We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Imperial Crown Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The New Hobbit(Sowerby Bridge)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (444)
Filter reviews
445 results
Traveller rating
151
172
67
34
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
151
172
67
34
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno lifttrain stationlocation is excellentprawn cocktailbit datedpiece hallcar parktown centreflights of stairssunday lunchbar and restaurantfree parkingbreakfast was excellentan upgradean updatebiscuitslovely hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
364 - 369 of 445 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I stayed here for one night whilst travelling. Free car park opposite the hotel.

Warm welcome by reception staff. Hotel is an impressive traditional building. My room was of adequate size and the standard of equipment was good. The decor was a little dated and the title does suggest a glimpse into the past. Bathroom fixtures and fittings were of superior quality and classic.

Food good and a lovely pub which sells real ale is situated adjacent.

Nice for a function or short trip. Very friendly staff and a quality feel.

Worth a visit.

Limited places to eat in town centre.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at The Imperial Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your most helpful report following your brief visit to the Imperial Crown Hotel.

I am glad that you found the hotel to your liking, if a little dated, and that you enjoyed your stay. It’s always good to hear that guests enjoyed the food as well as the accommodation and facilities.

I have taken the liberty of conveyed your compliments to the staff and look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit to Halifax.

Best regards,
John Mason

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Well what can I say? We had our wedding at this hotel and too say they did us proud would be the understatement of the century. From start to conception the planning from the wedding co ordinator and her team was exceptional. We cannot praise them enough. The hotel is ideal for the whole wedding experience as the hotel has unique and ornate fixtures and fittings which can add and did illuminate the wedding photos and add to the ambience and atmosphere of the venue.
We have not only eaten there for the wedding alas had several meals there as well. The cook/chef and his team are awesome and the food will leave you salivating.
The breakfast is a must with the kippers and poached egg a favourite of mine. Whether it be a coffee in the reception area or a glass of wine in the bar, it feels as if you are away from all the hustle and bustle of a town centre.. The place has so much character and the staff certainly add to this. I will have many more visits to the hotel and go to many more functions.
The hotel caters for all and is somewhere you must at least have elevens,s in. This hotel would not look out of place in a European City. Superb.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at The Imperial Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Wow & gosh!! I must say that although the team did believe that they had performed well for your very special event, such accolades as this review are rather overwhelming. Thank you so much.

Just as significant, are your joyful observations about the hotel itself… being elderly, the property doesn’t always draw such glowing comments. Nevertheless, you know how attached and proud we are of this quirky old ‘lady’ for all ‘her’ age-related problems..

Your generous appraisal has lifted all our spirits and made what we do seem all worthwhile. I can assure you that your kind remarks have created a renewed fervour through the team that will surely carry us forward as we embark on a busy festive season.

With repeated congratulations.
Best regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

I am so glad we won't be returning to this hotel. The rooms were so hot that we had the windows open all night in November and I still didn't sleep; this was with the radiator turned off.The hot water that comes out of the taps is verging on the dangerous. It is in an old building so rather noisy and creaky: bring your ear plugs. The bedroom lighting has been arranged so that either both bedside lights and the overhead light are on or they are all off. There was a bedside table only on one side of the double bed. It was all rather tired and there was mould round the windows.
Positives: the position is good, right opposite the station, the breakfast was freshly cooked. Staff cheerful and did deliver our morning paper to the door as requested.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eyefornaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at The Imperial Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to complete this customer review. I am sorry that you found the ambient temperature of the hotel rather warm and, indeed, that hot water supply to be too hot.

My maintenance supervisor has been unable to identify the problem you have reported about the bedroom light… all is working independently as they should be.

Needless to say, your generous comments about the food and the staff are much appreciated and, of course, have been conveyed to the team. Thank you.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I was at this Hotel at the weekend for my Son's wedding and I must say, full effort was put into making this day very special. The wedding co-ordinator could not be faulted, very on the ball with everything. The rest of the staff also were very considerate to your needs, and it was no bother to do anything you asked . The staff all like a laugh as well which is very unusual in some hotels.
Well worth another visit. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gisepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at The Imperial Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking time to register your earlier verbal appreciation of the hotel and staff during your recent attendance at your son & daughter-in-law’s wedding.

You may be assured that we had just as much pleasure from your company that weekend and now feel part of your wonderful family.

Very kindest regards,
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

I got married here n stayed for 2 nights n I can honestly say this place is great. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating and felt like nothing was too much trouble. The food for the wedding party was amazing and am still getting compliments on the food now. The rooms are spacious and well kept and the staff are on call if you need anything. Including a 3.15am breakfast as we had to leave for our honeymoon. Great hotel but more importantly it's the team of staff that make this place. Can't thank them enough for making the day so special.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank YodaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at The Imperial Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Reviewer,

My team and I are still reeling at the contents of your very gracious evaluation following your recent wedding and stay at the Imperial Crown Hotel. I appreciate very much that you and your guests enjoyed the wedding celebrations, the hotel’s facilities and, of course, the service. However, your observations about the staff are perhaps the most gratifying aspect of your review.

To record your feelings in black and white for the hopeful benefit of others is very special. Thank you.,

Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews