We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“peace” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Halifax Minster

Halifax Minster
Ranked #7 of 36 things to do in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“peace”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

although i am not religious i love to visit this church the grounds the inside they have such a calming effect .so when i am down this end of town i always visit

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank hillwalker1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    24
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
303 reviews
167 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inside.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

I've lived in Halifax all my life and until last week I'd never been inside the Mister. The building has always looked very unimpressive from the outside, but once you go through the doors the building is transformed. The interior is beautiful, plenty of wooden carvings, lovely windows and very well maintained and clean. Don't be put off by the outside, go in and have a look, you'll be glad you did.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank milligan1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
150 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

Visited as part of our self-made tour of Halifax. Wonderful building, designed by Gilbert-Scott and his son who also designed Anglican Cathedral in Liverpool (where we come from) -he also designed the red telephone box (an icon). Informative, friendly guides and good to experience the sound of the wonderful organ played by an organ student.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LiverpoolSmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“I Was Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

Living in West Yorkshire I had visited Halifax several times over the past few years but had never visited the Minster till this last year. Its pretty grim from the outside but you can be sure of a warm welcome from the volunteers who give their time freely to help people see this beautiful old church. The windows are beautiful and so are the many plaques to the long gone of Halifax.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank YorksPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A MUST VISIT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

A wonderful place of worship. Everywhere well kept , great architecture. Quite awesome interior and the ceiling interesting.

Helpful?
Thank Tellitasitis213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Halifax Minster also viewed

Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Halifax Minster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing