We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely breakfast but disappointing service and noisy room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely breakfast but disappointing service and noisy room”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stayed at the hotel for a wedding and our room which was apparently one of the nicer (more expensive) ones faced the hotel entrance/car park and was incredibly noisy. After being woken up at 7.30 am by noisy housekeeping staff shouting to each other I went out to reception to tell them and they didn't apologise. They said they would see what had caused it... After the breakfast (which was lovely but not very friendly) we asked what had caused the noise and the same people just said they didn't know. Overall, it definitely wasn't worth the money, the house was very pretty and the food nice but if I can't get a good nights sleep in a hotel then its not really worth it for me.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 9
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liza351351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Liza351351 we are sorry to hear that your sleep was disturbed by noise. Thank you for raising this as a concern again; we will investigate with the team as to what happened on this occasion since this is not in keeping with our usually discreet service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    568
    170
    72
    29
    12
See reviews for
152
381
20
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We would never had found the place without Satnav.... but was it worth it? YES!

Lovely surroundings very friendly staff and quiet(most of the time).

We had the Arton Suite.... Unusual in that the bed was upstairs.It was very comfy if a little cosy.

Our meal was superb. A very tasty steak and a good old barnsley chop. The chips were absolutely yummie!.

It was hot so we slept with the window open, to be woken up every now and again, by people slamming car doors in the car park. Otherwise all was good.

We would certainly stay again....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 July 2013
Dear Gary L thank you for taking the time to review Holdsworth House. We hope you'll return again for another leisurely break; we will have some good offers on winter warming breaks to show another side to Holdsworth House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

We stayed for two nights with a toddler. The room was clean and tidy with classic decor. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Our toddler enjoyed the maze in the garden.

The food was good, perhaps a bit pricey. The breakfast could be more impressive, with a standard english breakfast, and a less than impressive continental it could more options to stand out. E.g. cappuccino maker was broken, fruit juices were from concentrate, bread was standard white or brown, rather than home made.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexb_trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 July 2013
Dear alexb_trip thank you for your review of your stay back in April, we appreciate your feedback. We are pleased to say that the broken cappuccino maker has since been replaced by a new and better machine for all types of modern day coffees. We will feed your comments back to chef as part of our ongoing guest experience check.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My recent stay at Holdsworth House Hotel could not have been better! The hotel itself was charming and my room was delightful. During my stay, there was a wedding on each day, but each one was skilfully managed by the staff and guests not involved in the celebrations were able to enjoy the quiet atmosphere and surroundings of the hotel. All the staff were extremely helpful and very friendly, and all worked incredible hard to ensure everyone had an enjoyable stay or event. I was especially impressed by the receptionist, Mikhaila, the manager Phil and the restaurant manager, Kat, for whom nothing was too much trouble. Also had two excellent meals in the restaurant. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wanderer016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Wanderer016 thank you for staying with us, we appreciate every guest choosing our historic hotel whether it is for s short break, wedding or dinner out. We hope you'll look us up again when you're in need of some relaxation and TLC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

A lovely, hotel with lots of small, public rooms which makes it very cosy.
The staff on reception couldn't have been more helpful.
I wouldn't exactly call it a 'country hotel' as it backs onto a housing estate, but there are lovely country walks and a reservoir nearby.
I would certainly consider staying again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heather h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear HeatherH thank you for choosing Holdsworth House and for sharing your review on Tripadvisor. We hope you'll mention us to family and friends who are looking for accommodation in West Yorkshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I can not fault this hotel. Everything was of the highest order. From the cleanliness of the rooms to the comfortable beds from the fantastic food to the very helpful professional staff.so if you want to loose yourself in old world charm, then look no further.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 800Richard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Thank you 800Richard, we are honoured to have our guests rate us as the best hotel in Yorkshire. Thank you for staying at our historic manor and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Booked this as a value weekend away with a voucher from Amazon Local and it exceeded our expectations.

From the excellent 7 course taster menu on the evening of our arrival, to the champagne cream tea we had the next day. We were going to eat out on the evening of the second day, but as the food had been that good we decided to stay and eat in the the restaurant again.

A understandably popular wedding venue, there were 2 on while we were there but this did not detract from the service or quality of the food we were served.

It may be a bit off the beaten track but worth a visit and surprisingly rural.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Kevin M thank you very much for your review. We are thrilled when new guests discover our hotel and have a wonderful stay. We hope hull come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
2.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
3.3 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
369 reviews
4.3 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
5.7 mi away
The White Lion Hotel
The White Lion Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hebden Bridge
379 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#7 of 10 in Halifax
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Holdsworth, Halifax HX2 9TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax's only four-star hotel is now listed in the 2013 Michelin Guide along with the country's elite hotels & restaurants. Holdsworth House is a beautiful Jacobean manor built in 1633, which has been owned and run by the Pearson family for 50 years. The manor stands in stunning, secluded gardens and is just three miles north of Halifax. It feels a world apart from the bustle of everyday life and is a perfect choice for accommodation, weddings and conferences. In this beautiful old house you'll find open fires, cosy lounges, fine antiques and tapestries that create a sense of history and comfort. The 39 charming bedrooms are all ensuite and have all been individually furnished. Dinner is served by candlelight in the 17th Century, oak-paneled 2 AA Rosette-winning restaurant whilst the Long Bar has a simpler brasserie style menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holdsworth House Hotel And Restaurant
Holdsworth Hotel Halifax
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing