We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great buzz but noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Caffe Bardolino

Caffe Bardolino
Ranked #32 of 292 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
yorkshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great buzz but noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Cafe Bardolino is a great place to eat and meet friends for a drink. Not really a restaurant but not a wine bar either ~ a mix of both. The menu is quite varied and the food is delicious. Attention from the staff is good without being overbearing. The only drawback is that because of the wooden floors and high ceiling, it can be extremely noisy and the noise echoes so that you can hardly hear what guests are saying. Otherwise a great place when it is quieter.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 6bestfriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    69
    18
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a Terrible Meal.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We had never been to this place before but decided to try it on a whim.
There are very few vegetarian options as we discovered on scanning the menu. Our enquiry about the possibility of any vegetarian meals caused the waitress to go off and enquire.
I opted, out of a limited choice, for the penne arabiatta.
The waitress returned to enquire if I would like it to contain olives. I confirmed that I would like olives.
The bowl of pasta arrived with a few sludgy pieces of undercooked vegetables, a lot of sauce over the penne, and six sorry-looking black olives.
Worst of all, on taking the first mouthful, there was just one searingly hot sensation of chilli.
Whilst one would expect a certain kick from a little chilli in the ingredients, this was so strong it overwhelmed my sense of taste. It was as if the chef (?) had sneezed whilst adding the chilli which drowned out any other flavours.
There was no suggestion of any other spices in the sauce, it was just a fiery heat obliterating anything else.
The few pieces of vegetable within the sauce were tasteless and out numbered by the penne. The six olives were of the poorest quality; small, hard and nasty. They tasted of nothing, and resembled the cheap type used in cocktail drinks.
When asked about the food, I explained to the waitress that it was just a mass/mess of chilli. She offered to start again with a fresh penne. However, my taste buds had died by this stage and I was unable to taste anything else. I bottle of water assuaged the fire in my mouth before I
paid and we departed.
It is difficult to make a mess of an overpriced penne arabiatta, but this place managed it.
Awful, and to be avoided if you wish to preserve your sense of taste.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Wishwell18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“nice food but no good if you're in a rush!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I've eaten here a few times during both lunch and dinner servings. The food has always been consistently good, not a huge choice on the menu but always nice.
However, Its apparent that no matter how busy (or quiet) the restaurant may be, the service is really slow. Often they serve tables that have arrived after us and this is quite annoying! The other negative is that the tables are pretty close together so no romantic intimate meals to be had here! Its also really noisy but that's often the case in smaller restaurants. A nice local restaurant service good food but don't go if you are in a hurry!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tp-ontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Nice but only average for the price!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Went with a few friends one of whose dish was served cold - shows it is reheated. My dish was nice and tasty but plate was cold so the dinner cooled very quickly. The veg that it came with was nice but the sautéed potatoes were such a tiny portion and blatantly cooked before so when you bite into it it's all mushy and not nice. After £12.50 you shouldn't still feel hungry! The ice cream was gorgeous as was the carrot cake very moist but the cheesecake a little curdled. Enjoyed it but due to price and standard I would only go again if they improved on the basics. Could have cleared our table a little sooner. So many times waitresses walked passed and saw but didn't clear.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Missyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

This was our second visit to Caffe Badolino.

The food again was excellent and the staff were attentive as usual.

The price is reasonable and the food is fresh and cooked to perfection.

We will definitely return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank daz2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe Bardolino also viewed

Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Caffe Bardolino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing