We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed on a Last Tango in Halifax package, upon arrival the room we were allocated smelt of smoke so we were moved to a pretty designed room at the end of the corridor upstairs, tiny but everything we needed was there. The room was very clean and the housekeeper very professional in moving us. We had included in the package a small afternoon tea but was asked when we checked in if we wanted to upgrade to a full afternoon tea for extra cost, we agreed but when we sat down we were told we couldn't have the full afternoon tea as chef couldn't cope with this and a wedding. We insisted and they agreed to do this, although we would have at least a half an hour wait. The afternoon tea when it arrived was lovely but other people in the room weren't served theirs and walked out after an hour. We upgraded dinner also to a tasting menu, this was really excellent and the amount was perfect. The only downside to dinner was the 30th birthday party in a private room. They walked through the dining room to get to the bar, which didn't make for a relaxing atmosphere. Our bedroom was directly above the private party also and as the room didn't have a bar people were going out every few minutes and the banging of the door meant i got practically no sleep. Once the party had finished at 1am the night porter started to clean the room until 4am. I did complain and received £50 off the bill but having hardly any sleep wasn't much fun. Breakfast was good but overall I think mid week breaks would be better as the staff seem to struggle with having a wedding, a private party and hotel guests at the same time. The old part of the hotel and the grounds are beautiful and it has lots of history.and if you are a Beatles fan then it is worth staying to experience where they stayed.

Room Tip: Avoid the room at the end of the corridor upstairs if there is a private party, if you want atwin ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairee21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, General Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Clairee21,

We appreciate you taking your time to comment on your stay at Holdsworth House Hotel and are extremely sorry about the less than peaceful night sleep you experienced during your visit in March. Whilst it is difficult to pre-empt the actions of other guests visiting the hotel, we do fully understand your complaint and have since made changes to the bookings we accept in order to minimize any noise issues.

From previous correspondence I understand that you found the food for the afternoon tea and dinner to be of a high quality and enjoyable which I was glad to hear, however in terms of the issues you had with afternoon tea delivery may I also take this opportunity to apologise for the confusion caused; there are no excuses as we should have handled this situation better.

I do hope we will be able to welcome you back to Holdsworth House for a more peaceful stay in the future.

Kind regards

Richard Christie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

799 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    159
    70
    28
    11
See reviews for
143
351
19
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Wales
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel to be greeted curtly by the words "checking in?". No mention of a "good evening" or the like, and no subsequent offer of luggage assistance or newspapers. Our room, priced at 145 pounds was small and dated, with difficult to use wardrobe (fixed hangers facing you, at high level) and a tiny bathroom with no space for toiletries except a tiny glass shelf fixed over the loo (and I didn't want to put my toothbrush on that for fear of it falling down the loo). looking out of the bedroom window we noticed that the bedrooms were in an extension block (circa 1970's) and therefore not in the style of the beautiful building at the front with it's beamed ceilings and olde world charm.

The public areas in the old building were delightful and the restaurant stylish and comfortable.

We were disappointed to arrive later in the evening to see a well fed bride with cigarette in one hand and bottle of beer in the other lowering the tone of the place but what can you do?

Breakfast was delicious with warm bread rolls,fresh juice and good quality eggs but the staff! One morning they were quiet so stood there watching us eat, the next the attitude of the lady was unbelievable! we had not even sat down and she was pestering us for our order. We personally don't want our tea and toast before we have our breakfast and prefer it at the end, upon explaining this, she was clearly annoyed and made it known to is throughout service. Basic knowledge of food accompaniments was also sadly lacking, quite embarrassingly so.

The problem with this hotel is that the accommodation fails to meet expectations at the price point. For 145 pounds we expect a spacious room, in keeping with the manor type style of the frontage of the hotel. 70 pounds would be more realistic and perhaps reduce complaints in this respect.

We were left sadly disappointed by our stay but hope that this feedback will be found constructive by the hotel.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cwmbran2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, General Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Dear Cwmbran2,

Thank you for taking the time to review Holdsworth House, I am sorry that you felt the room you were allocated did not meet your expectations. We are constantly pushing both our product and service with regular investment, so I really do appreciate your feedback as it helps us tailor our offering for future guests.

We do pride ourselves on the service we deliver with friendly local staff, however we are sorry that on this occasion you felt you were not welcomed at some stages of your stay. It is never our aim and something we would love to put right.

On a positive note I was delighted to read that you found the hotel to be delightful and the restaurant to be stylish, and hope very much that you will return to us for another delicious breakfast.

If i can be of any assistance please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel (01422 240024).

Kind regards


Richard Christie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Both my Husband and I are totally thankful to the staff at Holdsworth House for organising the wedding of my dreams. Everything from start to finish was amazing. The food was to die for (totally recommend the pork rillette and Apple crumble), Tracey was fantastic and knew what she was doing. Clarie and Zoe where at the end of the computer//telephone whenever i needed question answer. Its just a shame it's all over.

The honeymoon suite was cosy. plenty of room for us and my two little girls. Only little downful is the bathroom is small but certainly met my needs. Massive wardrobe kept my wedding dress nicely.

My ILs stayed in rooms 1 and 2 and the interconnecting rooms were great for the children .. meant they could sleep in one room and the 'babysitter' could watch TV in the other without disturbing.
The staff were also fantastic when needing the master key to access the room when we were locked out (MIL fell asleep with both keys!)

So on behalf of my Husband and I, we thank EVERYONE at Holdsworth House for a truely memorable day.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you Lauren B and many congratulations on your marriage. We are delighted to have played a party by hosting your special day. We hope you'll return for more fabulous food before your anniversary. Keep an eye on our website for the best direct deals holdsworthhouse.co.uk. Best wishes from the team at Holdsworth House.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

I booked this 2 night stay for our 20th wedding anniversary 'treat'. We arrived and thought the hotel looked lovely from the outside. Check In was pretty seamless and then we went to our room upstairs. The corridor leading to our room looked a bit dated and we were also expecting the 'wow' factor on entering our room but were greatly disappointed with the size of the room and it's decor. There was no room literally to 'swing a cat' in there. The room was clean enough but just looked as dated as the corridor. We were then further disappointed to find there was no 'stand up' shower in the bathroom only a hand held shower head attached to the bath. The bathroom itself was again clean enough but looked dated again. I quite enjoyed my bath on the Sunday morning but my husband who is nearly 6 feet tall didn't appreciate having to kneel in the bath to try and get a 'so called shower'. In this day and age with a 4 star hotel a shower we would have thought would have been a minimum requirement.
When I booked our stay I was advised the weekend I wanted was full due to a wedding, no mention of 2 weddings the weekend we stayed. Friday night was difficult to get a parking space but we managed it, just but after spending the whole of Saturday out we arrived back at 8.45pm to find nowhere to park because of the wedding guests! Surely provision should be made for 'hotel guests' but we seemed to have slipped there minds and the wedding parties seem to take priority. I am sure we are all paying guests! Had to park in the gravel courtyard which was a feat in itself when someone parked close to the opening of the entrance and you have to navigate a Range Rover through an already small gap on a narrow lane!
Breakfasts were good but on Sunday morning because of the wedding the day before the restaurant was full of wedding guests, staff were in short supply and having to chase them around to ask for toast and tea was unacceptable. The dinner service in the restaurant on Friday night was exceptional and the food also, just a pity the rest of the service wasn't as good.
Maybe this hotel needs to concentrate on being a 'wedding venue' rather than letting it's hotel guests down at the expense of their wedding guests!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susanne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, General Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Susanne J,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Holdsworth House Hotel and Restaurant.

I am sorry that you felt that the hotel did not meet your expectations of a four star property, we are independently accessed for our four stars on a regular basis, however as a Management Team we openly welcome feedback from our guests regarding their experiences of our hotel, whether positive or negative, as we find it to be an invaluable tool for catering for our customer’s expectations and continually improving our standards of product and service.

With regards to the parking, we have now implemented a procedure where staff members are asked to park away from the hotel when we have a wedding, to ensure there is enough space for all our valued guests. This in future should help to reduce congestion. We also have recently opened up the gravel parking at the front of the hotel, which has the benefit of the iconic frontage and gardens of the hotel.

I do very much hope that you will give us a second chance, as we would be keen to have you back to re install your confidence in the hotel.

Kind regards


Richard Christie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, UK
Level Contributor
425 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Probably like many others, we booked a visit to the Holdsworth House Hotel after seeing it featured on the Last Tango TV series and stayed for two nights on a Friday & Saturday to celebrate my birthday. Unfortunately, there was a wedding on for each of the two days which meant that on arrival we had difficulty parking the car and the hotel was thronged with people, making for a less than relaxing check in. As a four star hotel, we were expecting a few luxuries when we let ourselves into our room but we were both left somewhat disappointed to be met with a quite tired room with a sloping roof and little room to move around. The room was clean enough but in our view fell short of the standard we have experienced in many four star hotels elsewhere - cramped hanging space, no safe, TV with temperamental signal reception, weak hairdryer. The bathroom decor was similarly tired, the fittings basic and a shower that lacked any real power. In terms of the room, we were really hoping for a "wow" reaction when we first went in rather than the "oh" we experienced.

To be fair, we did have a "wow" experience when we ate in the restaurant each evening - superb food and excellent service from friendly attentive staff. The practice of separating out the wedding guests from the other residents was very effective and very welcome - no disrespect to them, they seemed nice people but there were a lot of them, which made getting a pre-meal drink in the bar or even finding somewhere to sit very difficult. It was therefore very nice to have the restaurant separated off to create a relaxing and enjoyable atmosphere.

Sadly, the breakfast experience was not so enjoyable. We came down on the first morning at about 9am on the advice of our waitress the night before, supposedly to miss the early risers and the post-wedding late arrivals. Unfortunately it seemed as though everyone else had done the same as the whole restaurant area was manic. With nowhere in the main rooms, we were shown to a table set up in the Long Bar but then, quite frankly, forgotten! It took an age to order our breakfast and even then, I had to go looking for someone to get the basics - milk, toast etc. The cooked breakfast eventually came but it was a real disappointment, given the quality of our dinner the night before. My wife's order of scrambled eggs on toast came out as an overcooked omlette on warm bread and was inedible - we would have complained but after 20 minutes we gave up hope of seeing any of the waiting staff actually come in to the Long Bar so we left, hungry, leaving the lady to continue mopping the bar area with her strong smelling disinfectant. Not the start to the day we were hoping for!

We spent the day away from the hotel on the Saturday but when we returned at about 4pm, there was nowhere to park the car and again the hotel bar and lounge area were full of guests attending a wedding. We were unable to find anywhere to relax with a drink so retreated to our bedroom for a couple of hours before heading down for another really enjoyable dinner once the wedding was well underway in their own suite . Breakfast was slightly better the next morning as we were seated in the main restaurant room but again the service was slow and seemed to lack any sort of system to ensure that a table got all it asked for in one go, rather than things arriving piecemeal. Although the breakfast itself was of good quality, the frenetic atmosphere didn't lend itself to a relaxing start to the day and we felt the need to eat up, pack and escape the mayhem as soon as we could.

Our experience at the Holdsworth was a mixed one. The staff are very nice and friendly and the quality of our dinners superb in all respects. However, we were left with the view that if we had known about the massive adverse impact the weddings would have on other residents' ability to enjoy the tranquility of the hotel, we probably wouldn't have booked to stay. However nice the food, it didn't make up for the limitations we experienced at breakfast and in the public areas, nor for the mediocre standard of the accommodation. I'm afraid that our view of the Holdsworth was as a 3 Star hotel at best and we were therefore left disappointed with our stay overall.

If we lived locally, we would undoubtedly be regular visitors to the restaurant but as we're not, it's unlikely that we would return to stay at the Holdsworth House. Certainly if we were thinking about it, we would first find out whether our stay would coincide with a wedding at the hotel and if so, sadly we would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the far end of the hotel, away from the function suite. Check first to see if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanandSally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, General Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear AlanandSally,

Firstly may I thank you for taking the time to review Holdsworth House Hotel and Restaurant, I can see you have put a great deal of effort in to feeding back constructively to us. We are always looking for ways to deliver a better product and service, and such feedback helps us to improve these areas for the future.

As much I was glad to read that you were “WOW”ed by the dining experience, I was disappointed to read about some of the areas you mentioned that did not meet this same level. We constantly strive to exceed our guest’s expectations, whether the purpose of the visit is to enjoy a weekend away or to celebrate a family occasion, and balancing the two is something we work hard to do.

I do hope very much that you will return to the hotel in the future, as we do try our utmost to enable all our guests to enjoy their experience.

If I can be of any further assistance then please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel.

Kindest regards


Richard Christie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

I booked a 'surprise' "Last Tango in Halifax" package for my wife's birthday. The car park is nice and big but it does bring you in on the 'not so pretty side' of the hotel. Don't be put off by this though because inside the hotel is deligthful.
Check-in was nice and easy & pleasant. We were asked what time we would like to take our Cream Tea and said we would come back down in 1 hours time. So, we set off to our room - we had booked a 'suite'. I suppose like all hotel brochures and website photos the rooms look much bigger than they actually are. This was certainly the case with our room. It was small. There was a downstairs bathroom & cloak cupboard. 2 small chairs and a quite old TV. There was also Tea & Coffee making facilities. The bedroom was more of a small mezanine floor.
Thinking about it though, this was actually part of the overall charm of the place. It's hundreds of years old, so totally modernizing it by knocking it about would in fact totally ruin it. If anything, the only thing that was really wrong with the room when we arrived was that it was REALLY cold as the heating didn't come on until around 2:50pm. We also had a slight issue with some dirty & hair covered pillow cases but this was quickly rectified by the apologetic staff.

The Cream Tea that we took down in the 'Long Bar' was VERY nice. Absolutely lovely. This was an indication of how good the hotel restaurant food was going to be because that evening we had the most wonderful meal with fantastic service in very pleasant surroundings. Next morning we were also treated to a most fantastic breakfast - again, served by the most lovely of staff.

All in all we were both very pleased with our stay. The rooms are a little small but this is more than made up for by the really nice experience you will have in the hotel as a whole.

P.S As others have said - the WiFi signal is virtually non-existant anywhere in the hotel that I tried.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnyTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear DonnyTripper thank you for booking your Last Tango break at Holdsworth House, we are pleased that you found our historic hotel to your liking. As you suggest with a listed building it is very hard to change the layout into something ultra modern, nor would we (and the majority of our guests) want to. We shall continue to investigate the wifi issue as we have been assured by our comms company that we have the best facilities we can have. If many guests are online simultaneously it can slow it down. Our reception team can reset the signal immediately for you if it drops off, which usually rectifies the problem. We hope that you will return again for another break, keep an eye on our website for the best deals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We visited Holdsworth House Hotel for afternoon tea as a birthday treat for my mum. The tea and cakes were tasty and very nicely displayed, and the ambience of the dining area was lovely with views over the garden (we were very lucky that it was a gorgeous sunny Spring afternoon). However the best thing about the place was the staff we met. Everyone was so friendly and relaxed, it put us at ease too and really topped off a lovely afternoon

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Kate V thank you for choosing Holdsworth House for your afternoon tea experience. We are delighted that you found the surroundings and ambience pleasant. Our team is so happy to have made you feel welcome and your comments will be passed on to each member of staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
2.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
3.2 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
#1 of 1 in Gildersome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
4.2 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
15.0 mi away
The Devonshire Arms Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Holdsworth, Halifax HX2 9TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax's only four-star hotel is now listed in the 2013 Michelin Guide along with the country's elite hotels & restaurants. Holdsworth House is a beautiful Jacobean manor built in 1633, which has been owned and run by the Pearson family for 50 years. The manor stands in stunning, secluded gardens and is just three miles north of Halifax. It feels a world apart from the bustle of everyday life and is a perfect choice for accommodation, weddings and conferences. In this beautiful old house you'll find open fires, cosy lounges, fine antiques and tapestries that create a sense of history and comfort. The 39 charming bedrooms are all ensuite and have all been individually furnished. Dinner is served by candlelight in the 17th Century, oak-paneled 2 AA Rosette-winning restaurant whilst the Long Bar has a simpler brasserie style menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holdsworth House Hotel And Restaurant
Holdsworth Hotel Halifax
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing