We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little gem you must try out!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Towngate Brasserie

Towngate Brasserie
Ranked #1 of 291 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Based in Hipperholme a village in the Calderdale area of West Yorkshire, located between the towns of Halifax and Brighouse comes Towngate Brasserie.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little gem you must try out!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

We tried Towngate brasserie for somewhere a bit different last night. They have obviously put a lot of effort in to decorating and getting the feel of the place modern and welcoming. On a cold night coming in and sitting in front of the fire with a drink before your meal was really nice. It was quite quiet when we were there but it was a Thursday night in January so we expected that.

The food was really lovely. A restaurant always gets extra points from me if there are more than one vegetarian option on the menu so you don't feel second class and frustrated that you don't have a choice. My partner had the steak and said it was delicious. The food overall was lovely with special mention of the peanut butter biscuits with pudding. They were fab.
Service was really good attentive polite and warm.
Overall a really welcoming, comfortable place to have a great meal. Would highly recommend you try it out. It is definitely worth it.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PS&DJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    55
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
78 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“good food not much buzz”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

the food is good for a local restaurant and reasonably priced although starters are a little small. lacking a bit of atmosphere and buzz.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great gastronomic grub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

My family and I have spent several years going to the Yorkshireman, Towngates predecessor. We were very apprehensive at first as the Yorkshireman never disappointed. We are happy to say that Towngate has surpassed our expectations. The greeting was very enjoyable and the decor is of a high standard, and modern. The menu is neouveau cuisine and at first I thought rather small, but the three course meal was more than sufficient. What I think makes this restaurant is a three course meal and a glass of wine is around £30 per person (depending on what you choose, obviously) and I think this is very respectable. It has come at a good time where the financial climate is grim but you can still have good food at a reasonable price. I wish them every success! And yes we will be returning!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfanatic1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thoroughly amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

Went here on the recommendation of my boyfriend and was not disappointed! Without a doubt the best meal I have ever had. For a starter I had the tandoori wood pigeon, followed by the duck special. Both were beautifully presented and tasted delicious; Wonderfully cooked and could only leave me wanting a dessert! Each course was fantastic and the other half (a chef) could not pick fault! I couldn't recommend this place enough -the snug before eating was warm and cosy, the service was outstanding and I just hope that this place is recognised for the amazing food that it does! Best wishes for the future!

Helpful?
Thank Freya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just what the local area needs...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

Just what the local area needs - somewhere REALLY, REALLY nice to eat!! Visited twice since the re-launch; once for evening meal and during the day for lunch. The food is of excellent quality and the menu exciting – most dishes on the menu list a twist you wouldn’t necessarily expect, but be assured the creative combinations work perfectly.

Good choice of wine and local beers, great relaxed atmosphere suitable for couples and groups, cosy area for drinks on arrival and friendly staff. And…..very importantly for me, the toilets are also spotless!

Returning for a third visit tomorrow evening, and I know I won’t be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Towngate Brasserie also viewed

 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Towngate Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing