We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for what we paid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wool Merchant Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“OK for what we paid”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Having booked with Hotel.com we paid £35 for one night. The room was OK we had room 309 which is on the corner so the curtains didn't block the light. Large bathroom but a little dirty if you look close enough. Breakfast was OK but done on the cheap. The room had kettle etc, but the cups are very small what I call fun size. We had a lovely meal on the night in the restaurant but the Larger I had smelt funny so I asked for it to be changed. The fresh pint smelt the same, I tried to drink it but couldn't. I knew what would happen latter and it did around 1.00am I was sick
Overall you get what you pay for and at £35 for one night B&B it was OK..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlton4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    127
    60
    28
    19
See reviews for
37
142
28
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Business bought me to Halifax for 2 nights and the Wool Merchant hotel was just round the corner from Dean Clough mills where my client was based. The hotel is in the town centre but had nothing right next to it except a few car parks, which look as though they were probably industrial sites at one time long knocked down. The hotel has its own car park but with limited spaces.

On entry the hotel does have a sense of a fading building with the communal areas not looking up to date but not too scruffy either. The room itself was fine - a good sized and decent sized bathroom. The small desk unit was served by a stool - a chair would have been better if you needed to work on a laptop (which I did). Everything seemed clean and fresh. There is no information folder in the room and good luck finding anyone on reception as it only seemed to be manned in the morning to take your money off you when you leave.

What let this place down was breakfast. In a traditional English B&B style hotel I expect breakfast to be the crowning glory. A substantial feast of all the expected items etc etc. Not here. There was a selection of 3 cereals and only one container of milk (no idea whether it was full fat, semi etc). The cooked items were then lined up in a help yourself arrangement. Oh dear. Scrambled egg made by its texture 2-3 days earlier. Bacon which just didn't look or taste grilled/fried and full of salt. Sausages processed to within an inch of their lives and I suspect from a pack with the word "VALU" prominently displayed somewhere. Inedible mushrooms. Other items (beans, tomato which I didnt touch but none of them could have been described as appealing. There was also a toaster but that was it, and that set fire to a piece of toast - according to the girl a regular occurrence) . No fresh fruit, or yogurts or any of the other items you might find at the average hotel breakfast buffet. The floor and table were also quite sticky - one of my hates when in an eating establishment. I didn't bother going down the second morning.

This place feels as though it is run on a shoestring. Thank god they hire decent chambermaids who keep the rooms clean and tidy.

Room Tip: If you are debating about breakfast go for a room only deal - you will be disappointed if you feel y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiltonKeynesTimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

On our arrival we had a short wait before someone appeared in reception. We checked in and decided to meet the rest of our party in the bar but this was closed. Another of our party arrived at 17.00 and we all waited with him to check in but no one was at reception for over 30 mins so he put his luggage in another's room and we went elsewhere for a drink. We returned later for him to check in and to have dinner at the hotel but it is closed on Friday nights! We went elsewhere to eat and returned at 21.30 to find that the bar was closed. In the morning we went for breakfast at 09.10 & were told breakfast finishes at 09.00 on a Saturday! That evening we again found the bar closed before we went out for dinner and also on our return. Our bedroom was very basic and dated. The headboard was in 2 pieces lying on the floor. The curtains were thin and did not close properly due to many broken hooks. There was a street light outside our window. There was no hotel info in the room with breakfast or bar times - just a flyer advertising the restaurant open Mon-Fri! The bathroom was very dated with no bath mat which resulted in a very wet, slippy floor. The shower head could not attach onto the rail/pole as it was broken so it had to be hand held at all times. When we checked out we discovered that we had been charged on the credit card used to secure the booking hours before we actually arrived! £140 for 2 nights - hardly value for money. We will find another hotel for next year’s meeting!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dadisnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babyshek, Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this review, 2 December 2015
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your recent stay at The Wool Merchant Hotel, I am really sorry to know that on this occasion your stay with us was less than satisfactory. My staff and I follow each review and try to improve our services accordingly. We greatly appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve and provide a better experience for future guests. We invite you to give us another try and we’ll make sure you have a fantastic experience with us.

We have 55 en-suite bedrooms including Single/Twin/Double/Triple and Luxurious Suites. All these rooms are recently refurbished including new carpet, fresh paint, new duvets, new pillows etc. In addition to this each bedroom has tea/coffee making facilities, mint chocolate, still water bottles and independently controlled heating. Iron/ ironing board, extra pillows, hair drier and extra heater are available at reception.

The hotel is situated within 5 minutes walking distance to town centre, railway station and bus station and offers easy access from M62. We provides FREE onsite car parking facility on first come first serve basis.

The Italian / Mediterranean restaurant serves best freshly prepared food in Halifax. Along with all that you get complimentary full English breakfast of very good quality.

Look forward to welcoming you soon.

Ravi Jain
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Halifax hotels

Addingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Reception a little dismal, but more than compensated for by our suite (28). Four windows with panoramic views. The separate lounge with stylish prints enhanced the feeling of comfort. A good bed & well equiped bathroom left us more than satisfied.

Room Tip: If you do not like church bells & are staying on a Saturday night, asked to be located overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FitzSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool ,Lancashire.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Enjoyed a thoroughly wonderful visit in a very clean and well decorated suite, room 31.The jacuzzi bath was a bonus.Staff very friendly and helpful.We stay for breakfast, which we found was adequate.The hotel provided excellent free vehicle parking and was ideally situated for the town center.I was in a wheel chair and found slight difficulties in some aspects of the visit, but help was always at hand.Halifax is also quite a hilly town. A visit to this hotel is a must as it represented amazing value for money.

Room Tip: Value for money, any room would be good, but go that little extra for a suite.Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cansaulim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed for two nights. Room vey nice, clean and comfy. Staff friendly and helpful. Breakfast lovely plenty of choice. Ate in restaurant one night really nice meal - but they don't do puddings!! (not necessarily a bad thing)!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

There were many small touches that this hotel could have applied that would make a huge difference to their customers' stay. How about some signs pointing to Reception? Instead of getting lost in the warren of corridors it would be so simple to follow a few Reception signs. The shower only came on when the bath was run - that took ten minutes to ascertain - again a sign as to the intricate workings of the plumbing would have been a help. There was only one saucer and two cups for a coffee. And the one saucer didn't match so was the wrong size. Although we stayed in a 'suite' there were none of the touches you expect with such luxury - paper hankies, hair dryer, etc. Very basic rooms indeed. Breakfast was supposed to be served until 9.30. Arriving at 9.20 there were no cereals or muesli left. No fruit or yoghurt. No forks. No eggs. 3 bits of dry bacon and four sausages, stewed coffee, and only orange juice. After asking for something other than coco pops we were told that they had run out of all other cereals. So breakfast was bread and jam - the toaster having been turned off too. Not very good at all. So a tip - don't get to breakfast late.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petomane33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#5 of 10 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
2.5 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
3.4 mi away
The Rock Hotel
The Rock Hotel
#9 of 10 in Halifax
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wool Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wool Merchant Hotel

Property: Wool Merchant Hotel
Address: 5 Mulcture Hall Road, Halifax HX1 1SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wool Merchant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wool Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wool Merchant Hotel Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing