We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Passable, but not cheap for pub grub”
Review of The Sun Inn

The Sun Inn
Ranked #144 of 298 Restaurants in Halifax
Price range: US$6 - US$26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Passable, but not cheap for pub grub”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The first drawback was to be told by the host what wasn't on the menu - this limited our choice substantially. We ordered drinks which took some time to come and yet the place wasn't very busy. The food was OK (though again quite a wait) but nothing special. I have to say, a burger (picked by the absence of alternatives) at nearly a tenner is overpriced. The drinks, too, were overpriced - a small glass of wine was, I think, £4.50-ish. I really don't mind paying for good food, wine and service but compared with other local establishments this was a let down.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cantuccinibiscuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    47
    24
    36
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A good Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We called to book, which turned out to be a good idea. The carvery had pork, beef and gammon, the gammon being my choice and very tasty. The veg options were varied, could do with being a bit hotter, temperature wise. The staff were attentive without being nosey, Chris being particularly note worthy. Defo worth a visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BosiBev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Changing hands........”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

First if all if you have been to the Sun Inn before the ownership seems to have changed back to the Blue Moon Pub Company and is doing a similar thing to what they did before - deals based on 1,2 or 3 courses, carvery etc. In my opinion this is a good thing both in terms of the price structure and food on offer.

We went on a Tuesday night and it was busy. Service was friendly and efficient. Food was good pub grub and I can recommend the smoked haddock risotto. Three of us had 3 courses and two bottles of wine and the bill was about £68 which was great value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spence19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really poor service from the staff”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Food was good, good choice and a reasonably priced offer. The staff and service let the restaurant down, quite unorganised and slow!

Helpful?
1 Thank CPickles13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The staff make this restaurant!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

The only thing that let our visit down was the fact there was no t-bone steak!
This was our first visit and we were very impressed with everything. The food was absolutely spot on and the staff were just as brilliant. We came in with two boys under 10 and we felt very welcome and the staff went above and beyond to ensure everything was to satisfaction.
I think you have just made regulars out of us :-)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lornalion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sun Inn also viewed

Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Wyke, West Yorkshire
 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Rastrick, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Sun Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing