waiters/waitresses (Particularly Alisha who was lovely-literally couldn't do enough for us) the bar staff-literally everyone! We had an amazing day & night & if I could do it all over again I would have done it all exactly how it was. Thanks a million! Kerrie Kendell

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 April 2013
Thank you so much Kerrie for your review. Although you are familiar with the hotel and the team here, we are very grateful to you for choosing Holdsworth House - we don't take any business for granted. Your kind words will of course be passed on to the team, who were each delighted to take part in your special day. Congratulations from everyone here and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
2.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
3.3 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
364 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
271 reviews
10.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
#1 of 1 in Gildersome
453 reviews
17.1 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Holdsworth, Halifax HX2 9TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax's only four-star hotel is now listed in the 2013 Michelin Guide along with the country's elite hotels & restaurants. Holdsworth House is a beautiful Jacobean manor built in 1633, which has been owned and run by the Pearson family for 50 years. The manor stands in stunning, secluded gardens and is just three miles north of Halifax. It feels a world apart from the bustle of everyday life and is a perfect choice for accommodation, weddings and conferences. In this beautiful old house you'll find open fires, cosy lounges, fine antiques and tapestries that create a sense of history and comfort. The 39 charming bedrooms are all ensuite and have all been individually furnished. Dinner is served by candlelight in the 17th Century, oak-paneled 2 AA Rosette-winning restaurant whilst the Long Bar has a simpler brasserie style menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holdsworth House Hotel And Restaurant
Holdsworth Hotel Halifax
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing