We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great staff”

Lanika restaurant halifax
Ranked #25 of 297 Restaurants in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Welcome to Lanika Restaurant, Halifax. Our aim is to deliver beautiful quality food, all whilst in the chic and relaxed setting of our restaurant. We have a large selection of authentic Indian/Pakistani cuisine on offer, both in our main restaurant menu and featuring in our extensive buffet. Offering a luxurious dining experience, if you are looking for an Pakistani Restaurant in Halifax that offers high quality for affordable prices, then look no further. Our vast selection of food caters for all tastes and preferences, whether you prefer your food with a spicy kick or are after a milder dish. All of our food is freshly prepared on site by our Chefs, using only the finest and freshest ingredients. We look forward to seeing you soon...
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, great staff”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My Husband and I came here on a Tuesday night around 6.30, we had tried previously but the car park was always full. The welcome from the staff was very warm and we're asked which table we would like to sit at. This restaurant is not licensed but you can bring your own wine and they charge £1 per person corkage which is not unreasonable. We went to the buffet.....wow...... What an assortment shishk kebabs, onion bahjees, pakoras, lamb chops, to name a few, plenty of salad and pickles. Main course plenty of choice, the chicken and spinach was gorgeous. Then the sweets fantastic!!! And 10 yes 10 choices of ice creams. Although this restaurant is a buffet style the staff at all times were very courteous and attentive. The whole lot cost £21.98 we've paid a lot more for curries no where near as good as this, will certainly be going back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cm05jrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h45h, Manager at Lanika restaurant halifax, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
thank you for you lovely review... we have free parking either side of the restaurant, however feel free to park safely nearby :) we only charge corkage to cover the cost of recycling.. we are happy that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    45
    7
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food and welcoming staff!!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

First time here, due to my mum's work colleague recommending the restaurant. The food was lovely and always kept warm and stocked up with it been a buffet. The staff were very welcoming, polite and considerate. Also the place was kept clean and tidy!!!

Helpful?
Thank AdrienneDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h45h, Manager at Lanika restaurant halifax, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
thank you for your lovely review, hope to see you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Always wonderful”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

We have been to this restaurant several times with family and friends. The staff are the most welcoming you could ask for. The food is plentiful and delicious. The restaurant is always immaculate and the prices are such good value. Thank you

Helpful?
Thank thefamilymyers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h45h, Manager at Lanika restaurant halifax, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
thank you for your lovely review, hope to see you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pricing”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Came here with the car park full. Came in and got a ok welcome and got seated. We eat and the waiters took our food while we were eating and the manger was screaming. As well as this the staff were rude. Children were 5 pound and my 10 year old was classed as an adult and it costed 10 pound for him. He also said the babies can go free, well it was obvious. There was no naan andthe seekh kababs were dry and they tasted horrible.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sajid c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h45h, Manager at Lanika restaurant halifax, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
I am are sorry to hear that you were not entirely happy with your visit at Lanika.. we have free parking either side of the restaurant and we understand it can be frustrating not being able to find a space nearby, especially when you have children, in the near future we will be prioritising some child-friendly parking spaces. Im sure that it wasnt the manager screaming... if you could give more detail on your visit (date,time) so we can address that issue. what really confuses us is that why didnt you tell us your concerns on the night?! we would have been more that happy to rectify any issues on the night and you wouldnt have had to leave a negative review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We ate here on a Saturday evening and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food, which can be poor at buffet restaurants. The staff are attentive and genuinely friendly. My only issue is charging full price for children age 11 - I consider them to be still children until 16 but restaurants seem to think childhood ends at 10?? As the kids with us only ate chips, rice and ice-cream £9.99 each was a bit rich.
I would like to reiterate how impressed we were by the quality and choice of food in very attractive surroundings.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Htshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
h45h, Manager at Lanika restaurant halifax, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
thank you for your review... we will consider your concerns with the pricing, hope to see you soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lanika restaurant halifax also viewed

Bradford, West Yorkshire
Halifax, West Yorkshire
 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to Lanika restaurant halifax? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing