We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel & excellent deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We were given a Living Social deal voucher to stay at Holdsworth House for our wedding anniversary by our daughter and we had a lovely time. It was excellent value with a delicious cream tea on arrival and full English breakfast the following morning. The hotel is beautiful and we enjoyed a welcome glass of wine in the delightful gardens. The gardener was justifiably proud of his handiwork & was more than happy to chat to my husband about the various plants and the history of the house. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. Our room was tastefully decorated though we were a little disappointed by the standard of the bathroom and felt it was in need of an upgrade. The soundproofing of the rooms was not very good. We heard every sneeze, cough and conversation from next door and in particular the bathroom fans were very noisy - we were woken at 4 am by next door's fan which was annoying.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank you Cuttingblade of Sheffield for revising Holdsworth House. We are delighted that you took advantage of one of the few merchant deals we have run and that you had an enjoyable experience. We do have an ongoing program of upgrades so we will take your comments about the bathroom fans to the projects meetings. We hope that you will return again for another stay soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
There are newer reviews for Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 414 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

My wife and I got married at Holdsworth just over a week ago and we were very pleased with how it all went.

All of our guest complimented on how nice the food was.

We had someone with us throughout the whole day making us aware of what to expect and to help guide us through the day with very few hiccups.

In terms of cost, the wedding package was very competitive with other venues across the North of the country and for what you get included in the packages at Holdsworth, we would certainly say it is value for money.

The hotel and the grounds it sits in are absolutely gorgeous and really made out wedding photos extra special.

The day ran very smoothly, and we would certainly recommend Holdsworth House to anyone looking for an ideal wedding venue.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRWinterbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear KRWinterbottom, firstly many congratulations on your recent marriage. Thank you for choosing Holdsworth House as your perfect wedding venue, we are glad to have lived up to your expectations and hope that you'll return very soon to see us. Best wishes from all the team here at Holdsworth House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We attended the wedding of Mr & Mrs Adams yesterday. What a brilliant experience we had. Sunny and his team were super efficient and nothing at all was too much trouble especially when we were so demanding! Thanks to all the staff for looking after us you are truly brilliant.

The venue for its age was spotlessly clean, the food delicious and entertainment excellent. We look forward to seeing you all again soon!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpotlightPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Dear SpotlightPB thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience of Holdsworth House, your recommendation is much appreciated. We hope that you'll return to the hotel again soon - keep an eye on the website for the latest offers for the restaurant or accommodation. Many thanks from the team here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Thank you to all the team at HH. We had an absolutely wonderful day for our wedding and were thoroughly looked after by all staff. They accommodated our needs and even allowed our dog Lola to be a part of our special day. Thanks again

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoldsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Joanne W, thank you for sharing your wonderful wedding experience at Holdsworth House here. We were delighted to be part of your day. We of course loved having Lola too and hope you will all return soon to see us. Many congratulations from all the team here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Staff unhelpful, General Manager full of himself, other parties putting drinks on my room, drinks I hadn't had, there was no security checks these people were staying in the room. When questioned the manager said not his problem someone ordered the drinks. After spending over £300 on the night you'd have thought the staff would be helpful! Manager soon disappeared when argument started and poor receptionist was left to deal with it. Overall the place is lovely but poorly run, any wonder it's not making a profit??

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank M4tty28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear M4tty28,

On checkout you refused to pay for drinks that had been placed on your bill at the private function you were attending the previous night. We provided you with copies of all the receipts which had been signed with a matching signature to your registration card. Although you agreed that the signature on the registration card was your own, you refused to accept that they matched the ones on the receipts which they obviously did. Another member of your party also agreed that they matched and paid for the drinks on your behalf, at the point where you started swearing while there were families with children in the lobby.

There is only one motive for your negative review and it is certainly not poor service, as you will see from previous reviews the team always try to be as helpful and accommodating as possible.

Regards


Richard Christie
General Manager
Holdsworth House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Holdsworth House proved to be an excellent place for a holiday in West Yorkshire. Like previous reviewers the staff are one of the highlights of HH together with the food and ambiance which we enjoyed tremendously. Our room was very comfortable indeed with a velux window that opened to give some breeze in the hot weather. The bathroom was clean but the shower needs some attention. It was impossible to have a shower without soaking the bathroom floor as the shower curtain/panel was inadequate. For us this was the only blip in a brilliant stay and experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice6958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Janice6958,

Thank you so much for sharing your experience of Holdsworth House Hotel, we really do appropriate you taking the time out of your day to do so. Great food and service in beautiful surroundings is exactly what we aim for, and we do hope that you will have the opportunity to return to enjoy more of the same.

Warm regards

Richard Christie
General Manager
Holdsworth House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Can I first apologise to the management team at Holdsworth House as I promised to write my review before now ( but been very busy) we stayed at the end of May. I have read many of the reviews and agree with some of them, but in the defence of I brought the issues I had to their attention and they have listened and taking on board what I recommended they do.
You must remember this is a very old hotel so its more about the character and ambience they are trying to create rather than some of the facilities on offer.
The hotel and grounds are beautiful and I can see why some many weddings are held here as it has everything to offer for a wedding.
The room we stayed in was nice with a nice décor and it felt homely , ( we did have the option of the suites but don't like the fact that the bedroom is on the upper floor and the bathroom etc was on the lower floor but that's just our choice. Some of the rooms have modern flay screen TV's whereas others still have the older style tv but again I've been told that there is an intention to upgrade these .
The hotel itself has lots of character and you can see it is full of history but again I agree with some of the recent comments it does need a bit of updating but still retain its character .
The dining rooms were very suited for a romantic meal and doesn't need background music ( my opinion).
We chose to try the taster menu and it was superb , everything had a touch of finesse about it as fine dining should . ( not so sure about value for money but then again its about the presentation and time and effort put in that maybe pushes the cost up ).
We had a pre dinner drink in the wonderful gardens which was lovely and you can soak up the charm and character of the hall and its surrounds
I agree with some of the observations of other reviewers and I know they are being dealt with over the course of time so as not to disrupt the running of the hotel during its busy wedding period .
The staff are the real big plus for me , from the reception staff at the check in through to the waiters at the restaurant , you can see they take a pride in the service they have to offer and if the management team and owner can take on board the comments from other reviewers and those from my self which I discussed with the manager I'm sure the 4 stars can be maintained , focus on the finer points is the key.
Personally I think this hotel caters more for weddings and maybe that's the direction they should head in . Did I enjoy my stay at the hotel YES, would I stay again NO because the once in a lifetime wow factor you get when you first pull up outside the hotel would be hard to repeat but that is to be said about most hotels we have stayed in . The comments I have made are my personnel views and may differ from others and I have passed my comments onto the management team and they have responded accordingly so thanks .

Room Tip: If you have any complaints or issues tell the staff straight away so they can as they did with us...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sharpyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard C, General Manager at Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear SharpyUK,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review following your stays with us, as a Management Team we openly welcome the constructively feedback from our guests and it helps us tailor our product and service for future visitors.

You are absolutely right to point out that we continually invest in the hotel, something we sympathetically do around the period nature of the property, at the same time trying to minimize disturbance to our guests.

We very much hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future so you can see the improvements we make, and to experience the food and service you have enjoyed in the past.

Warm regards

Richard Christie
General Manager
Holdsworth House Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
2.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
3.3 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
381 reviews
4.3 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#7 of 10 in Halifax
217 reviews
19.1 mi away
Waterton Park Hotel
Waterton Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Walton
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Holdsworth, Halifax HX2 9TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £93 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax's only four-star hotel is now listed in the 2013 Michelin Guide along with the country's elite hotels & restaurants. Holdsworth House is a beautiful Jacobean manor built in 1633, which has been owned and run by the Pearson family for 50 years. The manor stands in stunning, secluded gardens and is just three miles north of Halifax. It feels a world apart from the bustle of everyday life and is a perfect choice for accommodation, weddings and conferences. In this beautiful old house you'll find open fires, cosy lounges, fine antiques and tapestries that create a sense of history and comfort. The 39 charming bedrooms are all ensuite and have all been individually furnished. Dinner is served by candlelight in the 17th Century, oak-paneled 2 AA Rosette-winning restaurant whilst the Long Bar has a simpler brasserie style menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holdsworth House Hotel And Restaurant
Holdsworth Hotel Halifax
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing