We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wool Merchant Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Reviewed 9 March 2014

What a find! Friendly staff , clean well serviced rooms ( crisp cotton bedding) and very good value at £40 for a double room including breakfast. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room but take your own hairdryer.We ate in the Italian Restaurant in the hotel and that too was very good value - can certainly recommend the pizza! This hotel is within 5 mins walk of the town centre - which is also worth a visit.With free parking and free wifi this hotel is family run and deserves patronage.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor in a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (446)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 447 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2014

Booked this for a weekend away with the wife. Was a little concerned about some of the reviews but were impressed by the price. £95 for two of us, for 2 nights, including breakfast. We needn't have worried. Staff were very friendly, room appeared to be new, was large, clean and comfortable, shower was excellent and breakfast is very good.

Perhaps it depends on which rooms you get but ours was on the 4th floor and I would recommend it without hesitation. On re reading the negative reviews I do wonder sometimes what people expect. It isn't a 5 star hotel (but you aren't paying anywhere near 5 star prices) so having to serve yourself from a buffet at breakfast, rather than being waited on, isn't too onerous. The carpets were also mentioned in a previous review but seemed new to me (perhaps they have been replaced).

In conclusion, nice room, good breakfast, free parking, quiet location, short stroll to town centre, great value for money. I'd be happy with that every time I went away.

Room Tip: Ask for the "new" rooms on the 4th floor. They are large, clean and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We made a last minute booking on a saturday and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the place. Room was fine with a big TV. The staff were all very good and the breakfast was great. Only a short walk to town with free wi-fi and parking. Will definitely return

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank timclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed here for 1 night as it was the best deal in the area.
I have to say, this hotel is in desperate need of an update. The carpets on the landing and stairs are worn and stained, as was the bedroom.
The room itself was ok, but the heating only came on at certain times and the thin duvet meant it was very cold!
The bathroom was nice but the shower was one of the worst I've ever had. It spluttered out and kept going hot and cold.
The welcome was very friendly however.
We didn't eat here so cannot comment on the food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rubeeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

me and my girlfriend stayed here in november for a saturday night. the hotel was really nice and friendly staff with a handy car park just across the road. we walked into halifax town centre(5 minute walk) for a night out. had a nice breakfast and really enjoyed our stay. would return

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phil747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Good and Bad points listed below:

Good points
--Quick check-in once we found them in the bar (there was a sign on the front door), friendly receptionist
--Car Park is free
--Double spacious room clean
--Clean bedding, towels
--Close to town centre

Bad points:
--AWFUL lighting in room- very dull and gloomy
--Shower terrible - the water pressure maybe? drizzled out. Bath taps sounded like they would explode! was like something off faulty towers
--Strange - no toilet brush in the bathroom
--Bathroom door looked like someone had punched it or something, it had a big dent
J--ust one tiny tiny bottle of shower gel which didn't go far with two of us - bring your own
--Breakfast - self service - budget Orange Juice, cheap bread, no fruit but did have cereals, jam, etc- in fairness the staff here were very quick in clearing tables
--Toaster - everyone struggled standing there trying to get it to work, they need to put a sign or instructions as everyone(not just us)turned the dial but nothing happened, it was a flick of a switch on the thing -once we knew we kept telling people what customers needed to do to get it to work!


This place looked like it needed a bit of TLC but overall for the money it was good. I think they need to up their game on the food, hoover under the bed and sort out the lighting and shower. I don't think one tiny bottle is enough for two people but the thought was there. One night was enough.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I was there as a guest of the Halifax Model Railway Club, since I was helping operate a visiting layout. Bed in single room had not been remade with fresh sheets after previous occupant, a colleague staying for only one night before I took over despite two colleagues having been assured it would be. While the sheets were changed, the single bed was very lumpy, and had only one pillow. The bar did not serve any cask beer or real ale, only lagers. My friends and I did not dine there. Breakfast disappointed because plates were stone cold, so food rapidly became so too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#7 of 10 in Halifax
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Rock Hotel
The Rock Hotel
#9 of 10 in Halifax
162 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
1.5 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#8 of 10 in Halifax
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wool Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wool Merchant Hotel

Address: 5 Mulcture Hall Road, Halifax HX1 1SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £36 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wool Merchant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Wool Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wool Merchant Hotel Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing