We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff!!!!!”

Coffee Culture Cafe
Ranked #19 of 21 Coffee & Tea in Halifax
Price range: US$5 - US$9
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch
Description: At Coffee Culture Catering we pride ourselves on being able to provide a friendly service while still providing excellent quality. Our cafe and function rooms are in the Mereside Centre which is situated in Shibden Country Park in just outside Halifax, West Yorkshire. The Cafe offers an opportunity to enjoy a meal, a snack or just a cup of coffee while enjoying the beautiful view of the park and the mere. Our flexible and adaptable Function Rooms offer a perfect setting for events of all kinds, whether for meetings, conferences and away days or children's parties, wedding receptions, christenings, or other celebrations. In December we provide Christmas meals for groups of all sizes, small or large.
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Normally come here with friends and children.The park is so good no matter what age they are.The cafe is a nice spot just to sit and have a nice drink or food.The hot chocolate is absolutely fantastic if you ever go try it.The title of review is rude staff and I have to say this man was very rude muttering under his breath at us.There was a group of us so we found a big table and a little one toaccomadate us.We picked these tables so we could see the younger children outside.Safety and all that as they wanted to still play out.At this point he said there was a bigger table in back of cafe.To which we stated nicely our purpose for choosing the table we were at.To this his reaction was very rude and started muttering under his breath at us and was very abrupt.A very rude man!!! If the weather had been better we would all have left and gone somewhere else!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BEX035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffee C, Finance Manager at Coffee Culture Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Thankyou for your review. We are sorry your visit was not up to the standard our staff usually work to. However our Cafe is laid out in such a way that there is ample access for wheelchairs, buggies etc to navigate around the cafe. When tables are moved out of that layout it impeded access to these groups and can also cause a Health and Safety Issue. We hope that you can understand the need for us to maintain a safe, accessible Cafe area for all our customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2013

Rather better than the standard café in the park, this has quite a full menu of more healthy food than usual, with no burgers, and reasonably priced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffee C, Manager at Coffee Culture Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thankyou for your comments, we do pride ourselves on our healthy Menu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Went just me and my one year old,which can be difficult sometimes but staff were helpful, the food was lovely with good variety and the coffee was great. Seeing lots of families and people with very young children / babies meeting here and can see why as has all the facilities needed, food well priced especially for children and set in Shibden Park which was also great if with children.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JayR360
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffee C, Manager at Coffee Culture Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thankyou for your review, we are pleased that our staff were helpful and that you have a pleasant visit to our Cafe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Nice cafe within the visitor centre, serving a good range of food and drinks. Very busy at weekends especially at weekends and when sunny. Nice raised terrace to the front with seating, overlooking the park.

Thank Fueng2768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

been to this cafe a few times, food is reasonable, though most seems like its bought in. trouble is in this newish visitor cente the design is poor, doors that close slowly means you get blasted by the elements every time anyone comes in. place soesn't seem looked after, sofas missing their legs and floors clearly need re-sealing. the tables in the play area have lost their coating, you can see through to the chipboard - not very hygenic in a food establishment.

very busy though - they only had takeaway cups available for cofee, so others must rate it well!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coffee C, Manager at Coffee Culture Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2013

Thankyou for your review. We would like to point out that the floor in our Cafe has now been replaced and we have new sofas in our comfortable seating area. Also we produce the majority of our menu on the premises with very few 'bought-in' items and we are very proud of this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coffee Culture Cafe also viewed

Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Sowerby Bridge, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Coffee Culture Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing