We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay-good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wool Merchant Hotel
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We decided to visit Halifax as a last minute getaway, and found the cheapest hotel we could that included breakfast-we were not disappointed with the Wool Merchant. Room was clean, very nice bathroom, big TV and staff both front of house and kitchen were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very nice-help yourself buffet. You can't go wrong for £40 a night. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 4_Yorkshire_folks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (460)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

354 - 360 of 460 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed hear just for one night and you get what you pay for . The staff very frendly and helpfull. The shower room had tiled floor so was very slipery when wet. Breakfast was a bit rushed as everyone appeard to come down at the same time but the staff coped with it well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here for the Tour de France. The room was well maintained with good beds and a good shower. Breakfast on both days was also very good.

The hotel is run by a good team. Despite being very busy the staff were always pleasant and gave good tips about where to go in town. Would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed last weekend in a basic double room for £40.
The hotel is clean, well maintained and has everything you need.
There's a bar downstairs with large TV and comfortable seating alongside a highly-praised Italian restaurant.
Speaking to other guests who had dined there they all said it was fantastic food and very reasonably priced.
We were in Room 404, nice and spacious with a lovely bathroom.
Buffet-style breakfast, help yourself to as much as what you want.
Only slight downside is it's a 5-10 minute walk uphill to the town centre and is a little isolated from any shops etc.
Overall an enjoyable experience and I shall be staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Having booked with Hotel.com we paid £35 for one night. The room was OK we had room 309 which is on the corner so the curtains didn't block the light. Large bathroom but a little dirty if you look close enough. Breakfast was OK but done on the cheap. The room had kettle etc, but the cups are very small what I call fun size. We had a lovely meal on the night in the restaurant but the Larger I had smelt funny so I asked for it to be changed. The fresh pint smelt the same, I tried to drink it but couldn't. I knew what would happen latter and it did around 1.00am I was sick
Overall you get what you pay for and at £35 for one night B&B it was OK..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carlton4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Business bought me to Halifax for 2 nights and the Wool Merchant hotel was just round the corner from Dean Clough mills where my client was based. The hotel is in the town centre but had nothing right next to it except a few car parks, which look as though they were probably industrial sites at one time long knocked down. The hotel has its own car park but with limited spaces.

On entry the hotel does have a sense of a fading building with the communal areas not looking up to date but not too scruffy either. The room itself was fine - a good sized and decent sized bathroom. The small desk unit was served by a stool - a chair would have been better if you needed to work on a laptop (which I did). Everything seemed clean and fresh. There is no information folder in the room and good luck finding anyone on reception as it only seemed to be manned in the morning to take your money off you when you leave.

What let this place down was breakfast. In a traditional English B&B style hotel I expect breakfast to be the crowning glory. A substantial feast of all the expected items etc etc. Not here. There was a selection of 3 cereals and only one container of milk (no idea whether it was full fat, semi etc). The cooked items were then lined up in a help yourself arrangement. Oh dear. Scrambled egg made by its texture 2-3 days earlier. Bacon which just didn't look or taste grilled/fried and full of salt. Sausages processed to within an inch of their lives and I suspect from a pack with the word "VALU" prominently displayed somewhere. Inedible mushrooms. Other items (beans, tomato which I didnt touch but none of them could have been described as appealing. There was also a toaster but that was it, and that set fire to a piece of toast - according to the girl a regular occurrence) . No fresh fruit, or yogurts or any of the other items you might find at the average hotel breakfast buffet. The floor and table were also quite sticky - one of my hates when in an eating establishment. I didn't bother going down the second morning.

This place feels as though it is run on a shoestring. Thank god they hire decent chambermaids who keep the rooms clean and tidy.

Room Tip: If you are debating about breakfast go for a room only deal - you will be disappointed if you feel y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MiltonKeynesTimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

On our arrival we had a short wait before someone appeared in reception. We checked in and decided to meet the rest of our party in the bar but this was closed. Another of our party arrived at 17.00 and we all waited with him to check in but no one was at reception for over 30 mins so he put his luggage in another's room and we went elsewhere for a drink. We returned later for him to check in and to have dinner at the hotel but it is closed on Friday nights! We went elsewhere to eat and returned at 21.30 to find that the bar was closed. In the morning we went for breakfast at 09.10 & were told breakfast finishes at 09.00 on a Saturday! That evening we again found the bar closed before we went out for dinner and also on our return. Our bedroom was very basic and dated. The headboard was in 2 pieces lying on the floor. The curtains were thin and did not close properly due to many broken hooks. There was a street light outside our window. There was no hotel info in the room with breakfast or bar times - just a flyer advertising the restaurant open Mon-Fri! The bathroom was very dated with no bath mat which resulted in a very wet, slippy floor. The shower head could not attach onto the rail/pole as it was broken so it had to be hand held at all times. When we checked out we discovered that we had been charged on the credit card used to secure the booking hours before we actually arrived! £140 for 2 nights - hardly value for money. We will find another hotel for next year’s meeting!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dadisnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
babyshek, Manager at Wool Merchant Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2015

Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your recent stay at The Wool Merchant Hotel, I am really sorry to know that on this occasion your stay with us was less than satisfactory. My staff and I follow each review and try to improve our services accordingly. We greatly appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to improve and provide a better experience for future guests. We invite you to give us another try and we’ll make sure you have a fantastic experience with us.

We have 55 en-suite bedrooms including Single/Twin/Double/Triple and Luxurious Suites. All these rooms are recently refurbished including new carpet, fresh paint, new duvets, new pillows etc. In addition to this each bedroom has tea/coffee making facilities, mint chocolate, still water bottles and independently controlled heating. Iron/ ironing board, extra pillows, hair drier and extra heater are available at reception.

The hotel is situated within 5 minutes walking distance to town centre, railway station and bus station and offers easy access from M62. We provides FREE onsite car parking facility on first come first serve basis.

The Italian / Mediterranean restaurant serves best freshly prepared food in Halifax. Along with all that you get complimentary full English breakfast of very good quality.

Look forward to welcoming you soon.

Ravi Jain
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
0.2 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Halifax
Travelodge Halifax
#7 of 10 in Halifax
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
3.4 mi away
The Rock Hotel
The Rock Hotel
#9 of 10 in Halifax
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wool Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wool Merchant Hotel

Address: 5 Mulcture Hall Road, Halifax HX1 1SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range: £37 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wool Merchant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Wool Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wool Merchant Hotel Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing