We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would we stay here?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Tower House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey - UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Would we stay here?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights from 27 August 2013. We booked online and the process was quite straightforeward and we received e-mail confirmation of the transaction. We arrived at 1400 hrs and our room was immediately available. The room was very clean and comfortable and situated at the back of the hotel because we had requested a quiet room. We had continental breakfast which was included in the room rate, but there were several cooked options available at extra cost. The hotel is in a quiet location with easy access to the town.

Would we stay here again? YES

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GreyhoundSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    47
    17
    3
    6
See reviews for
123
89
12
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

It was great to meet owners of Tower House Rob & Nicola at the weekend, we were fortunate enough to have been asked to style the venue for Lexi & Karl, as well as being invited as guests at the evening reception.

Whilst dressing the Tower House, both Richard (my partner) and I were made to feel really welcome and actually felt more like guests than 'a company providing a service', absolutely commendable. The staff were amazingly friendly, warm, helpful and yet at the same time remaining professional.

Richard and I both acknowledge that the 'Best Rated Hotel in Halifax' Award was well deserved, believe me, we have over 36 Hotel's we have worked with over the last 2 years and the Tower House Hotel is up there with the very best.

I have attached photograph's taken at the wedding of Lexi & Karl.... the Ceremony room looking amazing. Rob & Nicola at the Tower House Hotel appear to be reviving the classic traditional 'Quality of Service' , long missing in todays culture.... I too have built my company on 'Class & Quality'.... it is a personal pride thing.... Check out 'Chair Covers by Poperella' on facebook .... Kindest Regards

Sue Chesters

Room Tip: Rooms are of the highest standard, could not ask for more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

I stayed at the Tower House Hotel for my cousin's wedding - the hotel was also the wedding venue. The staff were very friendly and attentive, but there was no one on check in after 6pm which could be annoying if you needed something. The wedding day was lovely and the staff worked really hard to make everything look great and the meal was nice. We had stayed the night before, and eaten in the restaurant. The food was great but service very slow. But the waitress was so nice that it made up for it. When a relation arrived to check in after a long day of travelling, their family room didn't have the sofa bed set up for the kids and this took a while to rectify. A bit annoying that you had to pay extra for the cooked breakfast even though it was all cooked and laid out to help yourself. I'm sure a lot of it went to waste. But the pros outweighed the cons, and it was a fabulous wedding, and a good stay in a very friendly hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJA2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TowerHouse, Front Office Manager at The Tower House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and we will take on board all your comments on how we can improve our service. I would like to take this opportunity to put your mind at rest regarding the reception times, the office is staffed from 7.30am until 6pm, once they leave our highly experienced waitresses take over, they have all been trained in our computer systems and can deal with all guest requirements including check ins and room service, they can be reached by either entering the bar area or calling the bar extension number from the phone in each bedroom. There is a welcome brochure located in each room explaining all this to the guests.

Please accept our apologies that your friends pull out bed was not made up for their children, we have recently taken on some new housekeeping staff and they are still in training so mistakes do happen on some occasions.

I am sorry that the service was slow on that evening, I will look in to this and see if extra staff are needed during the week but thank you for your lovely comment about the waitress, I am sure she will be very pleased when she sees the review.

All room bookings include continental breakfast, a Full English breakfast can be ordered at a very reasonable price of £6.95 per person. Usually breakfast is cooked to order so there is no wastage however when we have had a wedding or function and the hotel is full we serve the cooked breakfast buffet style, this enables us to serve the breakfast to the guests quicker and they are not waiting round for each one to be cooked separately.

Thank you again for your lovely review and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We would recommend this hotel to anyone who is planning a wedding. Brilliant day and night, staff were wonderful - we can not thank them enough!! Rob and Nicola - they were also brilliant, they looked after us throughout - from first booking, to the wedding rehersal and then to the actual wedding day - everything they promised was fulfilled and surpassed our expections - we could not have asked for more. Just a MASSIVE THANK YOU to all at the Tower House.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
holland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Not easy to find, but quiet with a pleasant outlook, considering it is near the town. The staff were very friendly, but this filed to disguise some missing details! By 6 o'clock the check-ib staff had already disappeared & someone else was drafted in, very casually attired and couldn't confirm if our credit card had already been charged. Room was smallish though quite adequate. There was no TV remote & despite a request at the front desk, a replacement never appeared. Evening meal in restaurant promised through its menu, but the execution was not great. I asked for a lightly cooled tuna steak and it was nearly charred; my wife's vegetarian pasta was overcome with an overly spiced and heavy sauce. Continental breakfast was also less than promised - surely these days could do better than tinned fruit, make your own instant coffee etc.. Public areas must have been set out for a wedding, as the rather kitschy decor accents didn't really match the muted decor.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sciat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

We fell in love with the tower house Christmas 2011 when we spent the night and knew this would have to be our wedding venue. It's a credit to Rob and Nicola for moulding this hotel into the best hotel and restaurant in the area. From the initial wedding booking we felt part of the tower house family, we got to know all the staff and chefs. This personal service we believe cannot be matched by any other wedding venue. Rob and Nicola were great in the run up to the big day, available to speak or text at anytime to answer any questions, no matter how silly! We felt totally at ease that our big day was in the hands of professionals. We got married at a local church and had our wedding breakfast and evening party at the tower house. We arrived to see everybody having a great time with the good selection of drinks served at the bar. It was a hot day and as we booked the exclusivity our guest were spread out around the grounds, either sitting in the cooler bar area or outside in the sun. The wedding breakfast we chose consisted of soup, chicken dinner and proffiteroles. The service were second to none and the food was great. To serve 90 guests to the same standard at the same time would prove a challenge to anybody else but not the tower house, many of our guests are still commenting on how good the food was. Some have even been since for meals at the restaurant. We hired a removable star lit dance floor for the evening do, and even though this was a first for the tower house, rob was happy to work with our supplier as this was what we wanted. The evening party was great and went too fast. We had the barbecue buffet and that was amazing too, especially the burgers. We partied until we could party no more. The bridal suit, room one is beautiful and furnished to a high standard. We slept very well! The morning after, we all met to have a freshly cooked breakfast before saying our goodbyes and heading out on honeymoon. Would just like to say a massive thankyou to every one at the tower house again, see you soon.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BHXHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

I stayed at the hotel recently for one evening on a business stay, not knowing the area well. Within half an hour of checking in and making our way down to bar, the staff had already helped me with local knowledge and made us feel extremely welcome! We stayed on a Sunday which was perfect as it was a bit quieter and the carvery was DELICIOUS! Extremely good value for money. Hope to visit again and will recommend to colleagues.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
3.3 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
1.4 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
1.5 mi away
Wool Merchant Hotel
Wool Merchant Hotel
#8 of 10 in Halifax
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tower House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tower House Hotel

Property: The Tower House Hotel
Address: Tower House Hotel Master Lane | Pye Nest,Sowerby Bridge, Halifax HX2 7EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Halifax
#2 Business Hotel in Halifax
#3 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Tower House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Tower House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Tower House Hotel Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing