We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wool Merchant Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wool Merchant Hotel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Halifax
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Booked in for one night to visit family, although the hotel is basic and could do with some refurbishment the room was clean and everything worked. Given the weather air con was welcome. Breakfast included at £40.00 for 2 people, exceptional value.

Only disappointment was being woken at 03.15 by people going to their rooms and then putting on their TV's.

Watch out for the bedroom doors as the closers are fast and could do with some ease and adjustment.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    126
    56
    26
    18
See reviews for
36
137
28
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We chose the Wool Merchant Hotel primarily because of its location close to Halifax Railway Station as we were in Yorkshire for Le Grand Depart of Le Tour de France. We arrived very early in the morning and were able to leave our car in the car park and set out for Leeds. We were warmly welcomed on our return in the early evening and given cartons of orange juice to refresh us. We were invited to eat in the restaurant later if we wished, but we had eaten earlier so didn't try it out. Our room wasn't particularly spacious but it was clean and had everything in it we needed. Most people were staying there for the same reason, which meant breakfast the following morning was very busy, as everyone arrived as soon as the restaurant opened, but they coped so well, replenishing dishes/crockery/cutlery/tea/coffee and doing their best to get everyone through as quickly as possible. Compared with other places we have stayed recently, the cold buffet selection was rather limited if you didn't want cereal and toast. I would think it would be a good choice of hotel at other times as a base for exploring Yorkshire.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebsB14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
Level Contributor
109 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Its a fairly basic hotel and you do get what you pay for. I stayed with three business colleagues, and when I booked I thought it looked ok from the pictures but was a little worried by the price - a bit low, so I was hoping that I was going to be pleasantly surprised.

In the event, it was fine. The rooms are fine and kept very clean and tidy. Nothing extravagant but not roughing it either.

The reception area is a bit sparse. We were greeted with a very enthusiastic 'welcome' followed immediately by 'the lift's out of order and the chef's away so there's no food'. (So not the most promising start!) However, it wasn't a problem to eat out - its very close to Halifax centre and there's any number of good places to eat, and of course lifts can break down anywhere.

The breakfast was a bit basic. The selection isn't great and it could be laid out more professionally. However it does the job, the essentials were there, and considering the price of B&B, you can't complain too much.

The location is good and there is a good private car park right next to the hotel. Its easier to find than I thought it might be, and much easier to park than I feared.

There is good free wifi throughout the hotel, very easy to get onto.

Would I go again? If I was working in Halifax - I don't see why not. I'd probably go if staying on my own for short trips though - I'd want a bit more if I was staying somewhere for more than a night or two, and its not a 'destination hotel' to take the family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

spent the day in halifax and stayed here at the wool merchant very good hotel 5 minute walk into town. the room were very good not too big but very satisfied. would definately stay here again and recommend to anyone wanting a good hotel for the price breakfast was very good too self service which i like and well cooked also a restaurant which we did,nt get the chance to try staff were very friendly and hotel was spotless.

Room Tip: maybe a room on the bottom 2 floors as the lift is a bit slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stevieboy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We decided to visit Halifax as a last minute getaway, and found the cheapest hotel we could that included breakfast-we were not disappointed with the Wool Merchant. Room was clean, very nice bathroom, big TV and staff both front of house and kitchen were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was very nice-help yourself buffet. You can't go wrong for £40 a night. We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4_Yorkshire_folks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed hear just for one night and you get what you pay for . The staff very frendly and helpfull. The shower room had tiled floor so was very slipery when wet. Breakfast was a bit rushed as everyone appeard to come down at the same time but the staff coped with it well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here for the Tour de France. The room was well maintained with good beds and a good shower. Breakfast on both days was also very good.

The hotel is run by a good team. Despite being very busy the staff were always pleasant and gave good tips about where to go in town. Would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halifax hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Swan Hotel by Compass Hospitality
0.3 mi away
The Imperial Crown Hotel
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Halifax Town Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Tower House Hotel
The Tower House Hotel
#6 of 10 in Halifax
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holdsworth House Hotel & Restaurant
3.4 mi away
The Rock Hotel
The Rock Hotel
#9 of 10 in Halifax
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wool Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wool Merchant Hotel

Property: Wool Merchant Hotel
Address: 5 Mulcture Hall Road, Halifax HX1 1SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Wool Merchant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Wool Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wool Merchant Hotel Halifax, West Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing