We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service given to us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We booked to stay one night, having seen a promotion on the web site, which included evening meal, drink and breakfast. Upon arrival every member of staff were friendly, very efficient and helpful and this carried on throughout our stay paying particular attention to us when dining - and for that we thank you all as it definitely made our stay extra special.

The evening meal was amazing, everything cooked to perfection (steak) and pudding (I had the poached pear) was truly divine! and also came quickly and hot. There was a vast assortment at breakfast to choose from and the the cooked breakfast came quickly and again was fantastic.

The hotel gardens are a little smaller than I thought, but well kept. We stayed in room 30 which had a 4 poster bed which was very comfortable.

The only thing we noticed was that some of the decor such as seating cushions around the house needed updating or replacing and maybe the carpet in our bedroom.

We would recommend this quaint and unique house.

Room Tip: We asked if we were not placed next to a family room as we were away from our children for a relaxin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2013

Thank you Nicola M for reviewing Holdsworth House. We are pleased you had an excellent stay and we'll pass the feedback on to chef and the team who will be equally delighted the food went down a storm. As a family owned hotel we take exceptional pride in offering a high quality guest experience and so we have a program of ongoing replacement and updating of furnishings. We are very keen to ensure the historic house does not lose its charm but also offers the most comfortable and ship shape stay that our discerning guests expect. We have refurbished several bedrooms this year already and added new armchairs to the restaurant seating area; so guests can be assured the hotel is very well maintained. Thanks again and see you soon we hope.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (931)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

626 - 632 of 931 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2013

I Just loved this hotel. It has a wonderful history that is everywhere you see as you walk through this charming property. I think you get a true sense of being in yorkshire in its most idyllic form. I loved the full englush breakfast every morning and then sitting by the coal fire in the bar at the end of a chilly day. The room was impeccable and very comfortable. The staff were polite and helpful. I woukd definitely recommend this hotel and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Dear Mandy S it was lovely of you to write so fondly of Holdsworth House. We were pleased you made our hotel your base for visiting Yorkshire, we're very proud to have such an historic hotel that guests can share in,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

What a lovely property. I was recently here on business and found this place to be equally charming and appropriately secluded. The service and attentiveness of the staff was fantastic. The food was among the best I have had anywhere in the UK. Lots of great options for dining as well as admirable beverages. I'd highly recommend this place, although it is not easy to get to. However, that may be a good thing.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Thank you chocxtc for staying at Holdsworth House whilst on business. We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with others. We hope you come back to stay soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We had a midweek break at this stunning hotel, the staff were most helpful and attentive. The breakfasts and evening meals were delicious with plenty of choice from the menus in both the restaurant and the Long Bar. Our bedroom was well equipped and the bed was enormous and so comfy. All in all a delightful stay in a magnificent setting, we shall certainly return. Thank you all.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jjlaunchbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Thank you so much for recommending our Halifax hotel. The team is thrilled you loved your stay so please return soon for more short breaks in Yorkshire!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I used this hotel on recommendation from a colleague. A group of 7 of us stayed here for 1 night after a charity event that we did on behalf of the business I work for. Pulling in the drive you instantly get the feeling of quality even with the overcast day. Parking was simple and righ by the doors and on walking in all the staff were perfectly lovely and welcoming, even though we all looked bedraggled and covered in mud from our event. Check in was simple and made so much nicer with a complimentary glass of wine which was the perfect way to check in an unwind. The staff made thew whole process very simple and personable which is something you don't always get and I stay at many hotels with work. The rooms were all beautiful and had obviously all been individually styled to give you that 'im at home' feeling. We did not eat in the evening however had breakfast which was cooked exactly to your specifications and there was no need for you to even leave your seat unless you faniced a glass of fruit juice or a croissant. The restaurant and bar were lovely and clean and the food was of excellent quality. Again all the breakfast staff were jolly and helpful, even at 7am. The grounds were beautiful and I would truly say it would make an amazing wedding venue. Thoroughly enjoyed the stay, definitely going back again when next in Halifax.

Room Tip: The only consideration is if you have a lot of luggage or disabled needs to chose a ground floor sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear Christopher M, firstly thank you for choosing Holdsworth House, we were really pleased to have your group staying with us. Let's hope you make it back to Yorkshire soon! All the best from the team here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I have stayed here with colleagues several times. The hotel is charming with a relaxing atmosphere and the staff are extremely friendly. The hotel is very clean with comfortable beds and quality bedding. The food is good and well presented.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nabil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Thank you Nabil J for your kind words and for sharing your experience with fellow travelers. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I stayed here for one night on business and thought it was absolutely charming. I checked in at 7pm and was offered a complimentary glass of wine which was a nice surprise! My room had velux windows and just felt really individual and I had a great nights sleep! Breakfast was cooked to order and whilst service was not as smooth, it was delicious! I would stay again and wished I'd had longer! I can't fault the service especially the lovely cheerful girls on reception.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
Thank Jackie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear Jackie L, thank you for staying with us during your business trip, we really do hope you'll come back for a longer stay next time. Kind regards from the team here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
2.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
3.3 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Halifax
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
4.3 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
335 reviews
2.5 mi away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Holdsworth, Halifax HX2 9TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £88 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax's only four-star hotel is now listed in the 2013 Michelin Guide along with the country's elite hotels & restaurants. Holdsworth House is a beautiful Jacobean manor built in 1633, which has been owned and run by the Pearson family for 50 years. The manor stands in stunning, secluded gardens and is just three miles north of Halifax. It feels a world apart from the bustle of everyday life and is a perfect choice for accommodation, weddings and conferences. In this beautiful old house you'll find open fires, cosy lounges, fine antiques and tapestries that create a sense of history and comfort. The 39 charming bedrooms are all ensuite and have all been individually furnished. Dinner is served by candlelight in the 17th Century, oak-paneled 2 AA Rosette-winning restaurant whilst the Long Bar has a simpler brasserie style menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holdsworth House Hotel And Restaurant
Holdsworth Hotel Halifax
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing