We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After 18 years you never fail to impress”

La Tavas Mediterranean Restaurant
Price range: US$24 - US$39
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Welcome to La Tavas Mediterranean Restaurant in Halifax. What is it that makes us one of the best loved restaurants around?Firstly we’re a family run business so you’re always assured of a warm welcome and a first class level of customer service.Secondly - our food; it’s all prepared from scratch using the best quality ingredients. Our menu contains a wide range of traditional recipes be it Greek, Italian, Spanish and even Moroccan, Middle Eastern and North African. As well as these we also have a few dishes we’ve designed ourselves that offer some of these wonderful Mediterranean flavours but with a more contemporary approach.Everything here is made from scratch - even the breads, sauces and chutneys (which will soon be available to buy from this website)And finally, the atmosphere. The smell of the fresh food being cooked from the open kitchen drifts through into our traditionally styled dining area and the atmosphere is relaxed and friendly. This environment makes us the perfect choice whether it’s a meal with a loved one or a social event with friends and family.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“After 18 years you never fail to impress”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

After almost 18 years of eating at La Tavas on a regular basis either with family for special occasions, friends for a good night out or just by ourselves we find that the standard of the food along with the great variety on offer never fails to impress. The staff are friendly and the owners are both 'hands on' Its a pleasure to visit and we would highly recommend this restaurant to others.
Good Food - Good Service - Excellent value for money

Rodger & Colleen

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    18
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Have been to this restaurant numerous times. Never been disappointed with the meal and service. Alway recommend La Tavas to friends.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Authentic Mediterranean served with a Yorkshire accent!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

A solid performance here, the food was good and service was very good. It’s not quote a top end restaurant but what they do, they do very well. There were a couple of large parties in when we attended but this didn’t detract from our service at all and they managed a decent pace of service. Food quality was good with some nice specials, authentic and tasty. Would happily return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Superb dining experience”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Have dined at La Tavas many times & have never been dissapointed. However, after a gap of about a year, was hoping this would still be the case. I need not have worried, it 's standards have not slipped. It's a family run affair, from waiting staff to chef. Its cuisine is mediterranean, they always have a varied menu, their specials board which changes daily is usually where I choose from. Although if grilled sea bass is on the menu TRY IT !! ummm. Would advise booking on, Friday & Saturday evenings. (a recommendation in itself I think) Also open for lunch midweek. Don't do food piccys in restaurants, (Put the phone away, its not cool really). Trust me. this one;s worth a visit. Was amazed not listed on Trip Advisor, until now. ENJOY !!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Have visited la tavas four times now, once for lunch (extremely reasonably priced), twice with my partner and once with a party of nine. On each occasion the food has been perfect, service friendly. Am sure I will return many times as lots on menu I not tried yet. Good set price menu (crab and cod fishcakes yummy). My partner had the Greek board which he loved and it was very authentic. Deserts good too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maggiemay234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Tavas Mediterranean Restaurant also viewed

Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 
Brighouse, Huddersfield
 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Sowerby Bridge, West Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing