We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding day”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wedding day”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We got married at Holdsworth House on the 15th of November and we had such an amazing day. The staff on the day couldn't of been more helpful. The food was delicious. I can't recommend this hotel enough.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tracy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear Tracy, many congratulations from everyone here on your recent marriage. We are thrilled to have been part of your wedding day and hope that you have many fond memories for years to come. We'd love to see you again at the hotel before your first anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    552
    168
    71
    28
    11
See reviews for
151
366
20
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Recently went to a wedding at Holdsworth House. The hotel is welcoming, full of character and the perfect venue for a wedding. The staff went that extra mile to ensure all our needs were catered to. As an example, I needed a needle and thread and called reception and within a minute, there was a knock on my door with a sewing kit. The food was of the highest standards. The rooms were cosy and the breakfast was just what was needed the day after.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wcslingsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you Warren for taking the time to share your experience of Holdsworth House. We are delighted everything was to your satisfaction and liking, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinas Powys, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed for business and enjoyed good food and friendly staff. Was lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite which was superb (and unusually on two floors with a mezzanine bedroom) and very comfortable. For the money it's great value and by far the best hotel near halifax that I have stayed in.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear CandKP thank you for reviewing Holdsworth House, everyone here is delighted when another guest recommends us. We hope that you'll stay with us again when you come for business in Halifax and West Yorkshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We had a night at Holdsworth House recently. Arrived for afternoon tea which we had in the beautiful gardens. Then a lovely evening meal followed by bed and breakfast before leaving to go back home to work. Everything was exeptional. The staff were really freindly and helpful. The food was fabulous. We only live half an hour away, but just loved the break. What a treat.
Thank you all.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy209940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thank you Wendy209940 for posting your experience of Holdsworth House in Halifax on Tripadvisor. We welcome the news that a short break in Halifax was just the tonic for you and hope that you'll return again soon, perhaps for a special meal out? We would love to see you here again. Regards from the team at Holdsworth House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I use this hotel regularly when I am travelling for business, probably 4 or 5 times a year. It is a little of the beaten track, but worth the effort to find. The rooms are very clean and charming, everything a weary traveller needs. The restaurant is first class with a very good menu using local produce where possible, the cooked breakfast is worth the visit on its own. I make the effort to travel to this hotel when I have business anywhere along the M62. Its not a large hotel by any menas, but that adds to the charm. The staff are cheery and helpful.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a double room even if you are a single, the extra space and comfort is worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RacingPolarBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you RacingPolarBear for your review of Holdsworth House and for your repeat custom. We are delighted that we continue to impress you and hope you enjoy the new menu on your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
122 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

I recently attended a wedding here, it was a venue full of charm and character. I also stayed overnight and the room was pleasant and covered all the basics well. The breakfast was a traditional style cooked meal with a choice of cereals etc and made a good start to the day. A good venue all round.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Facefeeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Hello and thank you for leaving your review of Holdsworth House. Whilst we know you were really happy, we'd love to know what else we could have done to win your five star vote? We do hope you'll return and experience more of our corner of Yorkshire.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
150 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel on business with a group of colleagues, and it was lovely to be offered a welcome drink on arrival, by a team of friendly reception staff. The restaurant has an interesting menu, and the food was delicious although a little pricey, served by very friendly yet professional waiters/waitresses. Breakfast is freshly cooked and the rooms quaint - I have stayed here before and would definitely stay here again!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you AlisonJ for choosing to stay at Holdsworth House again, we appreciate your custom. We are happy that you love the locally sourced food in the restaurant, our policy of cooking everything we can fresh is something we are very proud of, and clearly guests love it! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
2.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
3.3 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
10.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
#1 of 1 in Gildersome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
17.1 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Holdsworth, Halifax HX2 9TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax's only four-star hotel is now listed in the 2013 Michelin Guide along with the country's elite hotels & restaurants. Holdsworth House is a beautiful Jacobean manor built in 1633, which has been owned and run by the Pearson family for 50 years. The manor stands in stunning, secluded gardens and is just three miles north of Halifax. It feels a world apart from the bustle of everyday life and is a perfect choice for accommodation, weddings and conferences. In this beautiful old house you'll find open fires, cosy lounges, fine antiques and tapestries that create a sense of history and comfort. The 39 charming bedrooms are all ensuite and have all been individually furnished. Dinner is served by candlelight in the 17th Century, oak-paneled 2 AA Rosette-winning restaurant whilst the Long Bar has a simpler brasserie style menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holdsworth House Hotel And Restaurant
Holdsworth Hotel Halifax
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing