We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcome”

The New Prospect Inn
Ranked #70 of 297 Restaurants in Halifax
Price range: US$6 - US$22
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
North west England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Friendly welcome”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Went here on a groupon deal we received a very friendly welcome and the lady explained the deal to us
The atmosphere was lovely even though it was early evening and not very busy
The service was good and the steaks were excellent you know good quality meat when you eat it rare
Pleased we bought this groupon because without it we would not have found this little gem

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magsys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    14
    11
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“steak for two”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

groupon steak meal for two nice place nice meal nice beer all round good value. i think the prices are even when not on groupon

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thompsons2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Went this evening with a groupon voucher, excellent value even if you didn't have one! Food, perfectly cooked, will def go again :)))))

Helpful?
2 Thank Absizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to eat”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We were visiting the area so we decided to use the groupon deal, didn't know what to expect.....
Well what a lovely surprise! The staff were great really helpful and friendly, it was a sat night and we hadn't booked but they squeezed us in which was kind. The food arrived quick, it was all home cooked and tasted wonderful! I had the potato and leek soup, it was the best I had tasted, we had the steak meal, my partner couldn't get over how yummy the homemade onion rings were! If we lived in the area we would certainly be regular customers. 10/10....perfect. we left full and very happy!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank heavycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
452 reviews
284 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This old pub with food is perched on a steep hill with views over Halifax town and obviously has an interesting history. There were only two cars in the car park but the pub was fairly full of drinkers watching the football so it appears to be a " locals" pub. The Sunday menu was very limited (I don't know if it is more extensive during the week) and consisted of four starters and four mains all written on a blackboard or alternatively on a receipt book kept behind the bar and shown to us by the bar man, who was polite and very helpful.

I chose vegetable lasagne because I love veggies and often cook Italian so I expected aubergine, courgettes (and pine nuts on a good day), however, the veg element was tomatoes and a tiny bit of red pepper, change the description to " tomato lasagne" My partner had Hunters chicken which was chicken breast wrapped with bacon and cheese which he enjoyed, both meals were served with a lovely mixed leaf and diced salad with a very pleasant dressing.

My meal, although not as expected tasted lovely and I enjoyed it and the pricing was very reasonable. OK for a quick pub lunch, but, for me, only for a regular visit if I lived down the road. There is a lot of competition in Halifax.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank missdixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The New Prospect Inn also viewed

Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 
Halifax, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The New Prospect Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing