We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 31 July 2009

I last stayed at Holdsworth House nine years ago. It's still the same very pleasant hotel with remarkable levels of service. I agree with the previous reviewers that standard doubles can be a bit poky, the £10 extra for a superior double is well worth it as you get a mezzanine floor with a very luxurious down duvet into the bargain!

Holdsworth is one of those hotels that you just wouldn't expect to find in this part of the world or indeed its immediate neighbourhood (nothing wrong with neighbourhood, its just late 20th rather than contemporary with Holdsworth House).

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank x333xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

829 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    168
    71
    28
    11
See reviews for
151
365
20
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2009

we stayed overnight along with several others following a wedding,even though we only live 13 miles away The original part of the hotel is truly lovely lots of small quaint rooms stone mullion windows and beams,cosy furniture in the bar and well set dining tables. The gardens are beautiful and Holdsworth house looks very pretty viewed from the garden.
However the accomodation is within an extension to the original house and that is exactly what it feels like it lacks the cosy old world feel of the original house,and our room was very small indeed and although very clean with lovely soft furnishings and fluffy towels still felt a little jaded, sadly we have paid less to stay in much better rooms.The room price also includes 'continental' breakfast only, with extra charge for a 'full english' the continental was a little basic, cereal fruit,yoghurt croissant /roll jam some cheese andcold cuts would have been more continental and as a hotel that prides itself on its resaurant maybe not too much to ask.
The bar although a cosy room has a very small bar area and the staff were inexperienced and lacking in numbers to cope with a large number of customers descending on them after the wedding ceremony our bottle of fizz we requested was not chilled and the champagne glasses when they found us some were hot from the dishwasher as a result the bar was without staff at all while the poor girl went to find us an ice bucket.A small grumble but Holdsworth house holds many weddings small incidents as this should never happen.
Although i have a few reservations about the hotel (and i am not sure i would jump to recommend it to my best friends for a wedding )the day was great the reception room looked lovely and the staff and service on the whole pleasant and efficient.And i would love to see it at christmas time so maybe we will return but not to stay

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinkandfluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2009

With coming to Halifax quite a bit on business, i decided to bring the wife for a weekend away. Had the tasting menu, absolutely lovely food and presentation. Service was excellent, quiet and attentive. Decor was both cosy and classy. Would recommend to anybody who likes well presented delicious food in a lovely atmosphere. The other half would recommend the beauty treatment rooms.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lloydstsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2009

We stayed here for my niece's wedding and can thoroughly recommend it. The staff were friendly and welcoming from the very first and we were so impressed by the lovely old house and the excellent food. Our room was quiet, cosy and very clean with a very comfortable bed and the only little complaint would be the nesting rooks which woke us a bit early but I would rather have them than street noise. The wedding went without a hitch and I know the newlyweds were thrilled with it as were all the family. We even decided to stay an extra night and see something of the moors and Bronte country which was a treat for my wife. A weekend to remember

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FifeWorldtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2009

I stayed here for my friends' wedding and was impressed on our initial arrival. The room where they got married was v pretty as were many of the other common areas. We had decided to treat ourselves to a night but were disappointed when we saw the room. It was tiny, including the bed which we could barely fit on. It was also so soft that we disappeared the minute we laid on it. In their defense they let us look at some other rooms and pick one with a firmer bed. Unfortunately we still struggled to sleep on it so they gave us a camp bed. It can only be described as a torture device with springs that poked me in the back while my legs hung over the bottom. And they, without telling us, charged us £15 for the privilege. A v overpriced room, luckily it was for a fantastic occasion.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loubWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2009

As a regular visitor on business in the area, I have to say Holdsworth House, is not my first choice. Not that there is anything really wrong, but there is better on offer for the price. Some of my gripes probably wouldn't bother someone who stayed once or twice, but when you stay regularly, on your own, you notice things, and when the same thing happens again and again........
Firstly, on arrival, I agree with other reviewers, I don't expect to pay up front for my room. Not very welcoming. When asked why, I got a mumbled explanation of it being "policy". The offer of a free glass of wine is a nice touch that goes some way to make amends, but several times it's been forgotten.
The rooms are nice, if a little dated. Refurbishment is underway, and flat screen TV's are on the way. Beds are excellent,and the rooms are very quiet - two important points for me. Desks are small, and barely useable, and this takes me on to my main complaint - £15 for 24hrs internet access is very poor value. Others are offering 2 hours for a nominal charge, or increasingly, free of charge.
The main draw for Holdsworth House is the food, and rightly so. For a single business person travelling alone, just wanting something to eat without the full restaurant experience, the only alternative was Room Service. The new Bar Menu is therefore welcome, albeit not particularly good value for money. If you are after the "Restaurant Experience", then full marks for the restaurant (check the website photo's). The food is very good, but the service can be slow.
Another issue regarding service, perhaps not what you would expect reading some of the other reviews, but if you just want to sit in the bar and have a drink, it can be very frustrating as you have to catch the eye of the staff taking restaurant orders as they go by. Once there are no more diners waiting, I have had to walk in to the restaurant to find someone, several times I have had to go through to reception.
Lots of these issues can easily be rectified, and I hope that they are. Increasingly people will be questioning the sort of spend that Holdsworth is dependent on, I feel that the Hotel needs to adapt and move on. Too much of the emphasis is on the restaurant, and weddings. I don't feel that the place needs to move down market, just do what it does, better - and offer greater value for money. If it does that, then it will become my first choice.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deltagolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2009

We only stayed for one night on Valentine's Day. I wouldn't spend a week there but it was OK to chill out. The Hotel itself was very nice, exactly what is on the hotel's website. The location was OK but not much to do if you were staying for more than one night. There is a few pubs in walking distance if you don't want to stay in the hotel. We were greeted by a helpful receptionist. The room was cosy but everything was in working order. The best part of the room was the bed, very very comfortable. We had dinner in the restaurant, which was a set menu for V's Day. The only down-side was that our table was our table in was booked for 9pm. We were shown to the bar when we went down for dinner and given a glass of champagne. We had to ask to be seated at the table, got asked twice what we wanted for the main course and never got the jug of water. We sat down to eat at 9:45pm and ate at about 10:10pm. This doesn't sound too bad but we were having a five course meal! It was nearly midnight by the time we had finished. The food was really nice when we got it. Be careful when driving to the hotel, espcially if you are following the sat. nav., we nearly ended up going on rough, narrow roads that were covered in ice and had a vertical drop at the end of it.

  • Liked — The comfy bed and the food.
  • Disliked — The restaurant service and location
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lollypoppa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
2.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
3.3 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
10.7 mi away
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
Woodlands Hotel Leeds
#1 of 1 in Gildersome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
17.1 mi away
Oulton Hall & Spa
Oulton Hall & Spa
#1 of 1 in Oulton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant

Property: Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
Address: Holdsworth, Halifax HX2 9TG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#3 Family Hotel in Halifax
#3 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halifax's only four-star hotel is now listed in the 2013 Michelin Guide along with the country's elite hotels & restaurants. Holdsworth House is a beautiful Jacobean manor built in 1633, which has been owned and run by the Pearson family for 50 years. The manor stands in stunning, secluded gardens and is just three miles north of Halifax. It feels a world apart from the bustle of everyday life and is a perfect choice for accommodation, weddings and conferences. In this beautiful old house you'll find open fires, cosy lounges, fine antiques and tapestries that create a sense of history and comfort. The 39 charming bedrooms are all ensuite and have all been individually furnished. Dinner is served by candlelight in the 17th Century, oak-paneled 2 AA Rosette-winning restaurant whilst the Long Bar has a simpler brasserie style menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holdsworth House Hotel And Restaurant
Holdsworth Hotel Halifax
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing