We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing venue, quiet yet stunning surroundings with very helpful & friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Tower House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2011

My new husband & I got married at the tower house on Saturday 23rd July 2011. What an amazing day we had!
The staff made sure that not only did we have a good time, but every single one of our guests did aswell.
Everyone commented on the excellence of the food. We recommend the BBQ for the evening, it went down a storm, we were lucky that the weather was gorgeous.
Thank you again to Nicola & Rob, you did us both proud & everything went according to plan but was done in such a relaxed way no-one knew there was any structure in place.
Amazing venue, great staff, lovely decor, fantastic place to get married'
Thank you again
Lots of love Claire & Andy Hirst xxxxxx

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireHirst2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

After a very long and tiring journey arriving at 14.00 hours we were greeted by the news that our rooms were not ready for us. We were advised on booking that we would be able to occupy our rooms by 14.00 hours, or earlier if they were ready. The purpose of our visit was to attend a civil wedding in the hotel, and we needed to shower and change before the ceremony. In the event we had to change in a dirty room. Returning to the room after the wedding, some two hours later, the room was still not ready. We are aware of at least five other rooms that were in this state of unreadiness, out of a total of eleven rooms. Their excuse was that they had a busy night before, as if this excused their incompetence.
Visible in the room next to the bed was a small cardboard box, called a Rentokil Insect Detector, which clearly said on it 'do not touch' . This made us very uncomfortable for obvious reasons, and especially as we had young children changing in our room, as they also could not have access to their own room.
Another member of our group, who were allowed access to their room later on in the afternoon, after the wedding ceremony, found a nail extension in their room after it had supposedly been cleaned.
So, overall it was a very poor start to what should have been a special time.

The food at the wedding reception was excellent, and the serving staff were polite and efficient.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Octavio_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowerHouse, Owner at The Tower House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2011

Thank you for taking time to write about your stay, we will do our best to address the things you mentioned. Firstly we are pleased that you thought the Wedding Food was excellent and that staff were helpful and polite, we are a family run business and take great pride in everything we do.We tell all visitors that rooms should be ready by 2 0'clock, if it is vacant before of course we will let you in.Unfortuately due to problems in a couple of rooms from the night before this was not possible and we do apologise.Acrylic nails are a problem, sometimes the strongest Vacs have trouble sucking them up especially if they catch on a thread.I assure you our rooms are spotless, when you read other reveiws they always mention that they are.Once again, thank you for your feed back. Susan Holt.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We had our wedding here on the 7th May. Everything from start to finish was absolutely amazing! My family and I come from a strong catering background, so our expectations are high, but there were no complaints at all. The food was amazing, (we had soup, roast beef and profiteroles), it was all to die for and everyone of our guests agreed.

We took over pretty much the whole hotel and the accomadation is equally as good as the food. Rob and Nicola run the hotel very professionally and their staff are great. During the speeches, some of the kids were getting restless so Rob pinched some of his own kids toys to keep them occupied - genius! Overall, our wedding day was perfect, and we would love to do it again at The Tower House.

We enjoyed it so much that we are back there on Saturday to celebrate my sister in laws 40th! Both Adam and I wish you every success in the future with the hotel, it is an absolute gem!

Thanks again!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwood85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I had my wedding here, all my family and friends stopped here too over night some stopped for 3 days and every one said it was amazing, the staff could not be more than helpful and do any thing for you even down to helping out with your shopping when i seen them in town, my wedding would not of been as perfect if it had of been any where els, i highly recommend you to have your wedding at the tower house hotel 5 stars all round , lovely people xx :)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huntersgnls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Having commuted to Halifax for several years and stayed in many hotels, the Tower house is certainly the best I have stayed in.

The management and staff are friendly and give a warm welcome; the rooms are newly refurbished and are exceptionally clean and comfortable.

The food is top quality and value for money.

Would recommend the Tower House to anyone staying in Halifax and would personally rate a as 5 star accommodation.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustinCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2011

We stayed here on Fathers day and enjoyed a lovely meal at this venue, we were impressed as always and the staff were absolutely brilliant, attentive, friendly and welcoming, we will certainly return and if you are looking for a quality hotel in a lovely peaceful surrounding in Halifax then this is the place to be, the servive is always consistent and flawless and the value is second to none. We were particularly impressed with the disabled access & facilities, my mother is disabled and she simply loves the Tower House especially for the Sunday lunches, the staff here simply cannot do enough for you and it really is a delightful hotel, we plan to have our wedding here & we are very grateful to all the staff and in particular the two managers Nicola & Robert, thank you so much for a great time once again and we will be returning very soon.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elliegodfrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2011

I would just like to say that iam a very private person myself ,i do use this site to check on places before visiting them ,but would not think of leaving a review however i feel so strongly about the total mis representation given by the wedding party , by publicly slaughtering the tower house. The young couple ( Nic & Rob ) that run the tower house hotel , could not be more proffesional at what they do ,I have to question did the couple who got married stay at the same TOWER HOUSE HALIFAX that my son got married at , because that damming review they left is totally opposite to the experience our wedding party had here ,I would say to any couples thinking of staging there wedding at the tower house they should ignore the bad review posted slateing the place , go to the tower house and see for yourselfs ,we would not hesitate recomending this hotel to anybody to hold there big day you will not be dissapointed. Thank u again Nic and Rob for a fantastic trouble free day . The hotel and all of your staff are an absolute credit to you .

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meggy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
3.3 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
1.4 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
2.7 mi away
The Rock Hotel
The Rock Hotel
#9 of 10 in Halifax
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower House Hotel

Address: Tower House Hotel Master Lane | Pye Nest,Sowerby Bridge, Halifax HX2 7EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Halifax
#3 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £66 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tower House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your The Tower House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower House Hotel Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing