We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden gem”

The New Prospect Inn
Ranked #70 of 298 Restaurants in Halifax
Price range: US$6 - US$22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
York, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Wife and I took the short walk up from Halifax early on Saturday evening. Bout a mile and took us around 20 minutes. Beer was in fine form and the food, was really good. Prices were extremely reasonable. We could have had 2 steaks for £19.99 (midweek it's £12.99 for 2 steaks) which is ridiculously good value. However I had the burger (£6.45) and Jane had steak and ale pie (£5.99) Proper steak in the pie, the burger was home made, great homemade chips, and a bulging plateful of food. Jane then had chocolate cheesecake (home made again) which was only £2!

It's a shame the place wasn't busier. OK it isn't haute cuisine, but Food is good, plentiful and cheap. Real Ale is kept beautifully, and the staff are friendly and welcoming. Perhaps if more people read reviews like this they will become as busy as they fully deserve to be!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    14
    11
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
71 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“fab food”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I went with some friends for a meal last night and was surprised how quiet the pub was for a sat night, which is a shame as it is a lovely pub. My friends and I had a meal which was delicious, we all agreed and very reasonably priced, I had hunters chicken which was a huge chicken breast, my sister had a burger which she said was very filling and could'nt finish it, the onion rings with it were huge! The only down side was, 2 of us had looked at the menu in advance and had decided on jam roly poly for pud, when we ordered we were told the only thing not available was jam roly poly! We had white choc cheesecake instead which was lovely, but being picky, I would have put fruit coulis on top, not choc shavings!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jayne67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“warm and welcoming”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We took two friends to have a bite to eat at the New Prospect
first impressions was how welcoming and clean the pub was
our meals did not disappoint either
Two prospect burgers for the lads they looked and tasted amazing
One sirloin steak for £8 .50 seems impossible but was perfectly cooked and well presented
I went for the chicken fajItas wonderful
I have to say not one of us were disappointed and all for under a £30
all freshly cooked so be patient its worth it
so get yourself down there its a no brainer
we will definitely be going back
its nice to see a family run pub so use it or loose it
they are doing all the right things

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eberry53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We went Boxing Day the food was lovely well worth the money, the staff couldn't do enough for us. Love the open fire and will be going again as we live only round the corner

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vicky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Still good”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Been again and the standards are as high as when it first opened the sunday dinner was great. looking forward to many more visits.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hx3food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The New Prospect Inn also viewed

Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The New Prospect Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing