We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wool Merchant Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Basic but comfortable”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed here a weekend in August. Am a regular traveller to Halifax and have used most of the hotels. We decided to try the Wool Merchant because it offered a very reasonable rate at short notice. There were a number of good points: the staff were welcoming and helpful; parking was free and plentiful; the room was large, clean and generally quiet; the bathroom was modern with a good shower; facilities were generally fine. Some areas that we thought could be improved: bathroom lighting was very poor; some screws were missing from the shower door so the handles were a bit loose; there was no bath mat; only full fat milk was available in the rooms; there was no hair dryer - though one was supplied when I asked for it; breakfast was basic and limited. One the whole we thought we got what we paid for - it is easily on a par with Days Inn or Travelodge. We might stay there again but would probably prefer to pay a little more and go elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pebble123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    131
    61
    28
    19
See reviews for
37
146
30
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Great if you want a clean bed and a hot shower for the night but bedrooms far too light due to poor quality of curtains and 2 street lamps right outside...... Should have been considered. Looked forward to breakfast but was VERY disappointed. No personal service at all, tables not even laid up for breakfast. It was not a pleasant experience and on the second morning (after being told we had to wait for a table as non were available) we went to another hotel in town and had a delicious breakfast. Some research, by management, should be done locally to see what the competition offers....... They can only benefit from this exercise. We will not return here but will go to the White Swan Hotel. Good rooms, GREAT BREAKFAST. Sorry but this had to be said.......

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Halifax hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend but would not rate it. The only good points to this hotel are the fact that the beds were comfortable and the shower was warm.
This didn't however make up for the fact there was no service from the hotel staff they gave us irons that leaked, the curtains were paper thin resulting in lack of sleep and also that the breakfast room was a shambles. i say this as it wasn't laid out for breakfast just tables (no cutlery or plates/glasses on tables) we also got told we had to wait for our breakfast as the room was full (the room is small) so we decided to eat at a nearby hotel the black swan and had an amazing service. Hotel is fine if you just want a bed to sleep and nothing else.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparrow89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Good points- Very nice spacious room, quiet, good location for town centre. Good breakfast, for
what we paid it was certainly value for money.

Not so good points- We were not informed on arrival that the restaurant was in fact closed and had been for 2 weeks due to 'staff holiday'; we further discovered they only offered a takeaway menu as an alternative - however another local businessman told us they had been closed for 4 weeks at least!.

The only other negative point was the shower which, to be honest, was the least effective I have encountered, and am quite well travelled, no more power than a dripping tap and pretty much useless.

Overall I would score it 7/10

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Hi there,

I stayed here for 1 night, a saturday evening in July. Found it a lovely hotel, very friendly manager, was given a juice on arrival and best of all it was in a quiet spot, but not far away from amentities. Halifax can be pretty loud on a weekend night ! My room was really spacious and the bathroom fine. The only problem i had was a missing bath plug which couldnt be replaced, however it was a great sized room and that was really a pleasant surprise. No problems at all ! Would defintely recommend for a short visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SazRsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Stayed Saturday 3rd August for one night. We had a double room on the top floor. Room was lovely, bathroom was great, nice size, separate bath and shower. The only problem was you only got one pillow, not a big deal, two would have been nice. I guess if I had requested another one would of been supplied but I didn't so cant really complain. Also the light-fan only stayed on if the light was on, again not a big deal as it wasn't too hot.

Great stay and would defiantly stay again if in the area. Great budget hotel with a lovely breakfast included.

Would just like to mention the receptionist on our arrival, didn't get her name but she was great, really good at her job.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

Big bathroom, but the room was small and cramped.

Restaurant and bar were closed.

Breakfast is limited, and I found a black hair on my plate....not surprising, as the staff were inadequately attired. Was offered a replacement breakfast, but I was already totally put off! Crockery also badly chipped too.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BluZebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
3.4 mi away
The Rock Hotel
The Rock Hotel
#10 of 10 in Halifax
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wool Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wool Merchant Hotel

Property: Wool Merchant Hotel
Address: 5 Mulcture Hall Road, Halifax HX1 1SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wool Merchant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wool Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wool Merchant Hotel Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing