We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Imperial Crown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Friendly desk staff and the man looking after the bar and waiting on was very helpful and friendly. However, the rooms were dark, hit and in places a little dirty. The beds were clean and comfy but the room could do with a refurb. The Bathroom was outdated. Breakfast very disappointing, unless you just had the full English. All in all, it's ok for one night if it's not expecting anything special. Parking away from hotel not in secure zone. A shame as the hotel has potential and the young staff are lovely

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tania T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at the Imperial Crown with 6 other couples from April 21st until April 25th and everyone was very impressed with the hotel.
The booking in process was quick and easy.
The rooms were very clean with a plentiful supply on tea and coffee. The bedding and towels were of a high quality.
The food was excellent at both breakfast and dinner. Breakfast was cooked to order and the menu was extensive. Dinner was beautifully cooked and served with plenty of vegetables. We had a bar meal at lunch time one day and this was very good value. The chefs are to be congratulated!!
The bar and restaurant were very comfortable and the drinks reasonably priced.
Above all the staff were fantastic. Everyone was, without exception, pleasant, friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. They seemed genuinely happy in their work and are a credit to the hotel.
Thank you all so much.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel for a weeks break. Great location staff were excellent very helpful. The room was very clean and tidy I was even upgraded to a four poster bedroom which was a very nice. Breakfast consisted of everything you could ask for cereals, fruit full English nothing was too much of a problem for the staff. Evening dinner was exceptional I do not think I could fault it in any way, I would definitely stay again at this hotel. the only down side was the slight noise outside from the road. Halifax is a great town for a short break with surrounding areas for not only couples but families and solo people to visit .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rochelle U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed at this hotel while on a business trip. Friendly staff greeted us upon my arrival, and quickly sorted out my room.
The hotel was quiet through the night.
As someone else posted the hotel was quite warm but not too hot to be uncomfortable.
Breakfast consisted of toast, cereals, and a full English cooked on demand with hot and cold drinks. It was nice.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed here with my daughter for visiting Eureka. Great location!

The staff were extremely helpful and very friendly, credit to the hotel. The hotel was nice, presentable and very clean.

My only niggle was the temperature of the room, very very hot. There was a radiator in the room which wasn't on so the hotel must just be very warm. I couldn't open the window as the catch couldn't stay open but there was a lot of noise outside (not the hotel, just people out and about I stayed on a Saturday night) so would have been disturbed by that.

I really did enjoy my stay though and the selection and quality of breakfast was excellent

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica0511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

This property is right by the rail station and very good value for money. Breakfast was fine, with fresh fruit. I asked for a quiet room, and was given one. Decor is a bit dated, but everything is very clean and working.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moderntate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I will start by saying the staff in this hotel are very good and do the best to please customers. I was travelling with my wife and grown up son. We had a double for us and and a twin room for him. The light in the bathroom didn't work when we arrived and because it was the weekend the maintenance team weren't available so we were upgraded to a bigger room (on the corner plot overlooking front area -as in advert pic) This was a big room with an oversize bath. Bed was comfy and the room clean but could perhaps do with a bit of a revamp. Meals in the hotel are very nice and quite a reasonable price. TIP We were going to have an Indian meal so went into the first one up the hill on the right (going away from hotel and railway station) It looked a bit grotty as we went inside upstairs but as it was raining we thought" lets just try it anyway" but were put off by the amount of oil/grease swamping the popadums ! We offered to pay and promptly left and had our meal in hotel restaurant. The guy in hotel reception had said if we had walked a further 50 yds or so there is another quite good restaurant. We found that when walking about next day. Our only gripe was we couldn't get to sleep till way after 1.30am because of the wedding reception that was on that night. From the restaurant , the music couldnt be heard but from our room it was boom boom boom .Then we had the staying wedding guests saying "good night for an hour or so". TIP Best to check there isnt a wedding on when booking

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 40somethingsStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M, General Manager at The Imperial Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your most constructive report.

I am pleased that the problem caused by the expired bathroom light was resolved so efficiently. When ever possible, moving rooms is a far quicker solution than calling the maintenance supervisor over the weekend.

Your generous comments about the hotel’s food are much appreciated especially in the light of your unsatisfactory experience at an Indian restaurant in the town centre.

Although there were no weddings during December, I do apologise for the night-time disturbance you have recorded… I suspect that revellers at a Christmas party were the cause.

And finally, I am very proud of the hotel’s staff and so your kind remarks about the team are extremely rewarding. Thank you so much.

With best regards,
John Mason.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.2 mi away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
461 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#7 of 10 in Halifax
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
2.7 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
4.9 mi away
The Old Golf House Hotel Huddersfield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Crown Hotel

Address: The Imperial Crown Hotel 42-46 Horton Street, Halifax HX1 1QE, England (Formerly Imperial Crown Corus Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#7 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £32 - £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Crown Hotel is conveniently located in the centre of Halifax. Situated opposite Halifax Railway Station and The Eureka Children's Museum. The Victoria Theatre, Square Chapel, Piece Hall; plus other local attractions are all in close proximity. Making us a great choice for both Business and Leisure stays. The hotel offers a range of 41 bedrooms spread over 5 floors. All rooms are en suite with tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, television with free view channels, direct dial telephone, FREE Wi-Fi, FREE parking and a 24-hour reception and bar service. The Imperial Crown Bar & Restaurant offers Breakfast plus a wide range of meals, snacks and refreshments all available throughout the day, to both residents and non-residents. Our menu incorporates some truly mouth-watering British classics, all fresh and cooked to order. The iconic Archives Suite provides an excellent choice for Weddings, Private Functions and Conferences. Directions: Join the M62, and exit at J24. Take the A629 to Halifax, and follow the signs for Eureka Children's Museum and the railway station. The hotel is opposite the railway station. Our car park is located on the opposite side of the road, a permit will need to be displayed in your vehicle; which can be collected from our reception. Leeds Bradford International Airport is about 38 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Imperial Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Crown Corus Halifax
The Imperial Crown Hotel Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing