We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location for us...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Location for us...”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We have been to many Premier Inns and always rate them. We did like this but thought it was a bit tatty, especially the bathroom. The room was nice, a nice large bed, albeit a bit hard. A door curtain would be good as there was draft coming throught from the outside. We asked for a heater and one was provided which was useful as it was a tad cold at times. We were not impressed with the pub next door, in fact the carvery was awful - we should have gone to the Toby!!! We would go again for the location and the price we paid, we couldn't grumble.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahColchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa H, Manager at Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Halifax South Premier Inn. I have noted your comments about the carvery and I will pass these on to the restaurant manager.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    156
    101
    26
    10
    7
See reviews for
90
106
20
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The room was good and comfortable. However, as I was in an unfamiliar place and on my own, I chose the Dinner & Breakfast option - never again! Whilst the breakfast was fine the evening meal was a disaster. It was only when I arrived I was told the evening meal was a restricted menu (NOT mentioned when I booked) and this was very limited. Even though it was a Friday night, there was only 1 member of staff on duty to take orders and there was a queue, but although he tried hard, he seemed a little unsure and perhaps he was new to the job. The starter was small and not as advertised, but the main meal (lovely picture - not what I was given) was quite obviously microwaved and was overcooked and burnt (the cheese on top of the lasagne was stuck to the edges and black) and the pudding again was not as advertised. Breakfast - great, but eat out somewhere else for dinner.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa H, Manager at Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased to hear you have had a brilliant your stay at Halifax South Premier Inn and that you were happy with the service you received. As with other guests, we are always grateful to receive your comments regarding the restaurant and you can be assured your comments will be passed on to the General Manager.

I hope you will visit us again soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

friendly staff, pleasant rooms, nice pub/restaurant attached to the hotel and of course an insanely tasty heart attack breakfast. only minor quibble would be that the maximum temperature setting on the thermostat is 23... I like things a little warmer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Col2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa H, Manager at Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Halifax South Premier Inn and thank you for taking the time to give us your kind feedback.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

as always with premier inns, they are clean, and the staff are welcoming, and repreasent good value, we defintanly reccommend this one, the on site pub, (the water miil) served good food and good beer.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12paris56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa H, Manager at Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Halifax South Premier Inn and thank you for taking the time to give us your kind feedback.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed at the premier inn on 17/10/2013 we were really impressed with the cleanliness and comfort of both the bed and the room. The staff were really helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. We had lunch and breakfast at the Watermill and you could"nt fault the food or the service .Thank you to all the staff at the hotel and the Watermill. We will definitely come back in the summer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa H, Manager at Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Halifax South Premier Inn. The team continually strive to deliver great service for every guest and they are always thrilled to hear when they get it right. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Usually stay at a different premier inn which is very good, tried this one, never again, had a bad back for days, 2 single beds put together for a double, one side so uncomfortable, room was cold couldn't t work heating, not a patch on our usual premier inn

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pickimanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa H, Manager at Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy a good night sleep. Our reception is manned 24hours and our staff are always happy to help with any queries or questions. We always strive to satisfy your needs at our hotel, however during your stay you weren't happy and my sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I booked a disabled room, but the hotel was not really suitable for a disabled person on their own. The ramp up to reception is very steep and you need someone to push you up. Worse still is the ramp up to the nearby restaurant where you go for breakfast. It is about 60% I would guess and is the road for cars to enter, so you feel vulnerable to cars coming shooting round the corner and hitting you because there is no pavement. Also there is no wet room, just a bath. I did complain and was told that next time I should stay in the hotel in the centre which has all the facilities.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cojaack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa H, Manager at Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at Halifax South Premier Inn. Our reception is manned 24hours and our staff are always happy to help with any queries or questions. We always strive to satisfy your needs at our hotel, however during your stay you weren't happy and I give my sincere apologies for the disappointment you experienced. Having spoken to you in regards to this matter I hope you have found the information provided helpful, and hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Kind Regards
Philippa Hutchinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halifax
1.4 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
1.2 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The New Hobbit
The New Hobbit
#1 of 1 in Sowerby Bridge
283 reviews
3.8 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#7 of 10 in Halifax
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel
Address: Huddersfield Road | Salterhebble Hill, Halifax HX3 0QT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Halifax
#5 Romantic Hotel in Halifax
#5 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located within easy reach of the M62. Conveniently located for Halifax and Soweby Bridge train stations and shops and local amenities Halifax town centre is only 2 miles away. Calderdale Royal Hospital is a short 5min walk away. The picturesque canal-side location of Halifax Premier Inn has everything you'd expect; incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Brewers Fayre restaurant, The Watermill, serving great value pub favourites in a family friendly environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Halifax South Hotel West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing