We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“new flavours” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Towngate Brasserie

Towngate Brasserie
Ranked #1 of 291 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Based in Hipperholme a village in the Calderdale area of West Yorkshire, located between the towns of Halifax and Brighouse comes Towngate Brasserie.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“new flavours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

My family took me to this restaurant for my birthday. I enjoyed every mouthful of the delicious meal and wondered what ingredients had been used to create those tasty flavours. The men of the party felt they would have enjoyed a larger portion of potatoes or chips,but I am sure if they had asked more would have provided. The ambience was excellent too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank d0tty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    277
    55
    11
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Always lovely!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We live reasonably close to Towngate Brasserie and have been many times over the past few years. We usually go on the spur of the moment on a Sunday afternoon and are never disappointed. The food is always absolutely beautiful, with a great choice, with interesting beers and wines to try, and all at very reasonable prices. We love the laid back atmosphere and always find the staff professional, friendly and courteous. A real gem, well worth a visit!

Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bad customer service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Very disappointed considering it had good reviews previously, the £23 steak was tough and the mushrooms were like eating rubber, wasn't happy and complained, no money was refunded despite the fact that the meal was not eaten, a free half of lager was given as recompense. Wine £5.25 a glass. Will not be returning! Felt completely ripped off!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
9 Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thomas H, Owner at Towngate Brasserie, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
We do strive to make sure that all of our customers enjoy the food that we prepare and on the odd occasion that it isn't right we aim to rectify it as soon as possible.

In response to your review on this forum we do feel that it is important to provide the reason for our decision not to refund the steak dish your partner ordered.

1. Upon ordering the 10oz fillet steak your partner asked for the dish to be cooked 'very well done'. Our manager who took your order did double check that he wanted it to be cooked like this, to which he confirmed. We did rest the steak to allow it to loosen but inevitably, the cooking instruction he provided will firm up the meat and cause it to toughen as you describe.
2. After 10 minutes of receiving the dish and giving you both the opportunity to try all of the elements of the meal, a member of staff came to your table to check that you were happy, to which you nodded and your partner replied 'yes' and confirmed by nodding his head. The reason why we check back is to change any dishes that do not meet your expectation or they are cooked incorrectly.
3. After we checked on your meal, it was possible for you to highlight any issues with the staff and the manager on duty as they caught your eye a couple of times throughout the duration of your meal.
4. When you finished your meals and the waitress came to clear the plates you explained your partner didn't enjoy his steak. Upon requesting clarification as to what was wrong he said the steak was tough and asked if wild mushrooms have a different texture to 'normal mushrooms'. The waitress explained that the steak was cooked as he requested and confirmed that wild mushrooms do have a different texture to button or field mushrooms. He accepted this and then admitted that he 'just didn't really like it'.

Upon receiving your comment, the waitress immediately checked other diners who were in the restaurant at that time to see how their steak was and another table who ordered after you. The decision to not refund the meal was a combination of your partner's comments and also took into account the comments regarding this dish from other diners earlier that evening, who were highly complimentary about the steak and its accompaniments.

We do sincerely apologise if you felt that our decision was made flippantly or in ignorance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We've been eating here in its current guise and under two previous owners. It's consistently been our favourite local eaterie for several years, and under the current regime is at its best ever standard.
The current chef is Tom (joint owner too) and he has a flare for producing excellently timed meals of the most flavoursome local ingredients and not at eye-watering prices.
Whatever we've eaten, from the freshest seafood to exquisitely melt in the mouth steaks, the standard is consistently outstanding.
The wine list is comprehensive, and doesn't break the bank, and the well-stocked bar always provides the appropriate pre-dinner thirst quencher.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JohnofHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Guaranteed a good meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We've eaten here four times now & every time has been lovely. Relaxed atmosphere with excellent well cooked food with plenty of attention to detail.

It isn't cheap but you get what you pay for & we don't mind paying that bit more when we know we will have a great meal.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HayleyJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Towngate Brasserie also viewed

 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Towngate Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing