We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD FAMILY FOOD”
Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
Ranked #178 of 305 Restaurants in Halifax
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Bright and modern, Pizza Express offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“GOOD FAMILY FOOD”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We visited as a family of four after being at the cinema. We all had dough balls to start which came with garlic butter and pesto and was very tasty. My daughter had the children's menu and upgraded for an extra pound as she has a good appetite. Unfortunately my order didn't arrive at the same time as the other members of my family. However this was spotted and they apologised, offered me complimentary nibbles and refunded the price of the pizza. I was impressed with their customer service as we are only human and mistakes happen! We also got a big jug of tap water with our drinks and the serving staff were very attentive. We finished with a dessert and coffee and all thought it was a lovely Saturday night treat. I would take the family again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank talldeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    56
    34
    37
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Had better elsewhere”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Food is mediocre. However this is an Italian eatery run entirely be very young British adults/children. They're all very nice until you make a complaint. Then the noise levels and banging increase. A little like petulant children. A 660ml bottle of Birra Moretti costs in the pub next door £2.94. In Pizza Express a similar beer, Peroni is £6.35! The pizza's have a soggy base. Correctly cooked they would have been nice and crisp. Will I be visiting again.....no. I'll stick with authentic Italian cuisine.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tony O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“excellent food in great atmosphere”
Reviewed 27 January 2014

PE have been around for many years and have an excellent product. This restaurant will be really good come the good weather with views, from the outdoor seating, across the valley to Beacon Hill. Only one complaint = the latest menu doesn't include my all time favorite "Capriciosa" pizza.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ricwoo2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Value and Location”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Ate here twice while on a recent stay in Halifax. Excellent service, reasonable price. No complaints.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank 222MaryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good for Children - but no reason to visit for adults - ever.”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I liked the layout and furnishings of Pizza Express. I felt that I was then in a well rehearsed process. There were lots of complicated deals for the Pizzas. Incredible high prices for a small Pizza with probably the worst sugar tasting base I have ever tasted. Why come here when you could visit a real restaurant? Apparently its good for kids because they have a children's menu and colouring books etc.

If your not visiting with children you can visit any other restaurant, literally, and it will be better. Expensive and really bad tasting food. Kind of glad the portions were so small. Dreadful. No personality.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing