We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Imperial Crown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“holiday break”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a weeks break. Great location staff were excellent very helpful. The room was very clean and tidy I was even upgraded to a four poster bedroom which was a very nice. Breakfast consisted of everything you could ask for cereals, fruit full English nothing was too much of a problem for the staff. Evening dinner was exceptional I do not think I could fault it in any way, I would definitely stay again at this hotel. the only down side was the slight noise outside from the road. Halifax is a great town for a short break with surrounding areas for not only couples but families and solo people to visit .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rochelle U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    134
    59
    32
    20
See reviews for
61
138
29
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel while on a business trip. Friendly staff greeted us upon my arrival, and quickly sorted out my room.
The hotel was quiet through the night.
As someone else posted the hotel was quite warm but not too hot to be uncomfortable.
Breakfast consisted of toast, cereals, and a full English cooked on demand with hot and cold drinks. It was nice.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here with my daughter for visiting Eureka. Great location!

The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly, credit to the hotel. The hotel was nice, presentable and very clean.

My only niggle was the temperature of the room, very very hot. There was a radiator in the room which wasn't on so the hotel must just be very warm. I couldn't open the window as the catch couldn't stay open but there was a lot of noise outside (not the hotel, just people out and about I stayed on a Saturday night) so would have been disturbed by that.

I really did enjoy my stay though and the selection and quality of breakfast was excellent

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This property is right by the rail station and very good value for money. Breakfast was fine, with fresh fruit. I asked for a quiet room, and was given one. Decor is a bit dated, but everything is very clean and working.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moderntate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffs
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I will start by saying the staff in this hotel are very good and do the best to please customers. I was travelling with my wife and grown up son. We had a double for us and and a twin room for him. The light in the bathroom didn't work when we arrived and because it was the weekend the maintenance team weren't available so we were upgraded to a bigger room (on the corner plot overlooking front area -as in advert pic) This was a big room with an oversize bath. Bed was comfy and the room clean but could perhaps do with a bit of a revamp. Meals in the hotel are very nice and quite a reasonable price. TIP We were going to have an Indian meal so went into the first one up the hill on the right (going away from hotel and railway station) It looked a bit grotty as we went inside upstairs but as it was raining we thought" lets just try it anyway" but were put off by the amount of oil/grease swamping the popadums ! We offered to pay and promptly left and had our meal in hotel restaurant. The guy in hotel reception had said if we had walked a further 50 yds or so there is another quite good restaurant. We found that when walking about next day. Our only gripe was we couldn't get to sleep till way after 1.30am because of the wedding reception that was on that night. From the restaurant , the music couldnt be heard but from our room it was boom boom boom .Then we had the staying wedding guests saying "good night for an hour or so". TIP Best to check there isnt a wedding on when booking

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 40somethingsStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at The Imperial Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your most constructive report.

I am pleased that the problem caused by the expired bathroom light was resolved so efficiently. When ever possible, moving rooms is a far quicker solution than calling the maintenance supervisor over the weekend.

Your generous comments about the hotel’s food are much appreciated especially in the light of your unsatisfactory experience at an Indian restaurant in the town centre.

Although there were no weddings during December, I do apologise for the night-time disturbance you have recorded… I suspect that revellers at a Christmas party were the cause.

And finally, I am very proud of the hotel’s staff and so your kind remarks about the team are extremely rewarding. Thank you so much.

With best regards,
John Mason.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Maria, Cape Verde
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I stayed here for one night whilst travelling. Free car park opposite the hotel.

Warm welcome by reception staff. Hotel is an impressive traditional building. My room was of adequate size and the standard of equipment was good. The decor was a little dated and the title does suggest a glimpse into the past. Bathroom fixtures and fittings were of superior quality and classic.

Food good and a lovely pub which sells real ale is situated adjacent.

Nice for a function or short trip. Very friendly staff and a quality feel.

Worth a visit.

Limited places to eat in town centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at The Imperial Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your most helpful report following your brief visit to the Imperial Crown Hotel.

I am glad that you found the hotel to your liking, if a little dated, and that you enjoyed your stay. It’s always good to hear that guests enjoyed the food as well as the accommodation and facilities.

I have taken the liberty of conveyed your compliments to the staff and look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit to Halifax.

Best regards,
John Mason
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Well what can I say? We had our wedding at this hotel and too say they did us proud would be the understatement of the century. From start to conception the planning from the wedding co ordinator and her team was exceptional. We cannot praise them enough. The hotel is ideal for the whole wedding experience as the hotel has unique and ornate fixtures and fittings which can add and did illuminate the wedding photos and add to the ambience and atmosphere of the venue.
We have not only eaten there for the wedding alas had several meals there as well. The cook/chef and his team are awesome and the food will leave you salivating.
The breakfast is a must with the kippers and poached egg a favourite of mine. Whether it be a coffee in the reception area or a glass of wine in the bar, it feels as if you are away from all the hustle and bustle of a town centre.. The place has so much character and the staff certainly add to this. I will have many more visits to the hotel and go to many more functions.
The hotel caters for all and is somewhere you must at least have elevens,s in. This hotel would not look out of place in a European City. Superb.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at The Imperial Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Wow & gosh!! I must say that although the team did believe that they had performed well for your very special event, such accolades as this review are rather overwhelming. Thank you so much.

Just as significant, are your joyful observations about the hotel itself… being elderly, the property doesn’t always draw such glowing comments. Nevertheless, you know how attached and proud we are of this quirky old ‘lady’ for all ‘her’ age-related problems..

Your generous appraisal has lifted all our spirits and made what we do seem all worthwhile. I can assure you that your kind remarks have created a renewed fervour through the team that will surely carry us forward as we embark on a busy festive season.

With repeated congratulations.
Best regards,
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.2 mi away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#8 of 10 in Halifax
337 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#7 of 10 in Halifax
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
367 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
3.2 mi away
The Rock Hotel
The Rock Hotel
#10 of 10 in Halifax
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Crown Hotel

Property: The Imperial Crown Hotel
Address: The Imperial Crown Hotel 42-46 Horton Street, Halifax HX1 1QE, England (Formerly Imperial Crown Corus Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#7 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Crown Hotel is conveniently located in the centre of Halifax. Situated opposite Halifax Railway Station and The Eureka Children's Museum. The Victoria Theatre, Square Chapel, Piece Hall; plus other local attractions are all in close proximity. Making us a great choice for both Business and Leisure stays. The hotel offers a range of 41 bedrooms spread over 5 floors. All rooms are en suite with tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, television with free view channels, direct dial telephone, FREE Wi-Fi, FREE parking and a 24-hour reception and bar service. The Imperial Crown Bar & Restaurant offers Breakfast plus a wide range of meals, snacks and refreshments all available throughout the day, to both residents and non-residents. Our menu incorporates some truly mouth-watering British classics, all fresh and cooked to order. The iconic Archives Suite provides an excellent choice for Weddings, Private Functions and Conferences. Directions: Join the M62, and exit at J24. Take the A629 to Halifax, and follow the signs for Eureka Children's Museum and the railway station. The hotel is opposite the railway station. Our car park is located on the opposite side of the road, a permit will need to be displayed in your vehicle; which can be collected from our reception. Leeds Bradford International Airport is about 38 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Crown Corus Halifax
The Imperial Crown Hotel Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing