We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights for my son's wedding which was held at the hotel. The building is beautiful, full of character, extremely clean and the service was efficient, breakfast was delicious, gluten free bread was available on demand for guests that required it, without prior warning to the hotel. The grounds are beautiful and the ample seating areas and small lounges within the hotel were charming. We had a suite on the ground floor which was delightful, the bed was extremely comfortable, the room was quiet and nicely furnished. The entire stay from beginning to end went without a fault or hitch and the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. I highly recommend this hotel and staff and thank them for contributing to the total success of our son and daughter-in-law's wedding day. 20.9.13.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 September 2013
Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your experience of Holdsworth House here. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and your son's wedding so much, we aim to please!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    160
    70
    28
    11
See reviews for
143
352
19
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
98 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

We have just enjoyed an overnight stay with friends at the delightful Holdsworth House. The rooms were nicely decorated and spotlessly clean, the public areas are welcoming with lovely log fires and the service from checking in to dining in the restaurant was second to none with nothing being too much trouble. The afternoon tea was delightful, the sandwiches were lovely and fresh and the cake selection was varied. The dinner menu was as good as one would have to choose from in any high class establishment and the food itself was delicious. The same can also be said for the freshly cooked breakfast. There was also a wedding taking place but unlike other hotels we have stayed in, the wedding party was in a completely separate area and in no way affected the stay of other hotel guests. Overall, both our friends and ourselves had a fantastic time and hopefully it won't be too long before we return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nurse1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you nurse1980 for your review of Holdsworth House. We are delighted you had a lovely stay and Chef will be happy to have his team's efforts so highly praised. We look forward to welcoming you again soon - keep an eye on our Facebook page or website for offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Went here for a wedding and stayed over night in one of the double rooms. Although there were too many pillows (!) and half the room had a majorly slanted ceiling, the the rest of our time there was excellent. The décor and layout of the entire place was really nice, and the gardens were amazing. The breakfast included the best scrambled eggs I've ever tasted, and the staff (well, most of) were really friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-slanty roof one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jumbaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear Jamie G thanks for taking time to write up your experience. We really appreciate your feedback and hope that you'll return again, as you know the scrambled eggs alone are worth it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights while guests at a wedding. When we arrived, at midnight, the first impressions were of a somewhat tired venue, and we felt we might have arrived somewhere that was struggling and cutting costs. However, from breakfast the next day (one served in our bedroom) it was clear that the hotel uses good quality ingredients and provides efficient friendly service.
The wedding was well organised and the wedding breakfast was good.
The hotel communal areas are well kept and pleasant with a pretty garden. Our bedroom was spotless and thoroughly serviced during our stay. I would say that having a bedroom on the ground floor was noisy, and no drinking water was supplied, although it was provided on request.
And you do get a nice cuppa with the soft water in Yorkshire!

Room Tip: Upstairs may be less noisy than the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fussy_People
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for staying at Holdsworth House, we are delighted you discovered the hotel a pleasant stay. As Halifax's top-rated hotel and an important historic building, we are pleased to be busy with new and regular guests. As you have seen, far from struggling or cutting costs, we have an exciting ongoing plan of development, team training and upkeep for our unique property. So we hope that you will keep us on your 'must return' list.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

Arrived at 11.30 so we had ample time to get ready for the 1.00 wedding. At 12.30 we were still in reception waiting for the room to become available. The staff informed us that the rooms weren't actually offered until 2.00pm. No good if you arent dressed for a wedding that starts at 1.00! Unfortunately, this wasn't relayed to us at the time of booking otherwise we would have arrived later and dressed for the wedding! At 12.45 I insisted we have somewhere to change and ended up in the beauty treatment room, not ideal. On a good note, the food was lovely and the hotel and gardens were beautiful. The room was very nice and the large comfortable bed had the best duvet, pillows and covers I have ever had in a hotel.

Room Tip: Dont arrive before 2.00pm as youre not guaranteed to check in before then.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LuluH1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Dear LuluH1904 thank you for taking the time to review Holdsworth House, we are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry that the 2pm check in time as not made clear. Our booking confirmations do have the check in time listed, but we will look at it to see if it needs highlighting further to avoid confusion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pickering
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

My husband and I stayed overnight at this hotel taking advantage of an offer with Travel Zoo,what a lovely hotel! This building is full of west Yorkshire charm and old grandeur.The staff are all without exception a very helpful and cheerful bunch and were ready to help to make our stay a pleasure from entering the hotel to departure the following morning.We had arranged to meet another couple here for dinner that evening and we were not disappointed with the quality of the food,the wine and the delightful restaurant we ate in,there is a good choice of food and also a extensive bar menu to choose from. We had also been upgraded on arrival which was a welcome suprise! The whole hotel is immaculately clean and the service is to a very high standard,we will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyrusPickering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Dear cyrusPickering, we are pleased that you discovered Holdsworth House through Travelzoo and that you are planning on returning again. We look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

My husband and I had a lovely 2 night stay at this delightful hotel. I cannot understand why anyone could possibly describe this hotel as "dated grandeur".

From the moment we pulled into the car park to the minute we left it was a lovely break in a charming building that lived upto expectations. We had a fabulous dinner, two lovely breakfasts and a very nice afternoon tea.

All of the reception rooms are beautiful and dressed for the period. Our room (37) which was described as a snug double was also very good and spacious. The staff without exception were extremely professional, helpful and friendly. The location is not brillant but as the hotel is over 400 years old was there before all that now surrounds it.

The garden is fabulous and standing in it you could easily feel as if you were in the mddle of the country. We would definitely recommend and will return.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GillH1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you GillH1927 for your lovely review of our historic hotel. We are so pleased that your stay lived up to high expectations and moreover that you are likely to return again soon, since most of our business comes via word of mouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
2.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
3.2 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
#1 of 1 in Gildersome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
4.2 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Holdsworth, Halifax HX2 9TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax's only four-star hotel is now listed in the 2013 Michelin Guide along with the country's elite hotels & restaurants. Holdsworth House is a beautiful Jacobean manor built in 1633, which has been owned and run by the Pearson family for 50 years. The manor stands in stunning, secluded gardens and is just three miles north of Halifax. It feels a world apart from the bustle of everyday life and is a perfect choice for accommodation, weddings and conferences. In this beautiful old house you'll find open fires, cosy lounges, fine antiques and tapestries that create a sense of history and comfort. The 39 charming bedrooms are all ensuite and have all been individually furnished. Dinner is served by candlelight in the 17th Century, oak-paneled 2 AA Rosette-winning restaurant whilst the Long Bar has a simpler brasserie style menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holdsworth House Hotel And Restaurant
Holdsworth Hotel Halifax
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing