We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Murky Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Imperial Crown Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
London
1 review
“Murky Hotel”
Reviewed 26 January 2010

This hotel has the perfect location - next to the train station and only a short walk to the town centre - and that's where the positives end.

The hotel is dark and it felt it was stuck in 70s in terms on how it was decorated in the rooms. Sure, you could say that the rooms were "cosy" but when I ask for a double room I expect just that, it felt like a single.

breakfast was a strange experience, virtually empty dining room bar a man that just burped non-stopped - kind of put me off my food.

I had a friend who stayed in the White Swan - Same price, better experience.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamers01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    142
    60
    32
    20
See reviews for
62
149
32
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2010

The reception is a wood panelled room with a warm welcome from the receptionist. It sets a good first impression. Free hotel parking is a 1 minute walk away (which you will need to revisit to put the note in your car window to keep the clampers away), and was never full whilst I stayed. The strength of this hotel lies in the staff who were consistently attentive and very pleasant throughout my stay. The rooms and venue, without doubt, are in need of some serious modernisation with the carpet throughout reminincent of that which was in your grandparents house. The mahogany-veneer chipboard furniture in the room is from a slightly more recent era, as is the grey bathroom suite with mixer bath/shower tap - which thankfully does provide plenty of hot water to the shower head. The bed was comfortable. If you need to iron any creased clothing, be entertained with the 'there is an ironing board somewhere on every floor' game or cheat and collect the first one you see on any floor, as I guess everyone else does. When you need it, it seems a board is as rare as chickens teeth. Why oh why we are supplied a trouser press instead of an iron and board escapes me. The breakfast is hearty. The 3 course fixed-price dinner menu was no frills and I'd recommend you go for the bar menu instead. That way you can also watch the tv in the bar instead of sitting in the restaurant listening to the very loud music everytime the kitchen door opens. So, the hotel needs to spend some serious funds but in the meantime the staff should make your stay more than bearable.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wessex_Moonraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2009

Having read previous reviews, I'm having difficulty comparing them to the hotel I've just spent two nights at. Yes, the inside is surprisingly winding along the corridors, but you just follow the signs. The carpets are fine throughout and not threadbare, and my twin room was a decent size and the bathroom was clean. I'd happily return. The car park is across the road about 100m away, but theres no shortage of space there. For the price and the location, it's very good value.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wisebede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2009

We have stayed at the Imperial Crown many times over the past 7 years. It is convenient for the town centre and public transport. The en-suite rooms are comfortable although some are smallish and some do need redecoration. There is a pleasant bar area. The hotel has good catering, especially for breakfast, and friendly, helpful staff on the whole .
Its failings are a lack of organisation. On our last visit we were charged at the wrong rate because no one had looked at our central booking in detail. As a result, our room was about the farthest away from reception despite requesting a room as close as possible because of my wife’s disability. There is no lift and that is not a declared limitation of the hotel – again a reflection of the poor management. On the last trip, a serious problem was the preferential treatment given to a coach trip staying at the hotel and we were expected to dine communally with the trip and suffer the chaos. If a wedding is due then beware because organisation just falls apart.
We will continue to stay here since overall its benefits far outweigh its problems.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BensonDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,388 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2009

The Imperial Crown is well located opposite the train station and close to the high street. Plus, the price is decent and the breakfast not bad. Those are the only redeeming factors.

The rooms are a nightmare - take ages to find, down winding corridors and multiple flights of stairs (we were on the "first" floor) and are claustrophobically small, with creaking floor boards and windows that are not double glazed. Plus, they look like they have not been done up since WW1 or something!! Spent 2 sleepless nights listening to the traffic outside (even though there is almost no traffic in Halifax at night) and other guests walking up and down the corridors. The creaking and noise from outside the rooms seems to get amplified by the time it reaches inside - at one point, I could hear the person in the next room go to the toilet at 1am!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
44 Thank SidMehlwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2009

Was told food not defrosted yet. Food was eventually unedible.
Room was smaller than a 4 man tent.
Room was dirty like one would expect a prison.
Shower was around 6.2ft Im 6.3ft (an issue)
Staff not overally helpful,
Dont stay here under under circs.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cubafan2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2009

The hotel is formed of two buildings, the one we stayed in above a deserted night club was worse than i imagine a half-way house to be. The room/rooms we stayed in all smelt of stale cigarette smoke, the bath/shower was so dirty i stood on a towel in it, the walls/doors and bathroom were filthy and i felt concerned for my security entering the building on my own. Needless to say we complained, they didn't have a room available in the 'main building' building but moved on the second night . The hotel did not query our complaint as i'm sure they have heard it many time before. I think it's disgusting that they let guests stay in that dirty, smelly out-building.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SW44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.2 mi away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#8 of 10 in Halifax
361 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#7 of 10 in Halifax
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
1.4 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
374 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Rock Hotel
The Rock Hotel
#10 of 10 in Halifax
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Imperial Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Imperial Crown Hotel

Property: The Imperial Crown Hotel
Address: The Imperial Crown Hotel 42-46 Horton Street, Halifax HX1 1QE, England (Formerly Imperial Crown Corus Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Halifax
#6 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#7 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Imperial Crown Hotel is conveniently located in the centre of Halifax. Situated opposite Halifax Railway Station and The Eureka Children's Museum. The Victoria Theatre, Square Chapel, Piece Hall; plus other local attractions are all in close proximity. Making us a great choice for both Business and Leisure stays. The hotel offers a range of 41 bedrooms spread over 5 floors. All rooms are en suite with tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer, television with free view channels, direct dial telephone, FREE Wi-Fi, FREE parking and a 24-hour reception and bar service. The Imperial Crown Bar & Restaurant offers Breakfast plus a wide range of meals, snacks and refreshments all available throughout the day, to both residents and non-residents. Our menu incorporates some truly mouth-watering British classics, all fresh and cooked to order. The iconic Archives Suite provides an excellent choice for Weddings, Private Functions and Conferences. Directions: Join the M62, and exit at J24. Take the A629 to Halifax, and follow the signs for Eureka Children's Museum and the railway station. The hotel is opposite the railway station. Our car park is located on the opposite side of the road, a permit will need to be displayed in your vehicle; which can be collected from our reception. Leeds Bradford International Airport is about 38 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Imperial Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Crown Corus Halifax
The Imperial Crown Hotel Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing