We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Me and the wife came for Christmas Day, we had a lovely time, though the fish starter was lovely and the chocolate fondants were cooked beautiful (tad sickly) the roast potatoes were a bit dry but with gravey it was nice. Would come again. Maybe lower the price as the person said below itis a little steep.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you Daniel F for your feedback of Holdsworth House and for choosing our historic venue for your Christmas Day dinner. We aim to achieve five stars from every reviewer so your comments re gravy/potatoes will be passed back to chef so that next time you feel you are getting complete value for money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    541
    162
    70
    28
    11
See reviews for
148
357
19
128
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We started 2014 in style with a three-night break at Holdsworth House with friends. We had booked a suite, but the first we were shown smelled strongly of cigarettes and the second just wasn't as pretty, so we settled for a "house double". And to be honest, we didn't really lose much in accommodation and saved money, which can't be bad.

The hotel is beautiful inside and out. In fact we felt that if anything the TV didn't do it justice.

The staff were all delightful, and nothing was too much trouble for them. This applies to the receptionists, housekeepers, bar staff and reception staff who all, in their turn, spent time chatting with us and checking that all was well.

And so to meal times. We had booked a package that included both dinner and breakfast, so we experienced both three times. I can honestly say that between the four of us we did not have a single complaint about any of the meals, but plenty of praise. They obviously source quality ingredients and they understand how to cook it and present it perfectly. Just a very simple example: the bacon served at breakfast was thicker than that usually served elsewhere, so it didn't crinkle, shrivel or burn and was satisfying to chew. By the same token, I had the tastiest steaks (both beef and lamb) that I have been served anywhere.

So - any complaints or niggles? Well, Holdsworth House is deservedly a popular wedding venue (we were told that they had one every day in August) and I read other reviews on here complaining about noisy wedding guests banging up and down corridors. Management's response then was that they would always advise guests when booking if there was a wedding scheduled during their stay. That arrangement didn't work when we booked and we did experience drunken girls calling and banging doors at 3a.m. OK, we went back to sleep, but it does illustrate what can happen. My advice would be to enquire when booking - don't expect to be told. To be fair, though, the real problem is with the wedding guests, not the hotel

Room Tip: The suites are lovely but remember, you sleep upstairs while your clothes and the bathroom are downs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank i2c_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Thank you i2c_JP for your review of Holdsworth House. We are delighted your stay was enjoyable and food to your liking; we do source many products locally where we can and we have awards to uphold so quality of food is very important to us and our guests. Your comments on our policy of wedding guests is noted and we shall be discussing a better way to manage this at our next meeting, thank you for raising it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

I just wanted to say what a wonderful wedding Ben and myself had yesterday (4th Jan 14).

It was absolutely perfect in every way and I cannot thank the staff enough for ensuring our day ran smoothly. It was lovely and informal and not rushed at all. All the team were superb but a special thank you to Matthew, Phil and our waitress for Ben and myself - she has had lots of practice tucking in brides!!!!

We were made to feel so welcome by everyone we met and I honestly think we could not have found a better venue.

The rooms (Abraham Briggs and Stuart room) were perfect and our guests commented that the Stuart room when set up looked like something from a bridal magazine.

The food was magnificent and all our guests commented on it.

The rooms were fantastic and the staff were great moving our belongings between room 18 and the Bridal Suite on the day.

I cannot thank you enough, you should be extremely proud of the team you have who are a credit to you're hotel, I can't wait to come back and stay again.

Thank you so much.

Best wishes
Alex and Ben (aka Bride and Groom)

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AJ4984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Congratulations Alex and Ben on your recent wedding - a New Year and a new start to married life! Your feedback is very much appreciated and our team will also start the year with a wonderful boost, thank you (and we look forward to seeing you soon).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed here over several nights visiting family and friends in the area. Had breakfast, lunch and dinner each evening with guests. Also hired the Private Dining area of 14. Faultless. Staff were attentive and professional exceeding all expectations.
This place is really quite the best in Halifax. Comfortable and intimate. Full of character, charming and romantic.
Well done Holdsworth House.
Thank you for making our stay as relaxing as possible.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olive334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Olive334 thank you for your review of Holdsworth House, we appreciate your time and your feedback. We hope your first rate experience will keep you coming back again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

My wife and I got married at this beautiful and charming hotel on 28th December 2013 and have nothing but rave recommendations for every aspect of our special day.
From selecting the venue many months ago, The events coordinator Claire was on hand to answer all our questions and help pull it all together.
On the day, our master of ceremonies Matthew was a class professional and was always happy to assist whenever it was needed.
We were fortunate enough to enjoy a window of sunshine and blue sky for the photographs so used the magical garden area front of house.
All our guests loved the venue and particularly commented on the lovely food.
We would very much like to thank all at Holdsworth House for their quality of service and very much look forward to returning for our Anniversary if not before.
Mr & Mrs Leach

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Spacekadet72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Many congratulations on your recent marriage, we are always honoured to be part of such a special day and your praise will be passed on to the team - particularly Claire and Matthew - who always put the guests experience at the top of their priorities. We hope you'll return soon and if you have any wedding pictures we'd love to be able to use them on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2013

we stayed at the hotel as wedding guests - the hotel was an amazing venue - the service was top class - staff and especially the receptionists were so very friendly and helpful. The Hotel holds lots of interesting facts and the famous guest list is awesome

Room Tip: the room - suite were given was room 17 - amazing value for money - quiet and peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazzyldsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Thank you for your review of Holdsworth House. A winter wedding here is such a wonderful way to celebrate so we are very pleased that you enjoyed the setting and your time with us. We hope that you will return again soon to enjoy the restaurant or the grounds in summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2013

Came for afternoon tea, 3 kings , the mulled wine was utter nonsense,thin red liquid that tasted of cinnamon that's it! The sandwiches were ok a little dry on the exposed side so they had been made quite a while, scones very good, clotted cream wasn't clotted it was whipped double cream, tea was fine ,staff were very nice,setting really special ,needs tweeking .

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Belladwella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, General Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Belladwella,
Thank you so very much for taking the time to experience and review our seasonal Three Kings Afternoon Tea. I have today shared your feedback with our Head Chef, Simon Allott, who joins me in apologising that you were not fully satisfied with what we served. We constantly strive for perfection when it comes to our food offering, and feedback such as yours is invaluable in helping us make improvements for future guests.
I was glad to read that you found the staff to be very nice and hope that that you will return to us, at least for the great setting. Please feel free to contact me directly on 01422 240 024 if I can be of any further assistance.
Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
Warm regards

Richard Christie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
2.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
3.3 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
365 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
271 reviews
10.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
#1 of 1 in Gildersome
453 reviews
17.1 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
2,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Holdsworth, Halifax HX2 9TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax's only four-star hotel is now listed in the 2013 Michelin Guide along with the country's elite hotels & restaurants. Holdsworth House is a beautiful Jacobean manor built in 1633, which has been owned and run by the Pearson family for 50 years. The manor stands in stunning, secluded gardens and is just three miles north of Halifax. It feels a world apart from the bustle of everyday life and is a perfect choice for accommodation, weddings and conferences. In this beautiful old house you'll find open fires, cosy lounges, fine antiques and tapestries that create a sense of history and comfort. The 39 charming bedrooms are all ensuite and have all been individually furnished. Dinner is served by candlelight in the 17th Century, oak-paneled 2 AA Rosette-winning restaurant whilst the Long Bar has a simpler brasserie style menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holdsworth House Hotel And Restaurant
Holdsworth Hotel Halifax
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing