We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, probably wouldn't stay again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Old Post Office
Ranked #12 of 15 Halifax B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Basic accommodation, if you have trouble with stairs this place may trouble you up to the first floor. The stair are fine until the last few steps then they get narrow and steeper. The room was clean, lino flooring I was about the bar area so noise was there but not that bad, as long as the windows were closed. Didn't eat there. Staff were really friendly, no problems with them. Didn't have a drink in the bar as I was shattered. All in all wouldn't book again other than for the reason of it being well priced.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2013

i have stayed here a few times and to begin with i thought it was a great find but the more often i have stayed the worse it has become. Firstly it is not a B&B but a number of rooms next to a pub. There is no breakfast and no one is available if the pub is not open.

The rooms have been done up to a decent standard and the despite being on a road it is quiet and a good location for Halifax.

Some of the rooms have had a few teething problems - hot water and heating not working and the beds are a bit spongy but on the whole they are ok for the price.

The biggest issue is NOISE. As they expand and do more rooms the insulation between rooms is non existent so u can hear the upstairs person going to the toilet etc. Also the front door cannot be shut quietly so last in and first out will wake the whole place up and i mean everyone regardless of what room you are in.

Then there is the pub. Quite nice and quiet but then they just play music at random times and have midweek late parties. You cannot offer accommodation and then play music until 2am!!! If you have kids etc do not stay here (although family rooms are a good size). If you are happy to stay in pub until it shuts you might enjoy it.

With Premier Inn recently opening and doing the same, but better and cheaper

Room Tip: ask when the pub will shut - this is imperative if u want a good nights sleep. I have been then when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pat k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

After reading the reviews I expected better. ( unbeknown to us and not influenced in the price we paid) The place was under going renovations so maybe just a bad time to stay but the workmanship was really shoddy and the shower was almost hanging off the wall, the radiator was leaking (they did change our room when told them) we where woken at 8.30am by construction work going on above. For the price we paid I think next time we are in the area we will just stay at a chain hotel as at least you know what your getting.
Take away the fact construction was going, on then I would have to say the rooms are cramped and and there was mold around the window. This place would probably be better suited to contractors more than couples and families. We would not stay again and would not recommend to friends or family.

Positives to this place:
The pub down stairs was a nice place to have a drink and the bar staff are really nice and made the stay much nicer.
Its pretty central and still not to noisy outside.

Room Tip: Double check no construction or renovations are going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

Ups:

The location is perfect for visiting or working in Halifax, 5 minute walk to all of the shops, bars and restaurants and there's not a bad selection!

The bar staff are so friendly, made us feel really welcome, chatting away and interested in us and why were in Halifax!

The Thai food, absolutely amazing! Paj is a legend! Probably the best Thai food we've ever had. She even made a child friendly stir fry for our daughter!

The price, can't beat 60 a night for a room!

The downs:

The beds and bedding weren't the best, the bed was lumpy and the quilt cover was too big for the quilt so not very comfy!

The radiator in our room kept making a clanging noise and we had to get out of bed and turn it off

The restoration work was disruptive on a Saturday morning before 9am, loud music and banging .

Overall we enjoyed our stay though

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarahw81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Never stayed in the Old Post Office but had many drinks there, everyone is friendly and all the barmaids are gorgoeus especially Fran who loves a jaeger bomber and her friends also,so if your in the area pop in you will have fun.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank POMPEYGEEZER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights whilst working on a restaurant in the town centre. The guest house is within reach of the train station and minutes from the city centre.

The bar is friendly and I was warmly welcomed by the landlord/owner and barstaff.

My only criticisms- although they shouldn't detract- was that my room wasn't cleaned after my first night (i stayed 2 nights). My cup still had coffee in it from when I left for work and my bag of rubbish had not been cleared. Also, the microwave (which was hidden away in the wardrobe) wasn't very clean at all. I used the microwave as I'm on a budget and bought some food from Sainsburys (practically next door) and needed to warm it.

Overall, It's a very convenient & friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank englishpunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Single woman staying by herself. Couldn't have been made more welcome. Staff very friendly and the locals too! The room was lovely and warm, and the tea and coffee making facilities very handy. Had a Thai meal on the second evening of my stay and it was really good and tasty. They are undergoing a refurb but still the standards were very high. Highly recommended and I will certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: I had room 6 which looked out over the main road, but it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
0.2 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.1 mi away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#7 of 10 in Halifax
420 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#8 of 10 in Halifax
223 reviews
2.8 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
312 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Rock Hotel
The Rock Hotel
#9 of 10 in Halifax
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Post Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Post Office

Address: 55 Winding Road, Halifax HX1 1SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Halifax
Price Range: £47 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Post Office 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Old Post Office reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Post Office Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing