We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular guest”
Review of Rose Cottage B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Halifax
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rose Cottage B&B
Ranked #6 of 15 Halifax B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We have stayed with Elizabeth and Eric many times. They are the most welcoming, helpful and gracious hosts. When we go there it is like coming home again. The cottage itself is delightful and has every amenity which we need. It is situated in the Shibden Valley in a quiet country setting but is conveniently close to the town and other amenities. There are many interesting and historic places to see within easy traveling distance. We recommend them highly to anyone wishing to stay in this area.

Room Tip: Either room is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 31 December 2012

If you're looking for a traditional Yorkshire bed and breakfast in the heart of the West Riding then look no further. I have stayed on many occasions and always look forward to the warm and friendly welcome. The rooms are both first class (1 twin, 1 double) and both are much larger than you would normally find and have very well appointed en-suites. There is a very comfortable guest lounge in the manner of a snug/library. And best of all . . . the fabulous Yorkshire breakfasts! Liz is a very accomplished cook (Eric can turn out a mean scrambled egg too I recall!). Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Both rooms are quiet and very comfortable. Just choose between the double of the twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2012

A really warm welcome with a pot of tea and biscuits (which was very welcome after a long journey) and settled in the lounge. Your hosts really made an effort to make me feel at home and part of the family, but know when to chat to you and when to let you be, and that takes real skill. A very comfortable bed in a quiet and well laid out room with everything you could possibly want. A little difficult to find so listen carefully to the directions. The breakfast choice is superb but I just settled for one of the best cooked English breakfasts ever in my 60 plus years! A very lovely and caring couple and come highly recommended. I shall ask to stay again the next time I have to attend a meeting in Halifax and if they haven't room I shall try to change the dates so that I can stay there.

Room Tip: Both rooms are super. The twin has a shower (a power shower!) and the double has a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AAWD67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We have stayed here so many times we cannot remember; the owners are charming and amazingly helpful and friendly. The breakfasts are Cordon Bleu standard There is a very comfortable resident's lounge and all the rooms are clean and interesting - and so many books and magazines to read too!

The twin room dates back to the 15th Century with exposed beams, but has a modern en suite; the double room is spacious too and has an enormous triangular bath in its en suite bathroom!

Don't be put off by the approach road, which is not made up; it's worth bumping your way along to the end!

Room Tip: If you want a really powerful shower, go for the twin room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

me and my wife stayed here for a few days on a tour of Emerdale and summer wine and i am glad we picked here the people were lovely and nice could not do enough for us and the place was very quiet ,it was very clean and the food was very good would strongly recommend this to any body who is doing the same sort of thing we came down from Yorkshire after doing heartbeat and finding where the Royal was filmed > ?? thank you very much for a good stay and made our break so good ??

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
2.2 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
447 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
4.1 mi away
The Rock Hotel
The Rock Hotel
#9 of 10 in Halifax
162 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Halifax
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Cottage B&B

Address: Rose Cottage Shibden Fold, Halifax HX3 6XP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Halifax
Price Range: £35 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rose Cottage is situated in the lovely Shibden Valley near Halifax. It has high level of comfort and facilities. Guests have easy access to a selection of local inns offering superb food and real ales just 10 minutes walk from the B&B. A perfect base for Halifax, Bradford, Leeds, the Yorkshire Dales and The Peak District. The house parts of which date back to the 15th century, was originally the manor farm of Shibden Hall. Guests can expect spacious, comfortable and centrally heated accommodation which includes two bedrooms and a study. There are extensive gardens with multiple patios. Relax in either of the two individual and luxurious en-suite bedrooms followed by a fresh, homecooked breakfast of your choice. Safe parking and the use of a private study are provided. The "Elizabeth Rose" Room, with a double bed with en-suite bath and shower facilities. The "Tudor Rose" is a twin bedded room with en-suite shower. Both rooms are beautifully decorated and luxuriously furnished in a warm and comfortable style. The "Tudor Rose" has a stunning display of oak beams. Each bedroom has tea & coffee facilities, biscuits, sweets, still and sparkling water, television, and radio/alarm clock. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Cottage B&B Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing