We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice find”
Review of Towngate Brasserie

Towngate Brasserie
Ranked #1 of 298 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Based in Hipperholme a village in the Calderdale area of West Yorkshire, located between the towns of Halifax and Brighouse comes Towngate Brasserie.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice find”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Had been meaning to try out Towngate for a while, finally 4 of us went on a Wednesday night. Had delicious mango mojito cocktails in the bar to start with. Wednesday happens to be steak night, £30 for two with a bottle of wine and chunky chips, roast vine tomatoes etc. My husband's fillet steak was perfect, cooked spot on, rested and so tender. I had a scallop dish followed by sea bass with pak choi. Both courses were light and tasty and faultless. The decor is welcoming and the staff were super. We will definitely go back again. The pricing is very sensible and the ambience lovely, a really great find.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CupcakeCandyQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    58
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
“New up and coming place to be.”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

What a fantastic Wednesday night meal. Two fillet steaks and a bottle of wine for £30..perfectly cooked and every part of the meal served with a smile from the very warming staff there. Defiantly recommend and will be going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sladds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Had a great evening - the food and wine were lovely - would like to visit more often, but feel as if
we couldn't just pop in for an early evening meal with children - too formal to go regularly. Such a shame as if menu were toned down a little bit we'd be there lots!!! Front of house staff excellent.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jules A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greetland, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Met up with some old friends and their two 20-something daughters last night and had a wonderful meal. I was a bit dubious about scallops with ox cheek puree but it was delicious and the rack of spring lamb was to die for. Everybody else enjoyed their meals and the wine was very good value. Recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Saturday Night”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Tried this restaurant for the first time last Saturday, couldn't fault anything, we had cocktails on arrival, my husband asked for a rye and dry old fashioned, the barman was very obliging and produced the drink although it wasn't on the menu. The food was fantastic with some combinations of vegetables different to other restaurants. The restaurant is not over crowded, the staff are professional and friendly. We had a very enjoyable evening, prices are reasonable and I would recommend this lovely restaurant to anyone who enjoys good food and excellent service.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Towngate Brasserie also viewed

 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Towngate Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing